You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Second Life Psychology: Who Do We Choose To Be, When We Can Be Anything?

in #gaming7 years ago (edited)

I've entertained the idea of getting into Second Life for a minute, some years ago, but I never got the courage. I figured it was too late for someone who's not into 3d modeling (I'm learning now) to make any kind of revenue, and the idea of a massive multiplayer world has always scared me (that's why I tend to avoid MMORPG too - I'm prone to addiction).

At any rate, I love how your post has ended up being a social analysis. I think the virtual persona we create has something to say about us only as long as we give it meaning ourselves. I believe that a woman - a honest one - might be more indicated to explain if women in general tend to constrict their sexuality in their real life, only to unleash it whenever they're safely anonimous, or if Second Life tends to attract only one kind of individual and to bore the rest to death.

Virtual tits can bring votes but they are cheap. It's way better to get votes by content :D

Sort:  

I definitely wouldn't recommend Second Life as a revenue source. It's fine as a form of participatory fun and creative expression but if you haven't got a lot of time for fun, it'll cost you a fortune in hours.

Plus most of the conversation that goes on there is dismal. Maybe we could set up a Steemit area (for all I know there might be one already) and up the level of discourse.

I did check out discord a week ago - you hear a lot about how 'conversational' it is and how you can meet good contacts there but it seemed a little rambling and the conversations were very superficial.

I was also checking out steemit chat. The chat seems a little better and more focused based on the channel you are on but there seems to be much less traffic. I did achieve my goal though and was able to contact a specific steemit personality who I wanted to speak to about a specific topic not related to any post. As far as I know the 'Pimp your Post Thursday' is the only chat that almost guarantees there will be people online at the same time as you are.

Yeah - Discord for me is completely overwhelming. All those channels, and then rooms, and then... I'm not sure?

Steemit chat seems to work well as a sort of Steemit email. I've gotten messages there when people want to talk about something and not leave it forever engraved in the Blockchain. (Like sending @tecnosgirl my mailing address.) Biggest problem is I have to remember to check it!

The 'check it' part gets me too.

I do spend a lot of time in various hobbies and passions, but that's the point - when you go multiplayer you start spending your free time in one thing only.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59232.68
ETH 2638.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44