A Trip Down Gaming Memory Lane - Part Two

in #gaming7 years ago

Let's look at some more old games!

In case you missed part one, you can find it here:

https://steemit.com/gaming/@thedgt/a-photographic-trip-down-my-gaming-memory-lane-part-one

Recap: Basically I got bored yesterday and decided to pull a couple boxes of old games and gaming related stuff out from under my bed. I hadn't gone through this stuff in a while and forgot what all was in there.

Anyway, let's continue our little nostalgia trip.

Let's see, what's first? Oh! Another once great series destroyed by EA. What a surprise.
IMGP9373.jpg
IMGP9594.jpg
IMGP9550.jpg
IMGP9552.jpg

The last Sims game I ever played. I was actually obsessed with the first one when it came out, but never really got into the sequels.
IMGP9374.jpg

Here we have the back of the Sims case with an ad for the hip, young urban version that I'm pretty sure no one bought.
IMGP9375.jpg

Pretty minimalist packaging here for a great game. Requirements to run this beast of a game: 400 MHz Pentium II, 64 MB RAM, 90 MB of hard disk space.
IMGP9376.jpg

At least the CD was pretty cool looking though.
IMGP9377.jpg

I never really got into this game for some reason. Pretty sure I never even came remotely close to finishing it. Nice packaging though. That CD artwork is on point.
IMGP9378.jpg
IMGP9379.jpg
IMGP9572.jpg
IMGP9574.jpg
IMGP9577.jpg
IMGP9469.jpg
IMGP9470.jpg

Now this was my jam for at least a year of my life. I think it came in one of those huge old school boxes, but I sadly lost it at some point.
IMGP9380.jpg
IMGP9381.jpg

Okay, they really stepped up the presentation for the next one though. I mean, this is some classy stuff. This is the kind of presentation I miss in PC games.
IMGP9382.jpg
IMGP9383.jpg
IMGP9384.jpg
IMGP9385.jpg
IMGP9386.jpg
IMGP9387.jpg

Another game I spent way too much time playing.
IMGP9388.jpg

This is a proper game manual.
IMGP9535.jpg

Including detailed biographies of actual dictators! Who says gaming can't be educational?
IMGP9537.jpg

So, back in my day, when you wanted to be a beta tester, you had to fill out a ridiculously long application and sign your life away and they sent you an actual beta disc in the mail. You then had to fill out actual paperwork feedback and send it back to them. I wonder if this thing is rare? Awesome game by the way.
IMGP9389.jpg

I remember fishing in this game. That's literally the only thing I remember about it other than being pissed that it wasn't a regular Final Fantasy game.
IMGP9392.jpg

If there was ever a game made that deserves a proper sequel, this is it. Seriously. If you've never played it, go buy it right now and thank me later.
IMGP9395.jpg
IMGP9396.jpg
IMGP9463.jpg

Metallica's black album? Nope, just Black & White. One of the best games ever made.
IMGP9397.jpg
IMGP9398.jpg
IMGP9478.jpg

And the sequel was even better.
IMGP9399.jpg
IMGP9400.jpg

Killer CD artwork.
IMGP9401.jpg

Another game I could never really get into for some reason.
IMGP9402.jpg
IMGP9403.jpg

Killer manual though. 150 pages of lore and beautiful artwork.
IMGP9579.jpg
IMGP9581.jpg
IMGP9583.jpg

The game that started the legendary franchise. The first one was absolutely nothing like what the game has evolved into. It was definitely one of those benchmark games when it came out, you needed a pretty hefty rig to run it.
IMGP9504.jpg
IMGP9506.jpg

Five disc install and it took up 4 GB of space on your hard drive, which was considered pretty massive at the time.
IMGP9412.jpg

Alright, I think that's probably enough for part two. I still have a ton of stuff to share. It's probably going to take me another 2 or 3 posts to share it all.

Not sure anyone even cares, but I figure I've already gone to the trouble of taking pics of everything, so I might as well share them in case anyone else finds it interesting.

We'll continue this nostalgia trip tomorrow!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59401.87
ETH 2615.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40