A Trip Down Gaming Memory Lane - Part Three

in #gaming7 years ago

Let's look at even more old games!

In case you missed the first two parts, you can check them out here:

https://steemit.com/gaming/@thedgt/a-photographic-trip-down-my-gaming-memory-lane-part-one

https://steemit.com/gaming/@thedgt/a-trip-down-gaming-memory-lane-part-two

Alright, let's see what else I was able to dig out from underneath the bed.

Man, this was a really fun game, but the controls always turned me off. I never did finish it. I really wish they'd make a modern version of this game with a little more depth and better controls.
IMGP9404.jpg
IMGP9405.jpg

I'm pretty sure that this was the first game I ever purchased digitally. Stardock use to have their own thing like Steam, not sure if they still do. The cool thing was that they sent you the game on a disc for no extra charge when you bought a digital copy.
IMGP9406.jpg

Oh man, I can't tell you how much I love this game and its sequel. I wish more game designers put as much love into their games as American McGee does. Love the artwork on the discs.
IMGP9407.jpg

I spent a ton of hours in this game simply creating characters. By far the best superhero game anyone has ever made. The community was amazing too.
IMGP9408.jpg
IMGP9409.jpg
IMGP9458.jpg
IMGP9459.jpg
IMGP9543.jpg

You even got a free comic book every month as a subscriber! These are the only ones I could find.
IMGP9644.jpg
IMGP9646.jpg
IMGP9647.jpg

Ah yes, the first No Man's Sky! To be honest, I think that this game and No Man's Sky both get a bad rap. They are both pretty impressive technical achievements and a blast to play if you can get past all the broken promises.
IMGP9413.jpg
IMGP9414.jpg
IMGP9507.jpg
IMGP9416.jpg
IMGP9417.jpg

The Longest Journey and its sequel were both pretty terrific. I own Dreamfall Chapters on Steam, but I've only made it about 2 hours in. I think I've just outgrown adventure games or something. I haven't played one in a really long time that I could get into.
IMGP9540.jpg
IMGP9541.jpg
IMGP9509.jpg
IMGP9511.jpg
IMGP9420.jpg

This may be one of the most criminally underrated MMOs ever. I really loved this game and played it for a really long time. It had a fantastic community and to this day is the only MMO where I actually enjoyed being in a guild and playing with others.
IMGP9514.jpg
IMGP9515.jpg
IMGP9424.jpg

Another highly underappreciated title from Lionhead Studios. RIP. I use to use this game to make music videos for songs I had written and recorded. Sadly, I lost all the videos I made.
IMGP9427.jpg
IMGP9428.jpg

I could never get into this game for some reason. Despite my love of Star Wars and RTS games, the pacing of this game just never sat right with me so I gave up trying to like it.
IMGP9429.jpg
IMGP9430.jpg
IMGP9431.jpg
IMGP9432.jpg
IMGP9433.jpg
IMGP9434.jpg

On the other hand, THIS Star Wars game is still one of the best ever made. Lightsaber combat has never been done better to this day.
IMGP9500.jpg
IMGP9501.jpg
IMGP9592.jpg

Now this is what is known as a hidden gem. One of the funniest games ever made and pretty rock solid game play as well.
IMGP9502.jpg
IMGP9503.jpg
IMGP9558.jpg
IMGP9561.jpg

I had to save the best game packaging of all time for last. Seriously, just look at how perfect it all is! One of my favorite games of all time as well.
IMGP9520.jpg
IMGP9522.jpg
IMGP9523.jpg
IMGP9525.jpg
IMGP9526.jpg
IMGP9528.jpg
IMGP9530.jpg
IMGP9531.jpg
IMGP9532.jpg
IMGP9534.jpg

Okay, I think that's enough for this post. I believe I've covered all the games, but I still have a ton more photos of old gaming magazines and some other related stuff.

Again, not sure anyone cares too much about these posts, but I've come this far, so I might as well post the rest when I get the chance!

Sort:  

Out of all those games, I've only played Max Payne 2.

Wow. really? Well out of all the ones in this post, I'd highly recommend Alice and the sequel Alice: Madness Returns. They're really twisted, dark versions of Alice in Wonderland and both are very solid platformers.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by TheDGT from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59484.75
ETH 2614.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41