Project DEIOS on Kickstarter (My Thoughts)

in #gaming5 years ago

I don't know if I've ever really talked about it, but one of the tools that I use for my games is Dungeonfog (occasionally stylized as DGNFOG), and it's become my default map-making tool for most of the battle-map scale stuff that I do.

However, while I like Dungeonfog's interface and functionality it doesn't really allow for region-scale maps or the like without basically doing everything yourself, at which point it becomes easier to use something like Wonderdraft that has a single focus (namely region maps drawn by hand, with the coloring and whatnot done automatically), versus trying to force it into Dungeonfog. Note: Dungeonfog has added world map tokens, but I haven't tried them out. I still prefer Wonderdraft's interface for such things.

Project DEIOS aims to change that. It's an extension to the existing Dungeonfog system, which promises to offer more levels of interactivity and freedom.

Now, it's a Kickstarter, so I'm going to add the usual reminder that you're paying for something to potentially happen, not something to happen for sure. Dungeonfog has a track record that seems pretty solid, though I haven't exactly gone in and done background checks. I've got a commercial license for Dungeonfog, and I'm backing at the lifetime commercial license tier (assuming I don't have any financial crises) for Project DEIOS. I've had some email contact with Till over at Dungeonfog (just to inquire about the commercial license; I don't believe he would remember who I am), but other than that I'm entirely unaffiliated with them.

For me, this promises to be the Holy Grail of mapmaking software, especially if the stretch goal for starmaps and solar systems pans out. I would love to have something like that to boost development on The Legacy of Eight.

I'm particularly intrigued by the fractal nature of what they're showing in the preview, the ability to scroll all the way in to a battle-map and zoom all the way out to the whole world (and, potentially, beyond) and how that might integrate with World Anvil. It's perfect for a setting like The Legacy of Eight.

Because I've been a little bit radio-silent recently, I wanted to quickly show off something I made (with Dungeonfog, not entirely coincidentally) for an upcoming Legacy of Eight thing. It's not necessarily finished. I'm not happy with the elevator on the right, which needs some work to show off what it really is, but the rest is more or less where I want it to be, perhaps with a little tweaking in store.

Lo8Bunker.png

Feel free to use it, though be forewarned that the art assets don't belong to me and you can't cut-and-paste them. Using the map as a whole, even in a commercial sense, should be fine.

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

It is always fascinating to see into the world of tabletop and all the different elements that come together to create an amazing player experience. I hope it works out and they create amazing software without having to use multiple products to try and create an end result.

That is an interesting layout you have created. Reminds me a little bit of something like satellite-reign where I’d try and control a group to get to that desk for that gun.

I would agree that elevator is quite odd. I was not quite sure what it was just by looking at it.

I hope you have endless fun creating floors and map layouts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62928.79
ETH 2465.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55