Second Life Psychology: Who Do We Choose To Be, When We Can Be Anything?

in #gaming7 years ago

The Wife and I made a foray into Second Life a few years ago.

No doubt you've heard of it, even if you've never been.

Snapshot_060.jpg
Must have been my birthday.

If not, imagine: virtual 3D world, free to join and participate, heavy demands on computing power, a steep learning-curve for the interface and a steeper one for designing 3D objects. You can buy land and other resources with a virtual currency, and if you design a virtual 3D object, and someone likes it enough to pay you, you can sell it and make money.

Economically, Second Life sits somewhere between your needs-driven scarcity model and your post scarcity, no-boundaries wonderland. (Like a hybrid of Minecraft's survival and creative modes.)

WithTheWife4.jpg
My wife is the personification of haute couture.

What we mostly wound up doing was hanging around one of the "Orientation Islands." This was a public space in the game where new players started out. It had a little course laid out to teach the basics of the game's challenging controls, and not much else - save a view of the water.

For whatever reason, it became the spot for a rotating group of regulars to hang around and chat, play music, and get into arguments. There were people there who had spent a fortune on developing private virtual property, which sat vacant because what people really wanted to do was hang out in the park.

And Orientation Island turned out to be one of the few places where you could have a halfway intelligible conversation. Halfway.

WithTheWife.jpg
Orientation Island's welcoming committee.

We made some good friends there, and interacted with some personalities that I still remember six years later.

I never really got the hang of putting together a decent outfit (or body), and just settled on selecting a few of the objects that came with the default inventory.

But I did enjoy taking photographs. I appreciated the way you could move your vantage point from first to third person, even as your avatar sat in place. It was great fun zooming around and watching what other people were doing. (All photographers are voyeurs, I suppose.)

Tank.jpg
Boys being boys.

I found the choice of avatars so interesting. In many cases, people had invested a ton of time and money into them. Every element of their projected selves had to be chosen and constructed. And while the male avatars were all over the place: tattooed thugs, 1970s rock and roll getups, monsters, animals, and robots - the women chose to be - and please forgive me for saying this, because I'm only referring to the vast majority here - sluts.

CheckHerOut.jpg
I say, my fair lady, that I shall upvote that post!

Now, I'm not sure I want to get into an evo-bio versus rape culture debate here. Or maybe I do? If you'd like to get one rolling in the comments, be my guest! My reputation score would certainly welcome the activity.

FuckYouBelly.jpg
Aggressively slutty sluts.

What's so fascinating is that Second Life, as much of modern technology, frees us to explore our fantasies and desires without any boundaries - physical or moral. And for many (most?) of the women there, they do this by inhabiting bodies that are so perfect and exaggerated that they could never exist in reality. But, perfect and exaggerated for who? For the men around them?

And the clothes! These avatars could wear anything, and be as elaborate and as fanciful as the least practical runway model. So why do they dress as they do?

Boudoir.jpg
Girls being girls.

At first I suspected that many of these players were actually men. I'll often choose to play a female character in a video game, especially if it's got a third-person interface. Because, why would I want to stare at a hunky male avatar for dozens of hours? (This is a corollary of Karl Pilkington's observation: "I'd rather live in a cave with a view of a palace than live in a palace with a view of a cave.")

WithTheWife6.jpg
Oh, Marmalade Writer, if you ever find your way onto Steemit, say hello. We both miss you.

But Second Life has voice chat as well as text, and my assumption was proven wrong again and again. Either voice modulation software had become ubiquitous and flawless, or these were actual ladies.

The conclusion (since I'm foolish enough to draw one here) is that women want to have the same sorts of bodies that men want them to have. For whatever reason: advertising and conditioning, social pressure, historical oppression, or maybe just the evolutionary necessity of attracting a mate (whoops...)

As a man, hey, I guess it's part of my sinister privilege that the vast majority of women work so hard to keep themselves hot. Does that mean I shouldn't look?

But once you project this impulse into a world with no limits, the desire for perfection converges on a dreary sameness.

That's why The Wife decided to break the mold and go for a more mature, dignified look.

I guess that, once you've attracted a mate, there are better things to do. Like riding horses.

WithTheWifeHorse.jpg

Or transforming into a giant monkey head with wings and flying around the place.

MonkeyHeadAndMe.jpg

Because, really, if you can be anything you want to be - why should you feel constrained to have anything recognizable as a body at all?

Fohktor.jpg

Question time!

  • Have you played Second Life? Do you still play today? This site suggests that there are still 40,000 -ish people on at any given time. Are you one of them?
  • What does our choice of virtual persona have to say about who we are? And should it matter?
  • With so much stunning high fashion to draw inspiration from in the real world, why does the virtual one end up so skanky?
  • Should I have chosen a thumbnail with a sexier avatar? Would virtual tits have brought in more votes?

Sort:  

If I understand right, I think @semipermeable is right. When a male is looking for female companionship (generalized) he tends to look for an appealing 'look' aka: hotness. He feels it reflects directly on their capabilities to have other men immediately see the quality of woman who is attracted to them. The way men want to appear to other men is tough/strong, maybe not physically, sometimes mentally (clever, highly intelligent, or wily will do).

When a woman looks for male companionship she tends to look more for the ability to provide, 'male hotness' is not unimportant, but it is gravy. The ability to provide may include things like appreciation of their opinions/qualities/intelligence, affirmation of their status, or physical safety. The way women want to look for other women is generally more capable of being popular, and capable of attracting and making lasting connections with a larger group (sometimes only consisting of males). Before the connections can be made one must be able to attract attention from those around which can be done most easily by being daring in appearance and speech.

My interpretation only!

I think I agree with everything you're saying as it applies to the real world. What's so fascinating (bewildering) to me is that it carries over to the virtual, and becomes even more extreme.

I mean, we all know those avatars don't look like their players. And here's an opportunity to get noticed for your creativity, by being anything.

But maybe what's happening is that people on Second Life who don't think they're attractive in reality see this as their chance to experience what "hot" people feel. They could free themselves from the constraints of social biology, but it's probably more satisfying to embrace those constraints, and then "win."

Agreed!


I'd totally go with the steempunk look!I'm loving the super cool mad scientist/mechanic toolbelt and the heavy-duty trench!

(the online comic this came from is linked from the picture)

I love the Steampunk aesthetic. That comic looks pretty cool, too!

It would be fun to have a Second Life Steem meetup location, but the interface really is crazy complex - more than Discord, for sure! Still, knowing we actually had some smart people to hang out with over there...

I have never plaid Second Life, but I am laughing loud just looking at the clothes and all those boobs!!!

Your real world adventures are fun enough!

I've entertained the idea of getting into Second Life for a minute, some years ago, but I never got the courage. I figured it was too late for someone who's not into 3d modeling (I'm learning now) to make any kind of revenue, and the idea of a massive multiplayer world has always scared me (that's why I tend to avoid MMORPG too - I'm prone to addiction).

At any rate, I love how your post has ended up being a social analysis. I think the virtual persona we create has something to say about us only as long as we give it meaning ourselves. I believe that a woman - a honest one - might be more indicated to explain if women in general tend to constrict their sexuality in their real life, only to unleash it whenever they're safely anonimous, or if Second Life tends to attract only one kind of individual and to bore the rest to death.

Virtual tits can bring votes but they are cheap. It's way better to get votes by content :D

I definitely wouldn't recommend Second Life as a revenue source. It's fine as a form of participatory fun and creative expression but if you haven't got a lot of time for fun, it'll cost you a fortune in hours.

Plus most of the conversation that goes on there is dismal. Maybe we could set up a Steemit area (for all I know there might be one already) and up the level of discourse.

I did check out discord a week ago - you hear a lot about how 'conversational' it is and how you can meet good contacts there but it seemed a little rambling and the conversations were very superficial.

I was also checking out steemit chat. The chat seems a little better and more focused based on the channel you are on but there seems to be much less traffic. I did achieve my goal though and was able to contact a specific steemit personality who I wanted to speak to about a specific topic not related to any post. As far as I know the 'Pimp your Post Thursday' is the only chat that almost guarantees there will be people online at the same time as you are.

Yeah - Discord for me is completely overwhelming. All those channels, and then rooms, and then... I'm not sure?

Steemit chat seems to work well as a sort of Steemit email. I've gotten messages there when people want to talk about something and not leave it forever engraved in the Blockchain. (Like sending @tecnosgirl my mailing address.) Biggest problem is I have to remember to check it!

The 'check it' part gets me too.

I do spend a lot of time in various hobbies and passions, but that's the point - when you go multiplayer you start spending your free time in one thing only.

I have to think about this a bit more... I assume this is what VR will serve for, once it is nicely developed - to serve one's desires. And as it showed so many times, people often don't know what they want, or sometimes they do but they don't know what are the consequences.("be careful what you wish for", or "dreaming") So, if one doesn't know what she/he wants, he/she goes for what he/she thinks others want. These female avatars want you to want them. I guess. But male avatars, also, if you think about it, it is just less "naked".
Indeed a very interesting subject, Sherlock .:)

I guess we're all trying to get attention - upvote and resteem! And men and women will have different strategies for it.

And I think you're right about people not knowing what they want. By the time we're through high school and maybe college, we've been following the paths laid down by others for so long it's almost impossible to think for ourselves.

I registered way back in the day, strolled around disorientated for an hour or so, and left because I really found b*gger all to do there :D

I get that. If we hadn't stumbled into a decent conversation going on at that island, we probably wouldn't have stayed very long either.

lol , hahahaha
fun anime

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59426.36
ETH 2654.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43