Container Garden Update!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #garden5 years ago

Greetings, everyone! It's been a while since I posted a garden update, not because it's winter, but because I'm on vacation in Mexico. I don't have that much planted because I will only be here for a little over a month more but also because of these little guys.

IMG_20200117_112429.jpg

Or should I say girls? Yup, these are Dingleberry's (see introductory post here: https://steemit.com/appics/@proto26/dingleberry-the-rooster) new companions, La Negra aka Blackie and La Pelona aka Baldie.

IMG_20200117_112349.jpg

Baldie is so named for the lack of feathers on her neck. Don't worry, she's happy. That's how her breed is.
Chickens are omnivores and will eat seeds, insects, meat, and unfortunately vegetation. Just look at what's left of this pea plant.

IMG_20200117_103526.jpg

The leaves must be very tasty because they all look like this. I only managed to save this one which was uprooted by some other bird before I transferred it to the container.

IMG_20200117_105829.jpg

I keep it far away from the others but it looks like Dingleberry managed to find it and tear a few leaves. They leave the beans alone for the most part. Something is plaguing this one though.

IMG_20200117_105849.jpg

The leaves are shrivelling up and it hasn't bloomed. I hope it does because this is one of the black pinto beans I found mixed in with the normal ones that we eat (seen as seedlings here: https://steemit.com/greendeeds/@proto26/my-eco-friendly-green-deeds-of-the-week ).

The other beans are doing well though and have little pods already! I like planting the unique ones out of the batch and seeing what I get from them.

IMG_20200117_110000.jpg

Hopefully I'll still be here when my wheat stalks are ready to harvest so that I can't take some back with me. I picked these seeds up off the ground when I went to the agriculture expo a while ago.

IMG_20200117_110105.jpg

IMG_20200117_110026.jpg

As you can probably tell, it's in the grass family just like corn and oats to name a few.
The rose garden is in the front yard and it has some one of a kind flowers.

IMG_20200117_110348.jpg

IMG_20200117_110504.jpg

IMG_20200117_110302.jpg
I like this one a lot

IMG_20200117_110327.jpg

I don't know what's going on with the last one. It looks like multiple flower buds coming from the center of an existing flower. The bloom itself has lasted a long time with the green in the center developing more and more. We'll see what the future holds for it.
That's pretty much all that's happening in my garden today. Any questions? Comments? Let me know. Thanks for stopping by.
That's all, folks!

Sort:  

Great work! Your post was selected for curation by one of @curangel's dedicated curators for its contribution to quality!

...unfortunately, it had to be excluded from curation because you recently bought a vote from a bid bot (treeplanter).In our efforts to support #newsteem, authors who participate in vote buying are not eligible for our votes.

But don't worry. It only takes 7 days of not buying votes to be able to receive our vote again, so maybe one of your next posts will make it!

Take care and steem on!

Thank you for supporting @CatsMakeKittens by being a part of our community @proto26.

Each CATS you purchase gets you daily upvotes from me @CatScientist as our community grows so do your rewards for being a member!

Those are fantastic specimens you've grown. I love seeing painted roses.

The grain plant is very interesting. Wonder if it could be wheat.

My dad planted the roses.
The grain I got from a hay bail

Beautiful! Are these photos all taken in Mexico? My family will be living there soon. Any advice you can give about settling in to the geography and culture? Any must see or must do advice? Enjoy the warmth 🌱

Yes they were all taken in Mexico. Food is cheap but electronics, tools, and the like are a little pricey so make sure you bring over all of your essentials. As for must-sees hm.. what state will your family be going to, if you don't mind me asking? Either way the pyramids at Teotihuacan are definitely a must

Thank you! We will be around the Puerto Vallarta area for the first round of adventures, and then we will go where the cheap flights and good rentals take us I think. Good advice - keep it coming if you feel so inclined! 🌱

Try to taste the typical dishes of the areas you visit. When we take trips into town or other cities we often ask local workers (because they definitely live nearby and aren't tourists) where is a good place to eat. In Guadalajara three different people named the same place! That's how you know it's good

This is excellent advice! Thank you 🌱

So familiar. My chickens have just taken out my bean plant!

They've picked at mine but haven't devoured them. I noticed they like to pick at young bean sprouts especially.

Lol! Only the youngest, freshest and juiciest for them!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account.
If you are a community leader and/or contest organizer, please join the Discord and let us know you if you would like to promote the posting of your community or contest.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

They all look amazing, I saw a farm in England were asking for Christmas trees, they fed it to their sheep who stripped them clean.

Sounds just like sheep to me haha
They'll nibble the grass all the way down to the earth

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53778.84
ETH 2224.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30