Bye Bye Garden... Guess All Good Things Will End Sooner Or Later

in #garden5 years ago (edited)

I'm devastated... to say the least. I know I had it coming, but you know, ... you always hope for the best. In this case, it was idle hope...

20190326_182036.jpg

My Garden = My Stress-Free Zone

If you have bee following my blog for a while, you know gardening is one of the only things in my life that gives me peace of my mind. My personal way of meditating, if you want to call it like that.

I don't have to tell you I was devastated when all my veggies got infected by some kind of unknown disease by the end of last summer, and my gardening season ended way too soon.

Not knowing what it was that had infected ALL my plants - most pests, fungi or diseases are limited to one species only - there was no way to determine what was actually going on.

When I talked to someone from deoudenkastanje.be, a farm around the corner that specializes in unknown and forgotten vegetables, I had put up my hopes that all had been caused by the extreme drought we had experienced last summer.

No need to say that - after all I have been going through this last year - my garden was my way of escaping reality.

gardening f-divider.jpg

Promising

Everything looked so promising... less than two weeks ago, I took a series of pictures because I wanted to create a post for the @ifc 'power spot' round. The entire garden looked so healthy and promising...

I never did finish the post, and in a way, I'm glad I didn't. because instead of being my 'Power spot', it seems like my garden has become my 'Weak spot' instead.

Whereas my Kiwi Berry looked so beautiful only two weeks ago...

kiwiberry.jpg

This is what I found today...

kiwiberry2.jpg
Click to enlarge

It looks exactly the same as what killed all my plants last year.

gardening f-divider.jpg

Figuring It Out

Of course there's a way to find out what is going on... except.... that involves laboratories, and especially a truckload of money.

So I guess there's no use in trying to grow anything this year.

Bye bye, garden. It has been fun, for as long as it lasted. I'll definitely miss you... big time!!!!


signature2.gif

Graphic created with The Logo Creator Software

Subscribe Ro RSS Feed | Subscribe To Newsletter


Quote image source. - The images that are not sourced are created with The Logo Creator Software


Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png



JOIN THE DISCORD



Posted from Instagram via Share2Steem



Sort:  

That's sad :-( have you looked at the roots? may give you some clues.

Here's a little something to cheer you up...

Hi, as a delegator to MAP Rewarder, you have won a free SBI (SteemBasicIncome) share in our MAP Rewarder Free SBI Share & Crypto News of the Day - 11 April 2019.
Congratulations!


MAP Rewarder Makes Delegating More Rewarding!

Ah, you may also wish to change the tag typo to #powerhousecreatives :-)

Wow. Again? Thanks a lot!
I'm starting to think (hope) the buds were just affected by frost at night. Let's hope so.

And thanks for the heads up about the tag :0)

Let's hope so. Here I have the opposite problem, too hot and currently rainless.
Yeah, I'd estimate only half the delegators to MAPR actually post, hence the chances of these bonus free upvotes are pretty good for those that do! :-)

Think there is some kind of air toxin in the rain perhaps. I had something like this happen in early Summer, but not this drastic. Anything with tender leaves kicked the bucket. The wood on your tree still looks healthy. In Summer, many trees will kick back into life again and again even if all the leaves are picked off or eaten by bugs.

Hey, nature always finds a way. If nature gave up on us after the climate killed the dinosaurs, we would have been toast a long time ago.

Grow weeds if you have to. I would not say this is the end. You are right about not wasting too much time and resources on your exotic plants, veggies and fruits until you can figure this out though and whether or not its safe. I think you'll find there are still some green plants and flowers that might still be okay though.

Send your photos or a link to this page to the local extension service. In the US it's usually associated with the state college, where horticulture researchers offer to freely answer farmer, agriculture, forestry, and gardening questions. I'm sure they have something similar available in your country.

I found out it had frozen again that very same night. So now it is fingers crossed that it will be only damaged by the cold, and I panicked too soon...

Wow, that sounds pretty scary to me! I hope you can figure out what's going on.

Posted using Partiko Android

Meanwhile, I'm 90% sure it was only frost damage - the plant seems to be recovering :)

Too bad you have to go through all that, @simplymike. I understand you perfectly, I also suffer when I see my plants attacked by worms and vermin. It must be a ground problem, try to have pots, but don't say goodbye to the garden. I share with you that it is an oasis that calms and gives peace.
These days I discovered a worm that ended up with a fern that was green and healthy. It practically ruined it, today I was just taking away the dry leaves and the sticks that it left peeled. It is frustrating when you love plants, you take care of them daily and in an instant they disappear due to factors of any kind. A hug for you.

Thanks, @aurodivys
I was so devastated, but you know what? It had been very cold outside the previous night, and I think the little buds were still too fragile to handle the cold. I've put the plant in the greenhouse, and new green buds are growing as we speak :0)

I wish that some expert or anyone who really know about gardening would read and let you know why is that happened to your lovely berry.

Have you put under shade tree or something so it won't be exposed directly to the sun.. because all it needs were water to grow at that stage of growing.

I hope that you'll find something tough to grow and bring back the life to your escape eden

I haven't given up yet. MeanHile, I realizes that the frost that is back during nights, might just have been too muuch for the fresh, new buds.
Keeping my fingers crossed 🤞🌱

So it's some kind of frost bite on the buds😯 then you'll know what to do with it 😊 if it's on human toes.. amputation is the problem solving 😆 just kidding.

That's horrible! For the plants and double for you!

Fortunately, it seems it was just the result of frost during the night.i'v put it in the greenhouse, and brand new, green buds are growing again :0)

Hi, @simplymike!

You just got a 18.98% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Oh, wow. Sorry to hear about this, @simplymike. I take it the neighboring farms or gardens aren't experiencing the same issues? If not, that would seem to make it very localized. I would think someone around would have some kind of soil or water kit to measure levels with that wouldn't cost a lot to borrow or use.

Some kind of change that occurred towards the end of last growing season, or a little before that, to get to the levels necessary to kill off the harvest. What could it be?

Well, I know it sounds like it's hopeless (and maybe for this year it is), but I'm still going to hold out hope that this situation will be resolved somehow, at some point. There are practical purposes for having a garden, obviously, in addition to the refuge it's been for you. What about bringing in dirt and setting up separate beds, even on a small scale? At least you could see if things grow that way, and if it does, then you'll know it's in the ground and not in the water? I don't know. I'm grasping at straws here—the guy who doesn't like to garden is trying to save yours! :)

I've put this particular one in the green house for now, since we're srill getting frost temparutes at night again.
So part of me has high hopes thatit was just the frost that got to the new, fresh buds.

Gônna have my soil tested, but it is a pretty expensive deed for just a backyard grden...

Gonna wait it out for another week or so and looks ar what happens....

Ah. Okay. Frost and cold weather. Let's hope that's it.

Hopefully things will resolve by themselves. It sounded like from the post that you were giving up on everything, so I'm glad to see that some of it might be salvaged. Hopefully the expense of the soil test once you do get it will be worth the money. It's doubtful things are dying just out of spite, so you're bound to learn something, one way or another. :)

It not only sounded like I was giving up... the state of mind I was in was very negative. Fortunately, I've been able to turn it around since a couple of days.

It's back 'full force ahead'.

Thanks for reminding me about the soil test. I completely forgot. Will be first thing on the list tomorrow

You're welcome. Glad to be of help, even inadvertently. :) I'm also glad to hear things have turned around attitude-wise. I'll leave you alone to get things done. :)

This is terrible again.
You should diversify find something that is immune or not bothered by it.

Posted using Partiko Android

He's doing better again since I placed it in the greenhouse. This was probably just caused by night frost... fingers crossed :0)

Aw... That's a major bummer and I'm really sorry to hear that friend. That must be super disappointing. :(
I hope you're able to figure out what's wrong and turn it back into a power spot that brings you more peace of mind next season!

It looks like it was just a result of night frost. Put him in the greenhouse, and new, green buds are growing again. What a relief

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64498.18
ETH 3079.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86