Review of Habitica - the Habit RPGsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #gaming6 years ago (edited)

Habitica (https://habitica.com/) is a way to gamify your life. The idea is that you can level up by starting and maintaining habits that you want to develop. As you continue doing habits, you can "level up" and buy items to enhance your character or pet. You can use anything as a habit, from working out more to studying, but the reason why you can use anything is where the idea weakens...

habitMe.png
(this is me! sweet hat right?)

The game is purely on an honor system, where you can keep mashing the "I did it!" button and get gold and experience. This isn't totally a bad thing, it's a way to backfill habits you already started and it gets boring to just mash those buttons. Then you can use the app as intended, rewarding yourself by leveling up when you accomplish doing habits.

habit3.PNG
(rewards for doing habits)

I know that I like the idea of "getting experience" while "grinding" (doing chores) in real life. But ultimately, having a silly but heavily armored pixel character isn't reward enough for me to get into the habit of playing Habitica and leveling up there.

habit5.PNG
(my actual habits... two guesses on whether I actually work out...)

I do think there are interesting ways to enhance the Habitica experience, but they would take significant effort to achieve. But I can dream, so here are my ideas...

habit4.PNG
(if I complete enough habits, I can buy this kind of swag, but I'm not so clear on how I swing those axes)

Amazon echo integration. Who wants to sign in and click buttons just to say "I did the dishes!"? It'd be cooler and smoother to say "Alexa! Tell habitica I did the dishes!" Then that's it, you got the experience and gold! I think this is less abusable, saying something out loud 50 times would get old fast.

Steemit integration. This one is a lot more fun. Get steem for improving yourself! But this would need more accountability; maybe snap a quick picture as proof to limit abuses of mashing the "I did it!" button and even to limit to habits that are more meaningful to you.

I think the idea of Habitica is cute, but the rewards as they are now aren't, to me, worth the overhead of checking into the app each day. But if it were to integrate with steem as a rewards system... That could alter Habitica for the better - maybe even Steemit itself!

(Habitica is an open source project, you can see the code at https://github.com/HabitRPG/habitica )

Thank you for reading!

Sort:  

Wow! @motordrive habitica is quite interesting as you have clearly stated out its objectives, from the way you have outlined it, it looks interesting and i will want to try it.

Thank you for this post, i hope to continue seeing more of this.

Cheers!

You got a 5.25% upvote from @dailyupvotes courtesy of @motordrive!

Please upvote this comment to support the service.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by motordrive from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Greetings! I am a minnow exclusive bot that gives a 4X upvote! I recommend this amazing guide on how to be a steemit rockstar! I was made by @EarthNation to make Steemit easier and more rewarding for minnows.

Requested by @motordrive

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71095.13
ETH 3686.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76