Around The Winter Garden ~ Pumpkin Update

in #garden7 years ago

It's time for an update on my Queensland Blue Pumpkins.

These are an heirloom variety of pumpkins and I saved these seeds from one we bought from a local farmer to eat. I planted them in my winter garden a couple of months back now and it's time to give you an update on their progress.

We've had some fruits yellow and drop from the vine while still small. I think the cause is either lack of pollination or blossom end rot. I've taken time every day or so this last week and a bit to try to manually pollinate the new fruits before the flower falls off.

I think this method is working but only time will tell, I really hope to get a good 5 or 6 big pumpkins out of the winter season. To manually pollinate, simply pick a male flower and remove the petals. Find a female flower, the males are on a stalk and the female flowers have a tiny little fruit and a usually hard up near the vine. Rub the males bits on the females bits and Ta Da Itty Bitty pumpkins grow and hopefully not die and fall off the vine... :-/


bee pollinating.jpg

Nature's little helper, I'm helping her out.

little pumpkins 1.jpg
Can you see the yellow one? That makes me sad.

little Pumpkins 2.jpg
These bigger ones should be ok though I hope.

medium pumpkin.jpg
@freakygeak This is about as blue as they get.

big pumpkin.jpg


Renovation Works Today

Today saw a a reprieve, for me at least. In that the work was floor tiles and lino cutting and I am not able to do anything effectively at floor level. That left me in charge of keeping the animals out of the way and off the fresh laid tiles. I used the free time to rest and heal up a little plus take some time to water, weed and generally putter about my veggies, which was just divine.

For lunch we had a simple Local Food Salad, with corned beef, boiled egg and some bacon bits scattered over. The meats were from the supermarket as I've run a little low on supplies. For the main meal tonight is a leg of Lamb and roast veggies with garden fresh greens.


Salad lunch.jpg


Hay Bale Garden Project

@greenacrehome and @pennsif the winnings from your contests have been moved to Bittrex and are waiting for a good price or the start of the haybale garden project to begin. I've got the seedling trays out ready to go next week, for a head start!


Capture.JPG


Time To Reflect A Little

It's these scant moments in which I find surcease, and reaffirm my mission. Why I'm doing this project and why I try so desperately hard to get a post up everyday. There has been a lot of not so great news around the steemit platform and I guess it deserves the bad press. But it is still a great place to come everyday and report my doings, and catch up with the friends and like-minded folks that I would never have meet were it not for Steemit.

Yes that's you I'm talking about! Thank each of you for coming to read my posts, I've got some really good ones lined up to write after this renovation project is finished. So stick around, pull up a stool grab a beer and tell me how your day was!

Thank You For Taking The Time To Enjoy My Post
Join Us At


bar.jpg
Join The Steemit Homsteaders Slack Channel For Free, Just Click The Image And Say Hi!


Take a look at Yesterday's Awesome Local Food Pot Roast post 🙆

Or Follow me to get all my content right on your feed!👌

And Remember To

“ UpVote It Like You Mean It!!!”

~Bryan
@overthewait
What are you waiting for?

Sort:  

That big pumpkin is beautiful, hopefully, the rest will grow just as well now.
this time I actually fetched my lunch before beginning to read your post as I knew you would once again make me hungry.
I look forward to those upcoming posts, until then just keep doing what you are doing. I'm enjoying it and others are too.

Yes, thanks very much for your support. Some days are like a steemroller. It's great when one give you time to breath and relax and think :-) I hope your day is going well and you get some good new soon!

We are trying to wait patiently, but it's very difficult. The longer we wait the more my heart sinks. Work is slow going today, I can't seem to find my groove, but other than that I have nothing to complain about.

No news is good news right. Fingers crossed.

I really enjoy seeing your updates pop up in my feed mate. They're a great read and you have so much success in your endeavors from what I see... week earned. As @frugallady says, that big pumpkin is a beauty! We've never had one so big. Well done!

They are an awesome pumpkin. I hope we get a bunch more, thanks for stopping in. Hope you're doing well and have a great day.

Thanks mate, and to you.

Wow I never knew that there was such a thing as Blue Pumpkins. I have one lonely ole pumpkin growing in my garden this year. The rain has really kept the bee's away for pollinating. The one pumpkin I have I had to hand pollinate just to get it. Thanks for sharing.

That's about as blue as they get, still fairly blue right?
One is better then none, I am hoping to get a few. The vines take up a fair bit of space.
Thank you for taking the time to comment, please have a fantastic day :-)

thank you for letting me know i nearly missed a post and resteem it :O that would have been bad on my part :/ as for the color of the pumpkin it looks green to me :D some times my eye's are not good with colors some times they are just right :) I'm odd in many ways :D can't wait to see what you do with these once they are ripe :) thanks for sharing and I think the shout out :)

I had never seen a blue pumpkin until today! That's a beauty and I hope you can get more.

Thank you very much, I'm starting to be confident my intervention has worked and I'll get a few more out of the vines :)

Awesome! The project begins! :-)

Can't wait to get it up and running. Might even be able to get a few extra bales :)

Great to see the contest winnings going to a good project.

May the exchange rates move in your favour 😊

Thank you very much. What's next for pennsif contests?

The latest contest still hasn't got a winner - an easy chance for someone to win 3 SBD :

And I'm brewing up a couple more contests. Maybe something for the weekend...

Anything take your fancy sir 😊

I'm not sure how I missed that one but I'm in it now :-) Points for research on that one?

Check on the history of photography. Kodak was the (east)man, give or take a couple of years...

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Dingo from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

I really like the blue pumpkin!

I guess I like all pumpkins but odd colored ones are my favorite!

White pumpkins were something my mother grew when I was little!

Well there you go..
I'd like to see a white one!

Lovely heirloom pumpkins. Smart advice on how to pollinate them. Thanks for a great post. 🐓🐓

Thank you @mother2chicks. Most of the ones I've done have taken so far. He's hoping for a few more.
Have a great day, hope to see you in slack or in a post soon.

Thanks for stopping by. We check out the slack on occasion. Maybe we will catch you ther. 🐓🐓

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67617.45
ETH 3777.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69