Memoirs and Scars of World War II Etched in A Thousand Year Old Church

in #anarchy8 years ago (edited)

Yesterday, I was feeling down and so I my hub took me out to the greens. He knows that the easiest way to cheer me up is to be able to take a stroll among greens. We drove to Oosterbeek and bumped into this old church when we followed a trail from the city.

The first time we were lost on this side of the earth was a few years ago and at that time this church was closed we only knew that it was 1000 years old from this sign on the wall beside its door.

I asked hub to drive up to there because I wanted to pay a visit to this tree which we saw back then. I was wondering if he's still standing tall and glad to have seen him alive. A tree hugger - I get comfort in doing that sometimes.

Yesterday we saw that the door was open and a guy welcomed us in and told us a bit about the church.
Have you seen the Band of Brothers? Do you remember the scene where in paratroopers started dropping from the air during D Day? This church has stood witness to something like that during the Battle of Arnhem in September 1944. Apparently, the British 1st Airborne Division - paratroopers, para-gliders - Airborne Division used this church as their hide out before the British Airborne Division had to pull the whole troops back and cross the Rijn River on the night of September 25 to 26, 1944. It was heavily damaged during that time.

The church was restored but not as that of the original. It used to be until where those concrete leftovers of what seem to be polished ruins - sticking out beside the church are.

Almost everything inside the church were donated in memory of the British Airborne Division.

Even that stuff they use for Christening for babies actually have the same emblem as this.

The guy on the door told us that there's a short film in the room on the side for us to see to understand what the church had been through. This scene from the 1946 film "Theirs is the Glory Men of Arnhem was shown in that short film.

... unaware of how grim that awaits the many of them on those two days.

As you can see the lamp on that scene is of the same design of what's hanging on its ceiling now.

Sort:  

This is a good post. Well put together. I'll offer a suggestion which i had the opportunity to receive. Consider breaking into section with headinds. Sometimes, it easier to create the headings after you finished the whole story. Hope this helps. :-)

@ace108 Thank you - would reconsider that. I ts sad though I went to bed last night saw a list of the same name on it, hoping its not a bot just a miner

very interesting post. It is very obvious that it took a lot of time and effort to put together. Thank you for sharing - Steem ON

Very interesting. I was in Normandy last month where I visited a lot of the D-Day sites there.
Also, that is the happiest tree I have ever seen, no wonder you wanted to say hello again!

@opheliafu yes, he's cute and his bark looks like he's giving a thumbs up :)
you went to the actual D Day sites? wow - how did it feel? spooky?

Not spooky, as nature reclaims. Just concrete bunkers left here and there. We went to Utah and areas around including the museum at Sainte-Mère-Église. I would highly recommend a visit there.

What an absolutely gorgeous church!
I think I would break out in Ave Maria if I entered. I wouldn't be able to hold back. The acoustics must be amazing and the history is so rich! Thank you for taking us on a tour.

@merej99 I have no idea whether the acoustic is good - ino service when we got there - only tourists and passerby like us. I don't go to church so I have no idea whether that one has that.

Nice post, thanks. My mother, 6 years old at the time, hid with her parents in a basement in Arnhem in the Oeverstraat during the battle for the bridge, a bit too close for comfort, but safe. I have visited this church, the museum and the area often.

@ocrdu - oh you're also from here -
still living in the bitcoin city?
there's one more guy - I saw the post last time but lost it..followed you anyway

Born in Arnhem, but grew up in Twente and live in Enschede now. I know Arnhem and Oosterbeek well, though.

I see - Enschede - pretty far.
Glad to have bumped into you -
Good luck!

to all 71 Steemians who upvoted this post and everyone else who took their time to read and post a comment about this blog, THANK YOU ALL VERY MUCH FOR THE SUPPORT!
I appreciate it a great lot <3.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58450.19
ETH 2652.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43