When did you stop playing Call of Duty games?

in #gaming5 years ago

activ.jpg

I've been thinking lately, Call of Duty franchise used to be fun 12 titles ago. Call of Duty 1 and 2 were so much fun to play in multiplayer and had interesting campaigns. After Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare I guess we all realized that Activision started to farm us after that.

They started to release one game per year since 2005. up to a total of 16 Call of Duty games. 16! Activision surely must know that they are farming it and we all see it, unfortunately Call of Duty franchise is rooted deep into mainstream media with hordes of followers who keep on buying and playing those games.

When will those people realize they are being farmed, they are literally farm animals for them that keep on producing annually.

They actually don't give a fuck anymore, they started to make remakes now. They had a game called Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare, in one month they are releasing Call of Duty: Modern Warfare. It would be kind of bad to name the game Call of Duty 16: Modern Warfare. It just proves they don't give a damn anymore, what's wrong with the people buying those game I guess I will never understand.

Activision as a company is clearly focused on their profits, they acquired Blizzard and ruined them, Blizzard hasn't made any good game since Starcraft 2, I would hardly say that Diablo 3 was a success, Hearthstone is a mobile game, Overwatch is a multiplayer shooter. All those recent games are designed completely to be money making machines. Blizzard is making remakes now too, World of Warcraft Classic and Warcraft 3 Reforged. Where did all the creativity Blizzard was known for go?

Of course we shouldn't be surprised, big gaming publishing companies are focused on profits, it is just how things are in corporate world. But 16 Call of Duty games, bought Blizzard that lost their mojo, remakes, loot boxes, nothing revolutionary happened in a long long time. Activision in my eyes is a company where all good things go to die.

But the main topic today is Call of Duty franchise that can't be stopped by anything. I only look at the trailers, see a couple of reviews, do a facepalm, repeat the process one time annually. Do you feel the same, when did you stop caring about that franchise, game number 5, game number 10 or game number 15?

Sort:  

Since Battlefield Bad Companie

Different franchise :) I guess it is easy to get confused, there are so many titles that look and play the same.

The big names rely in inertia, not innovation. EA, Activision, Microsoft, etc. are all stagnant corporate behemoths relying on routine to make money. A friend has CoD WW2, and the absurdity of that game really hits home historically when you see the compromises made to make footslogging warfare into an actuon-packed multiplayer game. I think the Halo franchise has also suffered by trying to become CoD iN SPAAAACE and becoming a Microsoft in-house property. The FPS market is oversaturated, too, which doesn't help.

Yeah, innovation is far behind on to do list for those big companies. Halo is there already, also Gears of War definitely shows the signs of early call of dutyism. You can rarely see something innovative and exciting while playing those games. Lately I mostly play Kickstarter and under the radar games.

I'd like to see someone revive Blacklight: Retribution or make a sequel. Portal & Portal 2 were milestone games, of course, and they grew out of a school project. Limbo a fun and weird. Indie games are the future, too. I enjoyed Shadows of Adam, a Kickstarter-funded RPG.

I have moved back to tabletop gaming more and more of late. D&D, Kill Team, related model-building, various card games, and the like appeal to me more than these overhyped AAA titles.

CoD 4 was great to play and one of the best. MW2 I still loved and had a heap of people to play with as well. Black Ops 1 was still good, because they brought back zombies and I found that better than multiplayer for any CoD game, especially with the variety of weapons and powerups etc to help you go into further rounds. That and BOPS I stayed up for the midnight release and played online with my cousin (my best friend).

Anything else after it just plain failed. So I don't play shooters most times now.

That is where I drew the line also. The thing is they keep on making the same game over and over again. That is how they capture young generations and keep on making the same game.

The only COD game I actually ever enjoyed was Black Ops 1, which seemed to be the black sheep of the COD franchise. Every other one has been like playing with a homeless mans dick while he stabs you with a shiv. The beta they released for the newest Modern Warfare game though was actually pretty decent. It played very smoothly and I didn't flat out hate it, so maybe that one will change my mind when it drops. Who knows.

First Call of Duty was the shit back in the day. I used to play a lot of multiplayer shooters back then, later on it got stale for me. Don't let the new Modern Warfare grab you, you must resist :)

Nah, I'm probably gonna give it a chance. I need a break from all the god damn stale ass battle royale games. I enjoy them and all, but my god, I haven't been able to play a competitive shooter for the past 3-4 years that wasn't battle royale. Shit is making my penis so flaccid and sad, man.

I try to avoid energy draining games, I only play Heroes of the Storm that is energy draining, less and less though.. I actually never played any one of those Battle Royale games. Pubg never pulled me in, Apex Legends nah, Fortnite hell no!

Enjoyed modern warfare 1 and 2 a lot. Last CoD I played was Black Ops 1 for reasons you've already mentioned. I am not exactly hyped but definitely interested in the new Modern Warfare. The new modes look promising. But I fear that they will fuck it up with some loot box / season pass / DLC shit :/

Posted using Partiko Android

Not for me either. Well, I said that 10 games ago :)

Activision-Blizzard has never given a fuck. The best CoD games were made by developers Infinity Ward. A lot of the good of Infinity Ward became Respawn Entertainment (Titanfall/Apex Legends). I suggest following them because their next game looks like it actually goes back to that CoD feel by being part of the Medal of Honor series in VR, below video was just released today

They absolutely suck now that is obvious, when Vivendi and Activision merged in 2008, that was it for Blizzard. Almost forgot about Medal of Honor, those games were pretty decent back in the day. But I got to say, WW2 games were done and redone so many times that I can't say that I'm too excited to play them.

WW2 games are stale, but VR part of it all was the selling point for me, I had just found out today it was Respawn doing it so funny running into this post, always am down for a good shitting on Activision lol. They somehow make EA and Sony look like decent folk.

I can't say much about VR, I never tried it. It wouldn't work with style of games I normally play like RPGs and strategy games. But it does look interesting definitely. Everyone hates on EA, but Activision somehow always slips through even though they are absolutely the worst lately.

I can't say much about VR, I never tried it. It wouldn't work with style of games I normally play like RPGs and strategy games.

:o

I have found that there is not a game type I don't enjoy more in VR, I suggest trying out the latest headsets, lots of great things going on in the latest systems (Quest, Vive, and Rift specifically). Honestly if you have not tried VR at all, find a GearVR near you on like Craigslist or Offerup for like 10 or 20 bucks and be blown away by stuff that is even on that system like Tactera for strategy or Augmented Empire for RPG .

It has been years since I have played a Call of Duty. I think the last one that I bought was for my old PS3 if that says anything.

I kind of feel like the whole industry (or a lot of it, at least) has gotten pretty scammy over the last five or ten years and I have been less willing to spend money on supporting it. I used to buy games all the time and now, I hardly ever play anything. I think the last one I bought was Red Dead Redemption 2 and I have replayed The Witcher 3 since then but v'e almost completely given up on the hobby because I hate feeling ripped off. It's sad really. I used to love gaming.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Hi @moon32walker!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.395 which ranks you at #692 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 107 contributions, your post is ranked at #91.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • Try to show your post to more followers, for example via networking on our discord!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63057.34
ETH 2546.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64