A Photographic Trip Down My Gaming Memory Lane - Part One

in #gaming7 years ago

Pull up a seat kids, and let me tell you about a time when you actually got a physical product when you bought a game.

I was bored today and decided to pull out my box of old PC games from under the bed and take a little nostalgia trip. I've been gaming on the PC for about 30 years now. I use to have a lot of even older games, but I sold a ton of them about 15 years ago when I needed some cash.

I still have a pretty swell collection of older PC games and all the cool stuff that use to come with them, so join me as we take a look at what I found as I pulled out a box I hadn't gone through in a very long time.

Warning: There's gonna be A LOT of pics, so they might take a bit to load depending on your internet speed.

We'll start with the oldest games I still have in my collection. The old point and click adventure games were my very favorite growing up and were heavily responsible for getting me into PC games.
IMGP9337.jpg

Oh, here's a classic. I remember you had to install this stupid thing called Steam in order to get this game to play. What were they thinking trying to force that on everyone?
IMGP9338.jpg

One of the weirdest, most twisted games I've ever played. Man, I miss the awesome artwork that use to be on CDs.
IMGP9339.jpg

I remember being blown away when I typed in my name and the game greeted me with a "Welcome, Lord David!". Apparently, they actually recorded someone saying a few hundred of the most common first names just so the game could say your name when you booted it up. Good stuff.
IMGP9340.jpg

I love the Gothic games and have spent hundreds of hours on them, but have never actually finished a single one.
IMGP9341.jpg

The original is still the best one.
IMGP9342.jpg

At little minimalist, but at least I didn't have to worry about installing them in the wrong order.
IMGP9343.jpg

I have no idea which PGA Tour game this actually is.
IMGP9344.jpg

This game was the gold standard for graphics, physics and AI when it came out. Actually, I don't know if any game since has had a better enemy AI than F.E.A.R.
IMGP9345.jpg

Pretty sure my friend got this for free with a graphics card he bought. He didn't want it so he gave it to me. It would be like two more years before I had a PC that could actually run it.
IMGP9346.jpg

I spent a ridiculous number of hours playing both of these games.
IMGP9347.jpg
IMGP9348.jpg
IMGP9349.jpg
IMGP9350.jpg

A very underappreciated series.
IMGP9351.jpg

Behold! The game that single-handedly dumbed down an entire genre and set it back a decade! Seriously, I hate this game so much for so many reasons.
IMGP9352.jpg

Love me some Neverwinter Nights. One and Two are still my favorite RPGs of all time.
IMGP9353.jpg

A once great franchise, brutally murdered by EA. RIP.
IMGP9354.jpg
IMGP9355.jpg

Some Blizzard classics.
IMGP9356.jpg

The greatest MMO ever made. I spent hundreds upon hundreds of hours in this game, mostly surveying for materials and becoming a virtual weapons mogul.
IMGP9357.jpg

So nice, I bought it twice. Man I miss this game so much.
IMGP9358.jpg

I had a lot of fun in this world too.
IMGP9359.jpg
IMGP9360.jpg

Only a 10 disc install!
IMGP9361.jpg

Expansion time!
IMGP9362.jpg

Wait, what's this? I had no clue this was in the box until today.
IMGP9499.jpg

Pretty sure it's not actual gold, but it's a real, seriously heavy, solid coin. Worth anything?
IMGP9364.jpg
IMGP9365.jpg

Awesome game map find number one of the day!
IMGP9366.jpg

Expansion number two!
IMGP9367.jpg
IMGP9368.jpg

And what's this? Another kick ass coin?!
IMGP9369.jpg
IMGP9370.jpg
IMGP9371.jpg

And another awesome map!
IMGP9372.jpg

Okay, things are starting to get interesting, but I took over 200 pics and I don't think I should put them all in one post or I might make someone's internet connection explode.

So, if anyone out there wants to see some more of what I found, just let me know. I've tons more pics of awesome game boxes, discs, game manuals with beautiful artwork, inserts, posters, and even some old gaming magazines with some great stuff in them. I really haven't even got to the best stuff yet.

If even one person wants to see the rest, I'll make another post tomorrow, so just let me know!

Sort:  

Great collection :)

Thanks! I've got quite a bit more. I'll post the rest later today. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59401.87
ETH 2615.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40