Grass Clippings: A Precious Commodity? Plus Some Garden UpdatessteemCreated with Sketch.

in #garden7 years ago (edited)

DSCN2931.JPG

Many years ago, before I started getting into growing my own food, I used to hate mowing the lawn for the main reason of having to figure out what to do with the grass clippings. I hated the idea of paying to have them hauled off but was grateful to find a neighbor happy to take them for his compost.

Now that I am to the point that I have less and less grass to mow and more need for organic grass clippings as a mulch layer, I am finding them to be pretty precious. The few people I know around me that do not spray their yards with some kind of toxic garbage are also the same ones that do not use a bag to collect the clippings so if I want them, I have to take the time to go rake them up myself and at this point, I simply do not have that kind of time to spare.

DSCN2936.JPG

Thankfully I do have a husband who does a lot of wood working so I can at least get wood shavings to put around my vegetation, but even that is not as much as I need and I simply find the grass clippings to be superior in our area for holding in moisture and a natural way to feed nitrogen into the soil.

Years ago, I would have never thought There would be a day that grass clippings would be so valuable to me!

Now for a couple of random garden updates:

My sunset and scarlet runner beans that I have planted in many places all around my garden are getting their flowers:

DSCN2942.JPG

In the very top photo you can see where Patrick recently finished putting in more posts in the center of the garden to some day put a polycarbonate roof over to provide some protection and hopefully boost our production in our short growing season. These will also enable us to set up more trellises in the center of the garden as our limited space means doing as much vertical gardening as possible. He also put a few cross boards towards the front corner for my runner beans that I have planted to each side to climb along. A couple are just about to it!

My tomatillos are growing nicely and I am hoping for a good production of this fruit that I have never yet even tried, not even store bought, but am planning on getting into making salsa verde with if I can get enough. Seeing as how I got an over abundance on my first try with ground cherries last year, I am thinking the tomatillos should do well for me.
O yes, and there is the first of my red nasturtiums blooming directly behind them. Seems the pattern is always the same with the nasturtiums, first yellow, then orange, then red, then burgundy - which I am am still waiting on and are my very favorites!

DSCN2935.JPG

There are so many other wonderful things happening in my garden but I will get to those in another post as this is already plenty long, but I will finish it up with my peas. I got to enjoy my first peas fresh from the vine this morning. Always such a treat!

DSCN2933.JPG

Hope you are all having a blessed day and thanks for dropping in! ~Heidi

Contact
Email: [email protected]
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/RainCountryHomestead/
Hand Crafted Goods: https://www.facebook.com/heidiscrochetedart/

RainCountry1.JPG

Sort:  

This is lovely! Green is life!
I love eating nasturtiums in grilled cheese sandwiches haha

Your garden truly is beautiful 🌱 I miss my grass clippings too. Now I just use the wood shavings from my coop when I clean it out.

Last year I made steelhead stuffed nasturtiums, they were pretty tasty! DSCN1210.JPG

Your garden is simply beautiful. Glad you are showing how to use the space you have with efficiency.

Thank you! Yes, it has been a lot of experimenting, and still is as I add new things each year, but we are determined to truly make it work for us :D

They look beautiful too!
Which gives me an idea! Preparing them like mini stuffed squash blossoms, filled with herbed ricotta, lightly battered and fried!

Thanks for the inspiration!

Yes grass clippings, woodchips, leaves bring it on.
Your garden looks beautiful, I have not had the time this year, so it's a bit of a barren land, with no annuals. Luckily I can look at your lush garden and dream a bit about next year. Thanks for sharing this lovely post :)

Lovely pics! I too collect grass clippings to put around my shrubs and fruit trees. However, some night critter likes to scatter them around, probably seeking out bugs and grubs that like to hide underneath! Never a dull moment in the garden!

I have recently found that to be an issue here as well and wonder what it is, I do not recall seeing this before. Then again, it is the new front yard garden section I made this year, so maybe a neighbor cat or dog? I sure hope it is not raccoons!

That's what I suspect, or perhaps porcupines. We have both causing mischief around here!

Super garden. They are wonderful teachers and healers of the body and soul. We've a smaller one but do so enjoy the benefits it brings to our home and family. The learning curve is what I seek.

Thank for interesting information about how we enjoy and be better gardeners

Garden is looking so green and lush! resteemit for others to enjoy as well!

You know already how much I love spending time in your garden. I always learn something new! Love and prayers❤

My husband just mowed last night before it rained now I just have to wait for it to stop so I can go collect my green gold for my veggies 👍🏻 Great post!

So nice garden. liked it! Upvoted

Wow, super nice garden spot. Looks like you spent many hours making it this beautiful. Love it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 59181.56
ETH 2521.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47