Gaming Retrospective - Warhammer 40,000: Rites of War

in #gaming7 years ago



Rites of War is a turn based strategy game from 1999 developed by DreamForge. As one of the older Warhammer40k games this one focused on only one playable race in the campaign mode, fan favorite, or in my case the worst faction in Warhammer40k universe the Eldar. I hate those skinny, stealthy, clean, fast, hit and run space elves, I always liked to play with brutal WH40k races like chaos and orks. Every modern game features Eldar, so my hatred for them is even deeper nowadays, but enough about my personal feelings, lets talk about Rites of War. Set in brutal 40k millennium the Eldar faction from craftworld Iyanden is trying to fend of Tyranid invasion from a Maiden World of Davnos.




Good thing once you beat the story campaign you can jump into skirmish battles where you can play as Imperium and Tyranids. Gameplay is full on turn based on a hexagonal grid and the outcomes of battles depend on your good or bad use of tactics. Every unit has specific stats that work great against certain unit types, but there is a counter to every unit, so if your forces are not balanced with defenses against any type of attack you will have a tough time playing this game. There is a nice variety of units available for use, you can see almost every Eldar unit in this game, from aspect warriors to skimmers and heavy tanks. Rites of War is reminiscent to more recent turn based strategy game Sanctus Reach I reviewed here couple of months ago, any WH40k fan should check this game out.




#gaming

Sort:  

Man, I never realized how many Warhammer games are out there. I'm glad you're posting these retrospectives on older stuff, so I can at least be aware of it.

It's weird how I never hear about this series really anywhere else but here considering it must have a large fan base and has a large amount of games in the series.

Cult classic is also a game from 1998 I still need to write a retrospective about, WH40k: Chaos Gate from 1998. I played a demo back then when I wasn't a huge fan of WH40k. Later I became one and every older WH40k game suddenly became very interesting to me. Everything about that universe is awesome!

A good game, the old truth, but tested and interesting with its galactic themes. Thank you @moon32walker

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67557.12
ETH 3500.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70