Kingdom Come: Deliverance - First impressions

in #gaming6 years ago (edited)

Who was my Valentine yesterday? Myself (and my boyfriend). I purchased the Kingdom Come: Deliverance, which became the first game I ever bought. Now I sound like a brutal Scrooge, but most of my games have been purchased by my boyfriend, or I've won them in some competition. I had to buy a PS4 version because my laptop wouldn't run it, so now will start the fight who will play on PS.

IMG_20180214_183335.jpg

Why is Kingdom Come: Deliverance the first game I ever bought?

  • Because I'm Czech

Kingdom Come: Deliverance is a czech game by czech authors, it takes place in a medieval Czech land and holds historical facts. Well, there was nothing to think about. In short, I was really interested in how the authors dealt with the insertion of game elements into Czech history and what is the result. Well tell me yourself, wouldn't you be curious about the game that takes place in the history of your country?

  • Because I wanted to support a studio that was accused of racism and still kept up with historical facts

I didn't watch the development of the game or Vávra's Twitter, so I only learned about the racism accusation from my boyfriend. I have to admit that it has terribly offended me because this is ridiculous. It's also because I'm Czech, so I didn't like the idea of the presence of black people in medieval middle Europe. Why? Because they just don't belong there! I've already talked about it in post by @sebi99p, which deals with it. See the screenshot below.
I don't see myself as a racist, but when the game is based on history, it should stick to it and not obey someone who doesn't like it.

  • Because one of my lecturers at college was person who cooperated on the game

His name is Adam Sporka and he participated in the creation of adaptive music and even composed 1/6 of the musical content. He is a man who was quite different in Faculty of Electrical Engineering because, due to his artistic, musical focus, he wasn't such a typical boring programmer.
He taught the subject of Testing the User Interface. I liked it because it was perhaps the only relaxing subject for the whole study and the only subject I had an A from the exam. A couple of lucky people from class even got to usability testing of Kingdom Come: Deliverance during the final project (it was in 2016 so you could see that it was two years ago). I am not among them, so I can only envy them. I only saw Adam's presentation of adaptive music when I helped at school during the open day. You should have seen how the eyes of potential students brightened during a demonstration of the game.

It was such an introduction, and now I finally get to the first impressions of the game. I played it yesterday for about an hour, so it was only a tutorial, but some of the problems and insights have come up.

Kingdom Come_ Deliverance_20180214185935.jpg

First impressions

Graphics

I don't know how amazing graphics you've met, but if you played Witcher 3, Dragon Age Inquisition, etc., you'd catch your head with "OMG, what did I buy?" Graphics are not as awesome as in other games. The environment of the medieval village is nice and looks quite realistic, but when it comes to cutscenes, some scenes look artificial a lot. Perhaps it was an intention. I can't judge it. However, the Czechs still have a lot to learn.

Another disgrace is the animation of the facial expression. Your eyes will bleed at every cutscene with dialogue or people in it. The characters barely open their mouths, and their skin is still smooth and not wrinkled. But the main hero is still better than others. However, I must say that dress looks quite trustworthy and good, unlike the face.

Kingdom Come_ Deliverance_20180214190605.jpg

But don't be fooled, I'm not the person playing the game because of the graphics, so if the story is meaningful and I'm going to enjoy it, I don't care about graphics.

Dubbing

I was quite disappointed that there is no czech dubbing in the czech game, but I understand that english is more lucrative language. Fortunately, czech subtitles are available, which I hope will be at least as great as in Witcher 3.

Gameplay

Yesterday, I recorded a 15-minute gameplay video that includes a tutorial mainly because I didn't get farther. There you can see the graphics I was talking about earlier and a tutorial of a fist fight and a sword fight.

The fist fight is not much different from other games. The controls are pretty much the same (a strong and weak punch, a kick and cover), but the biggest change comes with sword fighting, which is more dependent on your controls. In most RPGs, you just click on the button and the individual sword moves are done, and that's precisely what Kingdom Come is not about. If you really want to fence and do a big attack, first press the trigger and then you have to indicate the sword movement by the joystick to choose the side, etc. You don't really fight in the tutorial, so I'm curious about it until a real fight. In my opinion, a couple of swear-words will fall, but in the end, I will get used to it. Warhorse studios have a plus from me because it came up with something new.

As far as the quests are concerned, a compass is available at the top like in Skyrim. The problem, however, occurs when the quest has more parts. These are marked with a crest with a letter. That's nice, but despite the fact that I don't wear glasses, I have a problem that I can't read which letter is displayed on the crest. Maybe we have only a small TV, but it's pretty bad because the first quest depends on the order of each subquest (I can't buy coal if I don't have the money which Kuneš owes me). Notwithstanding the fact that I had to go to the menu to find out which marker belongs to which part of the quest.

Kingdom Come_ Deliverance_20180214191312.jpg

Traders

The studio also came with a completely new concept of buying and selling stuff. Until now, we used to sell and buy, or bargain with one button. In Kingdom Come, there is still a shopping cart between these actions. Yes, you read the shopping cart correctly. It is like an e-shop. So when you decide to sell something, it isn't sold straight, but it goes to the shopping cart. This is how you can transfer all the items to it, and then you can sell/buy them or bargain.

Horse riding

In the final, I got to horse riding. During the tutorial, you're trying to ride away from enemies. Well, but when you miss the way you should go, you get to the stream with bushes, and you're stuck. So you'll be trying to get back, but that's not possible. Is it bug or intent? Who knows. Probably both. Riding into an unauthorized area should be solved in a different way than allowing you to go somewhere where is no escape and you must get killed for that.

So that's probably all observations of the game I took from my hourly game. When I come across something else, I'll let you know! Thank you for reading :)


logo+text.png





May the seed be with you! :D





Sort:  

The medieval context seems interesting, nice game! Thanks for the post

It seems like it can be a good game and I haven't heard much besides the start from friends, but it's on my list as a potential buy when I can.

We'll see if it's a good game. I'm just going to work so that it will take some time to finish it. The story is a bit of a cliché, but it's a different RPG with some new elements, so it's definitely worth a try.

This looks like a very nice game. Reminds me of Fable and Chivalry. I will check out later if they have the pc version too. OFC that is not racist wtf...

It has a PC version and it's a brand new game :)

I really want to love this game.
I just hope some later patches solve the bugs I have been seeing.

Also did you notice any slowdowns in more complex scenes like fights? Does it play at a stable frame rate in PS4?

Somehow I didn't really notice it, but I'm still in the tutorial. The game ran smoothly. The only thing that bothered me was long quests loading.

Nice post . thanks !

cool post, thanks! will check the game out

Thanks and you should! :)



Congratulations, this post was rewarded with a SteemGC Upvote!

Want to meet fellow Steemit gamers and earn upvotes yourself? Join the SteemGC Discord channel!
Or interested in competing in our first community CS:GO tournament!?

Nice, seems I will try that game too. The graphics is good as well as its storyline

It's a little bit different RPG so you definitely should try it :)

Fun day although again the trouble of thinking of households in terms of economy, @pipiczech please vote have me. Thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64403.69
ETH 3463.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50