I'm Playing This Game For 365 Days Straight

in #gaming7 years ago (edited)

Five days after getting my badge, I thought that I could take a break from playing Ingress but I found it seriously hard to break my hacking streak. I just can't give it up yet!

sojourner5.png
image from fevgames

And now marks my 365th day of continuous playing/hacking within 24-hour period which I shared in my previous post.

Playing this game for a year has serious funny effects on me. For one, I sometimes imagine that the game is actually true and that some places around me are actual portals, or I am actually under a control field of Exotic Matter or XM and the world around me is not what it seems anymore.

And after a year of ingress playing me, here is how I look at things:

Scanner


ios-new-mobile-gadget-163096.jpeg
image from pixabay

I don't care if its Samsung or iPhone, Android or iOS, it is a scanner. Period.
It is what you use to access the game. Every ingress agent has one. It is your life. Without you, your scanner is useless and without your scanner you are useless.

Portals


portal.jpg
images from pixabay

These places look innocent but true agents know for sure that they are portals. Our scanners tell us so. Libraries, street markers, statues, parks, murals, train stations, churches, and other places with cultural and historical significance were chosen by Niantic and its players to be in-game portals. We hack, capture and link it to other portals to form a control field. Once captured, we defend it from opposing faction, the Enlightened.

Yeah, they are the same Pokestop and Gyms use by Pokemon Go players.

Glyph


glyph.jpg
image from pixabay

There are times that when I look up at the sky and see stars, I would point my finger and form glyphs. Glyphs are a language comparable to Anglo-Saxon and Norse runes, where characters stand alone as words rather than as letters, like in most modern languages on Earth. Glyphs are written on an eleven-dot matrix by connecting adjacent points with straight, unbroken lines.

And lastly,

Mind Units (MUs)


crowd.jpg
image from pixabay

Mind Units or MU are basically people, specially non-players under a control field. Humans who have no clue of the XM war going on around them. MU is the primary scoring metric of Ingress and my job as a Resistance agent is to put you under our control fields to save you from the dark influence of the Shapers.

So there, it seems that I'm addicted but I think I am not. For personal reasons, I chose to be a lone wolf playing this game. Sure, I respond to comms (in-game chat) and also part of some Hangout group chats but I never met any other player personally. I'm quite content with what I am doing considering that this is a team and social game.

Most probably, I'll skip the next mission day in Manila too.

Here's the proof of my current hacking streak. I'm still thinking when to stop it.


sojourner3.jpg


Don't miss my future posts! Follow Random Collective by @st3llar.


Sort:  

Upvoted and Resteemed by xx-votesplus, the dropAhead curation team! Want more earnings? Join @dropahead in Streemian https://streemian.com/profile/curationtrail/trailing/396, or delegate/donate some STEEM POWER to @dropahead!

Please upvote this comment! We will earn more STEEM POWER (SP) to give you more earnings!

Keep up the good work!


Most recent post: First 7 weeks of xx-votesplus: YOUR dropAhead Curation Team!

I played for a long time. It defiantly changes you, makes you move and get involved etc. Some people go to insane lengths to land grab. I drive 50km each way to work, you can imagine the areas I covered each day. :)

wow! Driving under 60 kp/h? I'm playing in very active area so the competition between the 2 factions is pretty intense.

all rural so 100km/h was allowed

oh! i didn't know that speed lock varies depending on areas. thanks.:)

its amazing! i will give it a try

You should join the Resistance.lol

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by lil.toughcookie from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60097.61
ETH 3373.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51