You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Second Life Psychology: Who Do We Choose To Be, When We Can Be Anything?

in #gaming7 years ago

I definitely wouldn't recommend Second Life as a revenue source. It's fine as a form of participatory fun and creative expression but if you haven't got a lot of time for fun, it'll cost you a fortune in hours.

Plus most of the conversation that goes on there is dismal. Maybe we could set up a Steemit area (for all I know there might be one already) and up the level of discourse.

Sort:  

I did check out discord a week ago - you hear a lot about how 'conversational' it is and how you can meet good contacts there but it seemed a little rambling and the conversations were very superficial.

I was also checking out steemit chat. The chat seems a little better and more focused based on the channel you are on but there seems to be much less traffic. I did achieve my goal though and was able to contact a specific steemit personality who I wanted to speak to about a specific topic not related to any post. As far as I know the 'Pimp your Post Thursday' is the only chat that almost guarantees there will be people online at the same time as you are.

Yeah - Discord for me is completely overwhelming. All those channels, and then rooms, and then... I'm not sure?

Steemit chat seems to work well as a sort of Steemit email. I've gotten messages there when people want to talk about something and not leave it forever engraved in the Blockchain. (Like sending @tecnosgirl my mailing address.) Biggest problem is I have to remember to check it!

The 'check it' part gets me too.

I do spend a lot of time in various hobbies and passions, but that's the point - when you go multiplayer you start spending your free time in one thing only.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60265.23
ETH 2324.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55