Gaming: The Awesomeness That Was BattletoadssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #gaming7 years ago

This is a game you need to play in your life if you are a gamer. Besides the fact that it has muscular toads who fight, it really was one of the most unique gaming experiences you will have, especially for Nintendo. You might think it is a beat'em up, or got stuck on the third level, you know the one, where you had to move your floating car up and down to avoid the walls that pop up. But if you kept playing you would see that every level is different. Completely. Each level had a different gameplay mechanic, a rarity (and yes that is an awesome pun), as games tended to change the levels and bad guys but never the game.

I will go through a few of them to show you. Yes, the first level is a regular, thought fun, beat-em up where your foot turned into a big boot when you finished a combo. When you beat that level you had to repel down a shaft where you can kick off the wall and fight birds. Then the third level, which did have some beat'em up, had the flying cars, a level that any gamer who played them probably remembers. Beyond that there is a level where you need to outrun a mouse to an explosive. A level where you need to jump from snake to snake before they enter a portal and a level where you need to climb a tower to fight the last leader. It really was an impressive range for one game and each level still felt like Battletoads.

It took me some time, but after a friend got me a copy of it for Nintendo (which still worked) I made it my mission to beat it. It was a glorious night when it happened, I should have taken a picture :p.

Where you one of the lucky people who played this game?

@whatageek

*my upvotes/rep disclaimer: https://steemit.com/steemit/@whatageek/my-steemit-account-where-i-stand-on-bots-self-votes-and-multiple-account

Sort:  

My favorite Nintendo Battletoads game was Battletoads/Double-Dragon!

I still have it! Some serious sweet games still on Nintendo that are crazy fun. Battletoads/Double-dragon though was the best out of the battletoads series though I can agree with that.

They really do age well

They should bring Battletoads back and Earthworm Jim.

I have been talking about getting an original NES system again for ages, So need one of these nights of gaming childhood flash back. now the mario theme song gonna be in my head all day. infact i might use that to make a cool song... hmmm. thanks for the inspiration and new motivational kick to get that old system

Oh let me know me when it is done, retro music is awesome.

I am not familiar with that game, no, I'm not a gamer. But I do still have my original Nintendo NES! Near mint because I didn't play it much except for a short phase. It was fun when one time my nephews came to visit me and they brought their Xbox. They sat there very calm playing their game, then I said you guys want to play Nintendo? They did and it was quite hilarious from my perspective.

They were no longer calm, they were on the edge of their seat, waving the controller as they jumped Mario over hazards and got killed over and over, hahaha. It was more challenging for them, even though the whole time they were mocking the graphics and sound.

Bought battletoads for my SNES, but didn't like it that much :/

I sadly figured out, that i just like those games, which i played in my childhood (some exceptions like Zelda ofc), because may of them seem to be so much fun.
Marios', Donkey Kongs', etc do still entertain me a lot :D
And Street Fighter ofc !

I heard that they are reselling brand new for $80. I have to pick one up lol

That game was so fun..and so broke.

There's actually a glitch that keeps you from progressing past a certain point if you have more than one player. Apart from that, the difficulty was insane.

Still, good times.

While I haven't personally played Battletoads I have heard many many good things of it!

Great post! Would you mind if I included it in today's "best of gaming"?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62468.23
ETH 2442.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61