You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Proof That Chestnuts Can Be Grown In Pots Without Going Through Stratification

in #gardening7 years ago (edited)

Hi dear @englishtchrivy. Very funny and you are a much too tricky lady for a lot of Steemians. I never saw them growing „bushy“. Chestnuts have very less branches in the begin of growing, because they are real big trees in the end. So the branches will come later on. I understand the feelings of Bud because they grow big and make a lot of dirt in autumn and their roots will lift his car during the night, if he don't pay attention.

BUT!

If you would have grown up a edible nut of Castanea sativa, in autumn it would be like to have a treasure!

My first question: what is the purpose of this funny spoon? An earthwire?

BUT!

I bet you know it anyway!!! It is not a chestnut at all, what you are growing. It is an Avocado. And I give you fully respect, because it is not easy to bring them to germinate. You never did it by just laying down the nut on soil. You have to hang them close above water, hoping for weeks before they wrinkle and you have to start a new experiment. They doesn't grow up very often and now you are a lucky one, again. Mining bees, an avocado, you are born under a unusually star, maybe. What will come next? Magic beans?

Sort:  

@afrog hi, unfortunately it really is chestnut - they really are chestnuts. I won't bury my avocado this way as you can see in this post those are my avocado seeds and they also don't have the same shape :D

am certain they are chestnuts because I actually harvested them and picked them up as I mentioned on this post that shows where this experiment all started.

As for the spoon - it's supposed to be a spoon to stir coffee or take honey for tea but I have quite a lot of them so I decided to use them to measure the height.

As for the chestnut - my hubby doesn't have to worry about it growing roots that could uproot the house or fall on the garden as I plan to bonsai it for 8 years first. It would take it 10 years at least to get it to flower. By that time, I probably have already managed to design its branches and trained it enough that it will understand that its not allowed to grow so huge like I did with my apple mango - it hasn't grown too tall despite that its already 4 years old - oh almost 5 as you can see in this post

as for magic beans - not a fan of eating beans cause like potatoes they make me fart a lot hahahaha

Yes, unfortunally. Excuse me for suspicion. I never noticed chestnuts have such leaves with only one part. I thought they must have five parts like the horse chestnut tree. I'm really blind! We go every autumn to a secret place to gather them. Never realized they have only one parted leaves.
Magic beans are not for eating at all, @englistchrivy. You put them into soil and they are growing up in the sky.
Anyway, have fun with your new bonsai–students.

@afrog no worries I know you mean well :D
you know we actually eat and boil horse chestnuts in Asia. We got them from China - we just boil them and they taste a bit like sweet potatoes but here I couldn't dare pick up horse chestnuts in the church I featured here because people automatically say they don't eat those.

Next year I pay that church a visit I won't care anymore. I'm going to collect them and make a pie out of them or a horse chestnut cake :D

as for magic beans - I've met the giant he said they broke the code so those beans won't be growing anymore hahaha :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58088.10
ETH 2353.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44