Overwatch: I was NOT supposed to Play this game and WHY!

in #gaming6 years ago (edited)

If we could recall, Blizzard, started making strategy games in the likes of the Warcraft series. What made them ever so popular was how 'Starcraft' which eventually became 'Starcraft: Broodwar' came into the limelight taking strategy games into the competitive zone.

What made Blizzard excel so much is their ability to create and hype the stories behind these games, making them so much more interesting to play with. Want to know what happened to your favorite character? Hop right in and witness it for yourself in the game rather than just reading all about it in real life.


FPS (WAS) not my THING!

As a Blizzard fanatic, well, sort of. The games that I have been exposed to in the past has been revolving around Blizzards products. Though I have been exposed to MMORPGs like Ragnarok, RF Online or MOBA games in the likes of Dota 2 and even strategy games way back with Broodwar and Warcraft and even C&C Red Alert, I have had the opportunity of playing FPS games as well, though only for a short while.

The fast paced mood of FPS games like the Quake series and Counter Strike never really stood out as something I would be playing immensely. Reason is that my reaction time is incredibly slow, my aiming is really bad, and most of the times, I just get dizzy playing the fast paced nature of FPS games. The last one usually is the one that makes me want to stop playing FPS games altogether. Till Overwatch came...

This is not a Game Review, this is how I bumped into Overwatch, a Game I should not have been playing.


Overwatch

Another one of Blizzard's continuous streak of pouring out really successful games is when they released Overwatch. Overwatch is a fast paced FPS game that mimics, if not, copied the concept from Team Fortress, a game produced by Valve that also had a huge following in the competitive scene. Only a multiplayer game, Overwatch is comprised of heroes wherein it, apart from their other games, makes it difficult to make individual story lines with, with its in game setting. However, that did not stop Blizzard from pouring out story lines in the sidelines that made these heroes and their different skills, appealing to the general Blizzard fans and FPS connoisseurs alike.


I disliked FPS so much, why Overwatch?

As I mentioned a couple of paragraphs back, FPS games are really not my thing and thought that it may never will be. But despite having been exposed to the many Blizzard games and being a fan of most of them, I never really got excited with the announcement, as well as the release of Overwatch.

If I recalled correctly, during its imminent announcement, it was a time where I was starting out a family, having my first born. I was just really limited to playing a bit of Dota 2, and a lot of Hearthstone on the mobile and maybe a few CS:GO games till I felt nauseated enough to quit.

2 games death match was my dizzying limit for CS:GO, it was that bad.

At that one time buy price, I felt that it was not worth it, not to me (Non-FPS loving person) nor to my early fatherhood schedules. But all my friends did, and all of my friends enjoyed it.

Christmas of 2016 was the time of its first intro into the holiday sales, discounting it to a mere 29.99 USD, I was still hesitant with the same reason as I had in the past

29.99 USD for a game I will be playing rarely? I think it was still a No for the New Dad on a budget.

But the peer pressure, oh the peer pressure was always there. One of my friends decided to buy it for me as a Christmas present, solely just to hook me into playing it. I tried, learning the ropes and all, and developed a certain enjoyment I recalled I had when I was younger, that is to play with amazing company.

The dizzying feeling was there early on, but having been used to the graphics from World of Warcraft, it made me adjust faster to the graphics. The cartooney graphics was home to me, and adjusting really made it easy, despite how fast the game goes, people jumping on you or what not.


The Break


But even if I have started to enjoy Overwatch, time got to me, mixing fatherhood with work and games made it hard. Having my wife on my computer for work made it alot harder as I the time I can use it in a day is very limited.

How does an hour sound? That is no way to let a man enjoy his PC games! /cry

But this was something definitely necessary because of our personal needs, so I had to sacrifice, much like what a MAN is supposed to do. Suck it up and never look back, even for a second. Back to Hearthstone I went (Mobile). And while 1 hour is generally not suitable for an enjoyment, I'd grab a sit&go game or 2 in Overwatch to make use of that 1 hour window. All's well that ends well.


And I'm Back Again!

Christmas of 2017 came! And since the holidays are here, my wife gets to enjoy 2 weeks of holiday rest. And that meant going out and about Christmas shopping and enjoying the holiday season. This is the time I let my wife enjoy the holiday that she deserved and made sure she was happy.

Happy Wife, Happy Life.

And happy as that can be, that made me happy too because I get to have more time on my PC. The holidays also meant that all my friends could get extended play times as well, which means that we can definitely enjoy each other's company in Overwatch games, almost every night.

Screenshot_20171227-223654.jpg

But what made it better, this time around, is that I also have the opportunity to play as well even if she has work to do. After having time adjustments at work, it made me work around hers and made me have ample time to enjoy Overwatch every now and then. My rest days fall on a good day where I could play and even stream all night.


Conclusion

This was how I got into the game. A game where I was not supposed to play in the first place. But despite it all, I have grown a loving for it because of the friends I play with. Not only that, how the game developer, Blizzard, made a huge impact on me when it created the Overwatch League - a competitive scene directly for Overwatch.

I can't aim!

Though I am not a competitive player in Overwatch, nor do I aspire to be one, I enjoy how and what the competition brings to the entire player population. It actually brings maturity to the competitive play game mode in Overwatch, thinking about winning and less trolling. Something I do very casually, 10 placement matches anyone?


So technically, this was my history. A history on how I got into playing Overwatch. Definitely not something I jumped right off the bat and loved it at first sight. No, definitely not. But it was a game I learned to love because of the company I have playing it, and how it was developed and updated with the game developers.

I will leave it at that for now. I should be able to create a game review for Overwatch soon. So stay tuned for that. Please continue to support me by hitting on that UPVOTE and RESTEEM buttons. Follow me if you haven't yet, and check out my streams when you get the chance. And maybe, just maybe.. you get to see amazing POTGs like this...

My streams will be to represent steemGC! A very awesome community built for SteemGamers and SteemGaming connoisseurs alike. And would like to try and my shot at starting off Overwatch streams in behalf of the group and hopefully even setup a growing Overwatch community within the bounds of SteemGC. So check out my streams when you get the chance and once you do, don't be a stranger. Holler at me, and I'm sure to give you a shout once you do!

See you on the next one guys!!

Much Love!

@shote.said


Source 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
All photos belong to their respective owners except for the 8th one. Sources cited are from where these photos came from. I own none of these except for the mentioned one.
Sort:  

Wow great post. Great game. Bliz is amazing. I posted something similar a few weeks back about Blizzard's ability to create engaging and immersive environments and characters.

The first game I ever played by Bliz was Rockin Roll Racing on SNES, and BlackThorne on SNES, if you have never, check them out.

Then I fell in love with Warcraft, and later Starcraft. Of Diablo 2 was a major part of my college years, and a part of why I flunked out the first time.

Then and hopefully this game will be the last, because like you, I have a family, and kiddos that need most of my time.

I sneak time to play at night after the kids are a sleep and while my wife reads, but its hard, and its always a struggle to strive for balance between family and my fun.

I totally agree with you. It really is difficult to balance family time and game time. As we've grown older, our time generally does not belong to us anymore. But every now and then,a good dose of a few games here or there can definitely take the stress away. If anything, gaming can become a bond that we parents can do with our kids. But maybe when they grow a bit older.

Thanks for having me. I will check out those games, I remember Bliz having game before even warcraft: orcs and humans, haven't checked those out really.

I was like you at first. When I first saw Overwatch's promotionals I didn't plan to play it. Even though I played some FPS like Halo or Call of Duty, Overwatch seemed very difficult for me because I am not a very skilled player on that genre.

I mostly play RPG or adventure games. But once I decided to give it a try I haven't stopped playing. I play on PC and I am silver on rank and around level 513.

I've played a lot of Blizzard's game like Lost Vikings, Diablo, Starcraft and Warcraft.

eddiespino1320.JPG

To reach that level, I think you might have like played every day for endless hours. Gratz to you. Im sitting silver, just completing placement matches here and there.. 2nd time for 2 seasons. I am at Level 142 currently with the games that I have been playing.

Glad to see other people having the same sentiments with FPS in general. I thought I was a loner :)

a very comprehensive and detailed post

Woow fantastis l like

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 68123.51
ETH 3488.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72