People Are Walking Into Traffic, Police Stations, and Churches... Have They Found God? Are They In Trouble With the Law? No Silly, They're Playing POKEMON GO!

in #gaming8 years ago (edited)

GPS Gaming The Way Of The Future Or Population Control?

Hello my fair Steemians (not sure of a name for us... do we have anything official yet?) it would appear Steem.it isnt the only digital advacement making headlines.

As the latest Pokemon game hit app stores in a few different locations yesterday morning fresh out of beta version (released later in the USA that day), people crowded together patiently counting the seconds waiting for their chance to download the latest poke'gamer craze. I myself have been waiting patiently up in Canada for a chance to hop on out in the real world, catch me a Charmader, and at long last fulfill a lifelong dream. That's right, its on the bucket list right after a threesome with twins and racing an avalanche down the side of a mountain on my snowboard (preferably winning but I'll take what I can get), that is how highly I value my Charmaders!

Back on track, so far not one person has died or been injured yet, but I use the word yet lightly. If we thought people walking into the streets without looking was in issue before, I can only imagine what this new style of GPS gaming will help bring to the table when it comes to pedestrians. Will people play this game while walking to work? While at work? In the office? Operating heavy equipment? How about driving in their cars? In malls and other crowded areas congesting traffic? My guess falls under the "not everyone will but for sure some will category."

"A Pokemaster's journey is dangerous: Australian police issue warning about Pokemon Go

Pokemon Go may be captivating Pokemon trainers around the world, but Australia's Northern Territory police have offered a reminder that a Pokemaster must always be vigilant."

https://www.google.ca/webhp?sourceid=chrome-instant&rlz=1C1CHZL_enCA683CA683&ion=1&espv=2&ie=UTF-8#q=pokemon+go+australia+police

Why I Don't Blame The Tool

Now I will never proceed to blame the tool for the acts of the user, I use the same analogy for religion and guns, people make their minds up all day long about varying topics from what to eat, to where to go, who to see, and every little variable in between. The decision may be made based on outside factors that help influence that said choice, but the decision ultimately rests with the individual. I see this as a personal choice, back in the day when I did stuff that was "cool" (besides playing Pokemon obviously I still do that SUPER COOL activity lol) I wouldn't skateboard into traffic back in the day i see no reason why someone would go catch a Pokemon in the middle of traffic provided they were staying aware of their surroundings. Which brings up another question are we able to both concentrate on the game while staying aware enough of our surroundings to maintain an adequate level of safety at the same time?

Only time will tell.

Steemit may be blazing a trail with social media but Pokemon happens to be blazing the trail with new aged mobile GPS gaming. Could Pokemon Go give birth to a whole new genre of games? We shall see.

Either way it appears the game has had a successful first launch, although it seems servers are down or did go down in the United States people are either flocking to get the game, or like myself waiting patiently with baited breath.

N.G.89

A few links with some extra info

  1. http://www.forbes.com/sites/erikkain/2016/07/07/the-5-biggest-problems-with-pokemon-go/#f589d602dc8f
  2. http://www.idigitaltimes.com/pokemon-go-beginners-guide-catching-battling-and-everything-you-need-know-544262
  3. http://www.usatoday.com/story/life/entertainthis/2016/07/07/why-people-wont-shut-up-pokemon-go/86795984/
Sort:  

I hope the Pokémon Center will actually be at a hospital so people who injure themselves catching wild pokémon will know how to get there.

Killing two birds with one stone! I like it! Lol

I keep having to relog, then close it out and reopen it if I haven't been on in a few hours. The anoying part is the walking requirements not regestering for egg incubation.

So many glitches lol, I'm still sitting here like............. come on..... I wanna experience the glitches tooooo! I'm just excited if its this popular guaranteed they're gonna build and expand on the platform, we'll see if the hype lasts. Do you think it'll keep your interest for a prolonged period of time?

I have seen this unfortunately I run ios at the moment, I saw you could get it yesterday on ios as well by changing location settings and making a new itunes account but i hear that little loophole is closed. Totally making a solid attempt to sit patiently lol.

I do appreciate that though man thank you.

Charming at first and finishing with a blast. If I didn't know any better I would say a "real" reporter actually wrote this. Great use of steemit. Now lets hope your Charmander can handle my Blastoise out in the poke-world!

Thanks man, I'm putting a slight amount of effort in, actually learning how to make headers today was pretty fun, took me a while to figure out you need a space in between the hashtags and the phrase you want in a bigger font. But I'm really enjoying writing and this platform is an awesome place to express ourselves!

As for the blatoise... You can fuck right off and leave my lil charmader alone! He's my baby like I'm gonna battle him... Talking like he's real... Talking like I even have the game lol. One day... soon.

Oh man!! Great read. This should be inlcuded with every purchase of Pokemon Go.
I wanna be, the very best. That no one ever was.... Im sure you know the rest!!
Cheers!

Oh god you're bringing back memories... I totally own a Nintendo DS that i play Pokemon black on like once a year for like a week straight. Make it about halfway quit and then start all over the next year, but man is that week ever fun lol. Thanks dude!

Be safe poke people

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58752.84
ETH 3153.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44