Ragtag Garden, Part 34

in #gardening7 years ago

True to form, the tomato plant has started another fruit about four days after I picked a ripe one.

I spotted this baby tomato today by accident when I was checking out the bin next door.

If you'll remember, I planted some radishes and carrots in the bin a while back. This was where I was looking for sprouts. The radishes are the outside rows, the carrots are in the center.

Much to my surprise, this is how they're coming along - from two-plus year old seed tape! The weather is supposed to be sunny, warm during the day and cool at night for the next week or so. If it threatens frost, I do have the lid to the bin, so I can make a mini-greenhouse for protection.

I didn't expect to be tending new crops this late in the season. But, this whole project was unintentional from the get-go, so I suppose this is just the latest facet. Plus, it's helping me decide what my next project is going to be.

I mean, I can't stop now, can I?
I'm just getting started!

Stay Tuned For The Next Installment - Coming Soon!


RECAP:

It started here - Reclaiming The Backyard Firepit.
Which turned into this - Ragtag Garden.

Here's A Scorecard For Newcomers

Upvote, ReSteem,

THANKS FOR YOUR SUPPORT!
Gardeners Badge created by @daddykirbs.

Sort:  

Oh good! A new project. I was wondering what was next for you. Amazing how old seeds can grow. I'm planning my garden for next spring. Lots of buckets will be involved thanks to you. lol

Lol! It's another big one, too. Evidently, I'm a glutton for punishment...

Oooohhh, goodie! More buckets is awesome news and I'm sure it's going to be fabulous. It's a blast to fiddle with next year's plans, too. Sure makes the cold months more bearable!

Hey aunt-deb, love the little rows you made in your seed starting system. May need to do something like that myself! Have you ever used a planting square? I am thinking about doing that for when I start 100-200 plants for the garden this year.

They help to keep spacing reasonable!

Thanks, @halcyondaze! I haven't ever used a planting square. Sounds interesting! My little bin and buckets were a spur of the moment thing this year. I'll be able to plan for next year.

That many plants will surely keep you busy! If you do use the square, it'll be cool to see if it helps.

I'll make a video on how to make one!

Cool! I have very limited sun in my backyard, so getting a lot out of a small area is right up my alley.

Great work! We started with containers last year, as we weren't sure when we were moving; now we're in the soil. Took two tomatoes off the vine this morning, plus directly ate a couple cherry tomatoes -- yummy! :)

That's one of the perks of containers - they're portable! Good planning on your part. Oh, and snacking while working in the garden is another one.

;~D

Thanks! It keeps me (mostly) out of trouble.

;~P

Amazing @aunt-deb! Keep the good work. Thanks for sharing!

Thanks & I will!

👍🏻👍🏻

It didn't take the radishes very long to come up. Carrots always take longer.

No kidding on the radish sprouts! I forgot how quick these are to show up. It was a very welcome surprise. It makes me more optimistic that the carrots might actually grow, too. The seeds are so old, any sprouts are a bonus!

I just love your creativity- now I've got to go search to see how those tubs drain excess water. And for what you call a rag-tag garden, you keep things immaculate! I wish my garden were as neat and tidy!! Looking forward to more updates! I bet the 'greenhouse' will extend your season a good bit :)

Thank you for your kind words!

The bin ended up in the garden because it had a crack down one side already. It seemed a shame to waste the container because of a crack, so it now lives outside & works beautifully. (A few holes in the bottom would work, too. That's how the buckets are set up.) The 'ragtag' part... is just using or re-using what I have on hand. It's fun to find ways to re-purpose items to be useful again!

@aunt-deb Intriguing put up - many thanks . Have to be terrifying to own this issue..

Great works, I wish you success
!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Good post I would be very thankful if you please follow and upvote me thanks.This post recieved an upvote from sanjeev.kapoor . If you would like to recieve upvotes from sanjeev.kapoor on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @sanjeev.kapoor

I don't reward spam comments with upvotes. They get flags instead.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61634.81
ETH 2971.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49