Would You Use Crypto For Esports? Do You Feel You Are Good Enough?

in #gaming6 years ago

Esports, they are awesome. But the level of entry to be a pro player is high. Very high. Like you need to be the best in the world kind of high. It is still new and thus only the best are going to make a living on it. There is only so much interest and money to go around. But that is changing fast. When the field opens up more there is a chance that smaller tournament with decent amounts of money can become a reality. And crypto can be one way this happens.

There are a few coins that are looking to get into esports and the idea of some of them is to make esports more accessible for the masses. Why should it only be the pros who lose money :p. You could put a coin on the line, go online and the winner gets the spoils.

One company that made a move to get this off the ground is Unikrn. I almost invested in them. They have acquired challengeme.gg a site that is used for matchmaking for Counter-Strike. And it plans to add more games like PUBG. This is a big deal to make gaming a job if you are good enough.

The question is do you feel confident in your skills to put coins on the line? And if so for what game? There is a couple I think I would try. For me I would take a hundred dollars worth of a coin and if I could not keep playing with that then I should not be playing at all. It is a form of gambling and if you are losing you need to walk away.

Here is the link for more info:
https://www.gamesindustry.biz/articles/2018-04-17-unikrn-sets-up-cryptocurrency-betting-platform-with-acquisition-of-challengeme-gg

game-1926907_1280.png

Sort:  

I would rather see crypto used for to exchange items between games/publishers.

Example:

I have a nice CS:GO skin on my knife. I no longer want to play CS:GO. I sell it for a crypto coin.
I than can cash out for FIAT on an exchange to pay my bills or I can log into WOW and buy a sword.

After thinking about this for a long time I feel this is the best use case for crypto in the gaming industry. The issue is getting existing publishers on board. So we would have to start with small publishers or start a crypto and pay some developers with the initial coins to be part of it.

Also if we support the growth of dLive and it can challenge Twitch gamers can make a living that way also.

Just my thoughts.

For sure, this is being done as well with a few coins. I'm with you in being able to sell my items. I was just curious if esports is something people want too.

esports with the huge influx of NBA team's investing in teams scares me of doing anything with crypto. Don't want to do anything that might attract oversight or might imply gambling / money laundering.

Earning while gaming, who won't prefer it, I support this, well VIEWERS ARE ALLOWED TO WAGER ON THEMSELVES AND OTHER GAMERS CREATING A ‘BOUNTY’ TO BE WON.
Who wont prefer such stuff, easy money while having fun.

I cant wait to get coins into fifa, imagine if every tournament won is actually being paid in crypto wholalaaa...or imagine you get crypto for every bounty you win in far cry, or every stage passed in COD! Revolution

I would be in for COD

This seems like a good use. I like the idea of bounty / stage passed crypto payouts.
Lots of potential.

Great article and very informative, thanks for sharing. I've smashed the upvote button for you!

If you are looking to get hold of some crypto without investing or mining, look into https://www.crowdholding.com. They are a co-creation platform were you get rewarded for giving feedback to crypto startups on the platform. You can earn Crowdholding's token as well as DeepOnion, ITT, Smartcash and many other ERC-20 tokens.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

This idea of putting capital down as potential winnings creates an interesting dynamic for gaming. You'll definately be playing with other players who are more deeply passionate about the game and not necessarily pros, but I guess to more you put down, the more likely you'll come across more confident players. I think it would definately incentivise proper play in team games as opposed to the throwing or more selfish play that occationally happens.
From personal experience, joining a service where you pay money outside of the actual game has always come with higher skilled players. In particular, using Faceit for CSGO. There are many like it. You aren't exactly winning anything but you can opt in to tournaments and the like.
I think as long as its not just pros playing the game and using this system, it could be successful. Though I question the choice of PUBG. Tryharding in PUBG is incredibly boring. I can't see how people can play like they do. I couldn't do it but that may just be me.

Great idea man earning while playing would be fun, earning for enjoyment is a good idea which no one would think of, 😂😂😂

I cannot be beaten in Halo 2

Nowadays i have seen many things are getting linked up with crypto and still government tries to ban that from many countries...i dont think that could stop the swelling crypto ....
If crypto now has enetered into the gaming also i think that is enough to prove that we will stand and be called as cryptonians...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60661.72
ETH 2395.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56