Sort:  

Looking great! It's almost unrecognizable compared to what you posted 2 months ago :0)

but I almost gave up and decided to spray.
I was wondering: what do you use t spray with?

Good tips on companion planting, btw. I try to use it as often as I can

Chemical Pesticides :(
I rarely spray my plants unless I'm forced too. If bugs start eating my stuff I have no choice. I have to follow the local farmers' directions or they will do it and they will do it much worse.
I use the minimal amount possible and it's all certified by the government to make sure it is safe for the local environment and critters. Although, generally I'd rather just lose my stuff. However, everyone around me sprays and there isn't much I can do. I avoided it this time, but in the fall it usually isn't an option. Thankfully my area is more controlled than others, but it isn't an organic zone either.

Sorry to hear. Ever tried a garlic/neem oil spray? I can't imagine they would have a problem with that...
But since everyone around you is sparying chemicals anyway... 🤔

Awesome... that frog looks like he's a real defender of the realm!

You've got a lot of space there, enough to be self sufficient in veg and seasonal fruit by the looks of it.

I only have 2 rows about 15m each. Those are my neighbors. Let's say that's 35m^2. I've read if you do well and vegan, you can feed 14 people per football field (100X65) ~ 470m^2 each. More would be possible if you have a greenhouse, hydroponics, go crazy intensive or have a really boring diet purely focused on efficiency. Without doing that I would need around 12 ~ 15 X the land or nearly that entire farm for a proper vegan diet without a ton of input energy.
I would need around a football field worth for a normal American diet. Then I have other family members. Farming is really tough. To feed your family organically without mechanized equipment or some serious investment in a fancy system, it's really a full-time job.

Oh OK - still, enough for a a few luxuries. I love these types of calculation!

I used to have an allotment so I know how much work it is!

I'm currently holding off growing anything - busy doing other work and uncertain how long I'll be settled in my present place.

But I'll be feeding myself partially again at some point in the future!

Posted using Partiko Android

I love the little frog in your mint! We have so much mint around one side of the garden, it's about time to cut it back except I was hoping it would help with the bugs. Thank you for the reminder to do some pruning. I think some of the squash plants we have exploded so much that they could probably use some of the excess leaves trimmed so that the fruit bears well. Always love seeing what everyone has going on in the garden!

Posted using Partiko Android

Pruning seems really counter productive but most plants love it.
I collect my mind and dry it for tea so I dont think I could ever have too much.

Posted using Partiko Android

We are definitely due to dry another round. Just finished up some more of the lemon balm and oregano to store for later, so I should have some space to let the mint dry out next!

Your garden looks amazing - I grow my veggies in containers which really helped when we went through our drought. I am trying peas for the first time - the bush type so will have to watch out for the birds and two squirrels that ofteh pop in to say hi.

Covering it with mess really seems to help. There are a lot of magpies here and nothing else seems to work be ause they are about as clever as a 4 year old kid.

Posted using Partiko Android

wow!how small is that frog?

I would like to say he was almost 2cm long.

That's pretty tiny!

Nice photos; must be nice to have a garden

Some times I like just going there to hang out. The owners of the land said I can have BBQ or picnic there. My plot has a nice tree at the end, so I sit there and just enjoy peace.

Time to harvest is soon knocking at the door

It's always harvesting time.

This is just indescribably beautiful. How big it is :) Ya birds can be a pain. Here we have birds, rats, and rabbits that eat fruits people grow. I have been meaning to lay traps for the rats and I have lots of wire netting. A wile back I lost an eggplant to something, probably a rat or bird. So I have been doing everything I can to prevent that from happening again. It can be tough though. My aunt and uncle have lost some fruits to rabbits before.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks for the compliments ;) There are predators like cats and frogs around, but mostly bugs and bigger pests get free reign to do whatever they please. Luckily because it is a community plot, people come by more often and scare off the pests. Also, some people spray, however, I avoid doing that.

Wow! Your garden is looking real productive and it sounds like the extra work you did earlier laying down the vinyl and canvas really paid off with less weeding and watering.
Thanks for sharing I love to see what's happening in folks gardens!

Planning the garden is important. Throwing down seeds and hoping for the best is fine if you have way too much land and free seeds I guess.

I am not too crazy about getting 100% efficiency, but I also paid around 120 dollars to rent it for the year and I don't want to completely waste my time, haha.

You got a 29.74% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @abitcoinskeptic! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 30 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55528.94
ETH 2373.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36