You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Say Hello to @Grow-Pro & Let's Grow Tomatoes

in #garden7 years ago

The money to be made is not often in farming itself. Farmers typically get the 'short end' of the trade-off. It's crazy that the store selling the produce is making sometimes 200-450% markup on produce while the farmer gets a fraction of the return. Farmers that handle their own retail make exponentially more.

We are all-in-one, so the potential for profit is very real. 1 acre of tomatoes can easily produce well over a half million dollars per acre. That's good money to me. The average US tomato farm functions on 5 acres or less. Now we all finally know why... A grower with extensive knowledge, great techniques, a solid plan, and the right equipment can produce and sell a half million dollars in produce each year with a small group of people and an acre of ground.

Many try to skimp on one of the above essentials and that's what allows people like me to slide into the market and dominate. It isn't hard to produce better results when your goal is not money, but to produce better quality products. The money is always the byproduct, never the motive.

Sort:  

When you start making that much money, let me know. I'll come help! ha ha

It's more than possible.. My neighbors granted me usage of 3-4 more acres and they know I'll take good care of them. I'd rather buy the land, but my nickname is "let's make a deal"..😆 If I start making that kind of money, I'll hire you to head up my security department and we can move into a wider spectrum of gardening. I'd sleep well and we'd be searching for water front property! I would secure your services immediately, rest assured. I'd love to see more people realizing that they can do it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61904.26
ETH 2409.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68