You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Say Hello to @Grow-Pro & Let's Grow Tomatoes

in #garden7 years ago (edited)

This post was well written and well formatted. It was an easy and pleasurable read too!

I think I need to add the "Read more recent posts from me" section too perhaps. You're using a template also now, right? I also need to do that...

It is still a bit crazy how much money can be made growing food. People have forgotten so much old knowledge that something that was once thought to be a fairly simple task (having a home garden) is now a much needed service/product.

I don't have your green thumb, but I know my wife does. I will be sharing all of these posts with her. She has it in her genes since her father was a florist. I keep nudging her towards botany, herbalism, etc. too.

Thanks for the great post! I've resteemed it. :)

Sort:  

The money to be made is not often in farming itself. Farmers typically get the 'short end' of the trade-off. It's crazy that the store selling the produce is making sometimes 200-450% markup on produce while the farmer gets a fraction of the return. Farmers that handle their own retail make exponentially more.

We are all-in-one, so the potential for profit is very real. 1 acre of tomatoes can easily produce well over a half million dollars per acre. That's good money to me. The average US tomato farm functions on 5 acres or less. Now we all finally know why... A grower with extensive knowledge, great techniques, a solid plan, and the right equipment can produce and sell a half million dollars in produce each year with a small group of people and an acre of ground.

Many try to skimp on one of the above essentials and that's what allows people like me to slide into the market and dominate. It isn't hard to produce better results when your goal is not money, but to produce better quality products. The money is always the byproduct, never the motive.

When you start making that much money, let me know. I'll come help! ha ha

It's more than possible.. My neighbors granted me usage of 3-4 more acres and they know I'll take good care of them. I'd rather buy the land, but my nickname is "let's make a deal"..😆 If I start making that kind of money, I'll hire you to head up my security department and we can move into a wider spectrum of gardening. I'd sleep well and we'd be searching for water front property! I would secure your services immediately, rest assured. I'd love to see more people realizing that they can do it.

You're the man @finnian. I need to use a template tool because I'm doing it all manually now..lol I'm so slow at posting I take sleep breaks. My grandfather was very into plants and botany in his later years. My wife's grandfather is still alive, actually he just visited us yesterday, and he is an avid gardener. He was also a farmer in his earlier years. Raised by a farmer to boot. He is a great motivation for me because he gives me high praise for my work - something that he doesn't often dish out like Halloween candy.

It is something that I enjoy doing and I do not see it for what many others see it as; work. I see it as something I'm supposed to be doing because it it one of the few things that I truly enjoy doing that involves tremendous labor. I've done it for nothing and I've done it for money. Honestly, it feels the same to me. I've gotta find some tools for this platform to help me figure out more efficient ways to create quality content.

Many thanks for the resteem 😎🙏🏼

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62084.99
ETH 2415.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62