5 Moments In Video Gaming That Almost Cost You A FriendsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #gaming7 years ago

Video games were a great way to spend time with your friends. But when you played against each other things could get competitive. Very competitive. And this lead to some plays that made you want to kick your friend out of your house. Or maybe you were the one who did them and had to ignore that icy stare beside you. It was also no better when you were on the same team and one of you keeps dropping the ball. Here are five moments that might have been the reason you stopped talking to a friend.

Stealing A Star In Mario Party:

It was part of the game and a great strategy but man did it suck when someone took your star. You worked hard for that and were only two turns away from winning the match. What makes it worse is the player who is stealing the star gets to choose who they are stealing the star from. So this leads to times when you have to decide what friend to screw over and friends being made that you didn't take the other persons. I always took the star from the person who had the most, it was business.

Getting Hit With A Lightening Bolt At The Worst Time In Mario Kart:

Nuts to the blue shell. It rarely was a problem, it only knocked you out for a bit and you could break to let the person in second pass you when it was coming. Yeah if you got hit with it before the finish line you might want to throw the controller but for a real tantrum, try getting hit with a lightening bolt before a jump. More specifically, the jump in Wario's Stadium. There is a jump, one you can't really mess up, the if you are hit with a lightening bolt you will have to do HALF the track again. Normally you fall off the track and get picked up and put back one. But because of the loop shape on this course you go back to the middle of the track. If you stop talking to your friend at this point, it is understandable.

Screen Peaking at Goldeneye 64:

Okay we have all done it. It is not even on purpose, you can see where the person is from the corner of your eye. Before you know it you were in the same room as them and get the kill. In the days before online gaming you would play against each other on the same screen. For first person shooters this meant splitting the screen in 2 or 4. It was an unspoken rule that you kept your eyes on your screen. But you never knew when your friend was peaking, watching your every move... waiting for the chance to use his golden gun.

Not Passing The Ball In NBA Jam When The Person Is On Fire:

I can't miss, give me the ball! Okay this is something I never experienced myself. If you are on fire in NBA Jam, you take the shot. Period. You have like a 95% chance of getting it in (yeah you can miss, it does happen) And you always shoot the three. Sure you could go for the fancy, super dunk, but you are wasting the extra point. But what you do not do, is take the ball and go for the shot if your partner is on fire. I don't care if your open or are trying to get it yourself, you let the man or woman shine.

Stealing A Life In Any Beat 'Em Up Without Permission Or Taking All The Continues When You Share Them:

Stop dying! Beat 'em ups were hard. Game like Final Fight and Streets of Rage. You have to clear wave after wave of bad guys with only so many lives or continues. When you played with a friend you had your own lives. But when one of you ran out, you could press the button to take the other players if they have another one left. It was fine if you told them to take it. But if you have a little life left and your "friend" takes your last backup life, expect some head shaking. And if you are playing a game where you share continues and one person keeps using them all then I understand if you need to find new friends.

Any moments in a game that almost cost you a friend? Add them in the comments.

@whatageek

*my upvotes/rep disclaimer: https://steemit.com/steemit/@whatageek/my-steemit-account-where-i-stand-on-bots-self-votes-and-multiple-account

Sort:  

When I got a Gamefly account and rented Fallout 4.... then Metal Gear Solid 5... then the Witcher 3... and then there was no one left in world who had seen me in half a year. Great post!

That could another post, games that cost you a job/relationship :p. Thanks :)

Anything open world, am I right?

I agree with you on NBA Jam and Stealing a life in a Beat 'Em Up! It still happens till this day in such games as Castle Crashers. It happened to me and my roommates a few days ago! I think in Mario Kart the red shell was the one that got people pissed because it was more personal. NBA jam and not passing the ball when of fire is just plan ol messed up. I think screen peaking will always and forever be an issue. Me, I alomst lost a friend because he thought he was good at Injustice and as drunk as I was, I broke his ego one battle after another! The more angry he got, the worst he got! Kinda funny, but I almost did lose a good friend that night! Good Post!

Yeah fighting games can get ugly. Especially with booze involved :p. Thanks for the read and the comment.

There are many games that we all enjoy playing. If we those games for a bit we get good at it. When we play against a friend or multiplayer it gets competitive. I know how it feels to lose to friends; but, I believe we only get better from our mistakes and loses. Whenever I play I enjoy the thrill of winning.

See that is the mature attitude, a lot of times you get the you suck rage quit attitude online :p.

Streets of rage on the megadrive, awesome...especially the sound track.

Yes! That game was so much fun. Hard too. I can't remember the music but I can picture it being awesome.

From what I remember it was techno and awesome!

OT: You may want to switch to 50% payout, sell the SBD and buy steem.
SBD are still 50% too high, so you help lowering it and at the same time increasing steem price for all.

That is the reason why I didn't switch to 100% steem as I intended 2 weeks ago.

Thanks for the heads up, I thought if you went 100% steem it just sold the SDB you would have got and bought steem naturally. But I could be wrong.

afaik it it does, but it goes after the SBD=1$ since theoretically that should always be the case and anyway it only makes sense that way ;)

First off, I am confused with this discussion! As intersting as it seems, can someone explain it in to me Barney style? I'm still new to this Steem game.

Cheers

Haha hilarious.

Playing anyone in melee is my first way to lose a friend none of my friends wanna play me lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64542.61
ETH 3460.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51