Small update: first steps into the world of Game Development

in #gaming6 years ago

Last week, a new academic year has started and since then my head has been all over the place, from meeting international students, to making video tutorials for the Google Earth Engine, thinking about making a Steem Exchange Program, Circuit bending and so on. I haven't researched any new topics for writing Steemit articles, but I surely have been busy. I will probably write about the other things in my head, but one of those is developing simulation games in Unity. This is a Game Engine that can be used for free and also developed games like Assassins Creed, Rust, Kerbal Space Program and many more.

ezgif.com-optimize.gif

I was thinking about a 2D survival game, such as 'Rimworld', 'Don't Starve' or 'One Hour One Life', but with an actual ecosystem and where your actions affect the balance of the atmosphere and the balance of the ecosystem. This combined with an explorable universe, how awesome would that be??

But that's of course me dreaming big. I have to start somewhere, and that somewhere is here with a flying brick! It is in no way supposed to be a finished game, but rather me playing with the engine's physics and the possibilities of programming in it. And I can proudly say I created this in about a day.

If some of you are interested in this as well, there are great tutorials out there for getting started. Brackeys was for me one of the most helpful channels on YouTube.

Thanks for stopping by, and have a nice day/evening/night/meal/shower/whatever!

Sort:  

I was thinking about a 2D survival game, such as 'Rimworld', 'Don't Starve' or 'One Hour One Life', but with an actual ecosystem and where your actions affect the balance of the atmosphere and the balance of the ecosystem. This combined with an explorable universe, how awesome would that be??

That would be pretty awesome in my opinion! Enjoy learning about game development, @samve. It will be cool to see if you will be able to make your dream game down the road :)

Thanks, If anything exciting happens I'll make sure to keep it updated here!

Hi @samve!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.470 which ranks you at #16143 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 726 contributions, your post is ranked at #179.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66372.71
ETH 3445.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63