I want to start a small garden!

in #garden6 years ago (edited)

Growing up my dad did not take me hunting, teach me about cars, or let me explore in the garden.

Those were not my childhood interests. As I have grown older, I have found myself wanting to learn more about these important and satisfying parts of life. I think part of this desire has grown because of my time living overseas.

So I need your help. I know that there are a lot of great gardeners and homesteaders on Steemit. I would love to hear from anyone that has an opinion.

Current Situation

Here are some relevant facts.

  • I am a newbie. I am not stupid, but I lack experience so please keep things simple.
  • I want a small win. I don't need a large garden or anything fancy. I am looking for a project where I can see results so that I can build confidence as I plan for the future.
  • My family and I will be moving in the next few months. Portable is not absolutely required, but it is preferred.

Why start gardening now?

My main reason to start a garden is that I want to connect with food - understand it, not just eat it. I have always struggled with overeating. Like many things in the United States, there is a disconnect between where food comes from and how it arrives on our table. And I am interested in teaching my family the benefits of "real food." I am tired of over processed, sugar-filled, life-taking junk that I have so often placed on my table.

I want to the satisfaction of reaping a harvest. Gardening is hard work, and I want to be satisfied with that work. I also hope that gardening will be therapeutic. I have seen my Dad put a lot of time and effort into his garden. His labor seems to melt away a lot of daily stress.

My First Experiment

oinions.jpg

This is not a picture of soup. I am regrowing green onions.

  1. I cut off the green stalks.
  2. I placed the white roots in some water. This is 2-3 days of regrowth.
  3. Based on the information I have received, I will see 6-8 inches of growth in the next few weeks.

My Questions

Feel free to answer any or all of the following questions?

  1. Would you recommend growing fruits, vegetables, or herbs first?
  2. Is there something that I can grow indoors?
  3. Is there something that I can grow in pots?
  4. What advice would you give a wanna-a-be gardener?

As always thanks for stopping by. I look forward to reading your comments.

@SumatraNate


Image Source: I took this photo on my iPhone


Announcement: You should have seen my posts before I started using Grammarly!

I am excited about my affliate relationship with Grammarly because they have helped me become a better writer, and they may be able to help you too!

Sort:  

Oh you are gonna love it! I love gardening, though I do not have my own. I only on a balcony where I keep mostly flowers and some herbs. But I always help my mum when I visit. I used to spend all summers in a garden.

From what I saw you can grow almost ANYTHING in a pot or larger container. If you have the space on some terrace/balcony or a patio put it there. They will always enjoy the fresh air and attract polinators if you decide to have something that needs it.

You can start from cherry tomatoes, strawberries, scallions, chilies, lettuce even beans :) And of course herbs: mint, sage, rosemary, thyme... those are super easy and will always come handy :)

Thanks for all of the visit. It is nice that you have been able to help your mom with her garden. My dad has a garden now. I really enjoy helping him and watching my girls help too.

Basil is easy to grow and very prolific, also lemon balm and most of the mint family are easy to grow and are perennials

I will be sure to check out your suggestions.

Loading...

Saya sangat senang berkebun dan saya melakukannya fiwaktu luang saya. Saya rekomendasikan pertama kali sebaiknya menanam sayuran karena mudah tumbuh dan bisa ditanam langsung ditanah. Dalam berkebun ilmu dan pengalaman sangat penting, sebaiknya @sumatranate mempelajari beberapa buku tentang berkebun dan menanyakan pengalaman orang-orang yang ahli dibidang ini. Thanks

Trims atas sarannya!

Coba dengan menanam secara hidroponik .Banyak jenis sayuran yang bisa ditanam secara hidroponik seperti bayam, sawi, kangkung. tidak ada ruang, cukup dalam ruangan, dan mudah perawatannya.

Hidroponik adalah konsep menarik bagi tapi saya mau coba yang lain duluan.

Is there something that I can grow indoors?
I have almost everything indoors right now. I have two grow tents: tomatoes, all kinds of herbs, even my seedlings that'll be heading outside once winter leaves for good. But to start... do herbs. Oregano, basil is super easy, lemon balm, maybe some thyme or rosemary- it just depends on what you and your household will use.

Is there something that I can grow in pots? LOTS of things.... my two tomato plants inside are in pots.

f.jpg
This picture is from last month- two mater plants in the back on the right, everything is herbs- lemon balm, catnip, marjoram, dill, chives, etc nad my Aloe Vera

Thanks for the advice and photo proof that this is possible. I appreciate all of the suggestions.

saya pernah menanam sayur dalam pot, saya menanam sawi, cabe (chilli), tomat, dan menanam bayam di pekarangan belakang rumah saya, hasil nya lumayan bisa buat makanan keluarga kami, menurut saya anda bisa memulainya dari menanam sayur seperti saya

Itu penting bagiku. Saya harap keluargaku bisa makan hasilnya.

saya belum pernah berkebun, saya baru akan memulainya, rencana saya mau menanam pepaya di kebun saya, istri saya @steemitnatural sering berkebun di pekarangan rumah saya, saya lihat dia berhasil dengan kebun kecilnya, hasil nya bisa buat kami makan bersama, saya hanya sesekali membantunya,
menurut saya kalau anda punya kebun yang luas tanam lah sebanyak mungkin, tapi kalau anda ingin memulai dari rumah anda, cobalah dengan sayur untuk kali pertama,,
semoga berhasil @sumatranate, saya menunggu kabar kebun anda selanjutnya

Pepaya tidak bisa tanah disini. Semoga sukses!

Yawwww....finally you get something from inside of you I think, the green onion just need to plant into the soil, no need to put it directly to the ground, put in the pots (or something you can change to be pot)

  1. Would you recommend growing fruits, vegetables, or herbs first?

I recommend to grow vegetable first, because you will harvest it in short time, it will boost your spirit of gardening, next step you can start with dwarf orchard in the pots

  1. Is there something that I can grow indoors?

you can grow spinach or water spinach indoors, if you use poly bag or pots, but basically many kind of vegetable can be grown indoor

  1. Is there something that I can grow in pots?

yes, dwarf orchard mostly can grow in pots, vegetable too.

  1. What advice would you give a wanna-a-be gardener?

just plan those thing, no overwatering, because if you plant thing in pots, soil nutrient could be easily flowing out with the overwatering, and you need always to put fertilizer.

look at this pics, hope you will have more idea:

IMG-20171222-WA0010.jpg

you can start it with 10 mineral water glasses, wish you luck @sumatranate

Great post! I have some of the same questions and am a newbie as well. Super cool that you're regrowing green onions. We don't eat onions or that would be a cool experiment and first step for us. I just keep throwing seeds outside. I hear that's what it takes here in Panama in rainy season (which just started). Ha. ;)

I wish it were as easy as just throwing seed. I feel like it was that easy in Indonesia, especially during the rainy season. In Indonesia, we call the rainy season "musim hujan." What do you call it in Panama?

They call it "winter" here (invierno). Winter lasts from April to December. The other season, "summer," (verano) lasts from December to April. So around Christmas they start talking about summer coming and all the beach supplies (and hotel prices) go up.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 58216.02
ETH 2614.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45