Dead Cells (Early Access Review & Playthrough)

in #gaming7 years ago (edited)

So I recently played a pretty good game that goes by the name Dead Cells. It's a roguelike action-platformer and it kinda reminds me of Castlevania. For those unfamiliar with roguelike games, here's the definition in Wikipedia:-

A subgenre of role-playing video games that are characterized by a dungeon crawl through procedurally generated game levels, turn-based gameplay, tile-based graphics, and permanent death of the player-character.

No single playthrough is ever the same with its procedurally generated levels and random item drops / powerups / item modifiers. Dead Cells is definitely a fun game with lots of replayability - which is surprisingly good for an early access game. Alpha or beta stage, I'm not so sure. But it feels quite complete! I really have nothing negative to say about this little gem here.

The main character is ninja-like: you really have to check out the fluid player controls and feedback. One thing I like to do in this game is to be in motion all the time, going for quick destruction while rolling around to avoid attacks. So I tend to stay away from using heavy weaponry and will usually opt for the lighter stuff. A ninja who doesn't strike first isn't a ninja, in my opinion. To add to the character's badassery, we also have the classic double jump. It's truly a joy navigating around the stages, slaying pixelated monsters like a boss. Well, at least, until something bad happens, like good ol' floorspikes and careless mistakes!


You should always save your second double-jump in case of situations like this.

A game-over will put your character back into the very beginning of the grind. The only thing that stays are the weapons you've unlocked and some of the gold you've accumulated throughout your previous runs. Your character skills and stats will be reset. Every playthrough is always a different experience and you have choose your cards wisely.

Bought this for about $7.99 on Steam. But it could be at $16.99 too, depending on your region. Still good for a lite-version of Dark Souls, if you ask me. In any case, support indie game developers! Here's my 20-minute playthrough with a keyboard. Warning: contains fantasy gore and violence.

Sort:  

I've played this game, buddy of mine used to have it. I thought it was great really. Reminded me of several different games like Castlevania and Metrod for example. Good post and good tagging. Kind of annoying when someone puts the wrong tag on their post. Yours is perfect though, I thought. Upvoted and following!!!

Good pet peeve though, one consideration before voting is to check for tags too..

role of ninja character is very impressive... Good Game

I am an FPS lover but yunk my untinted ass if this does not give me castlevania kinda nostalgia. Nice find will probably try it out.

I can't find a single fps that looks interesting since the recent deus ex. Still waiting for half life 3..

You will remain waiting for HL3 LOL

Steem is actually HL3.
Hinst: 3, Steem's logo, and the Steam platform..

funny name for a game
when I saw this my first thoughts were .. is your post about what we rub off our skin after a dip in a hot bath or hot spring :D
then I clicked and saw its actually about a game lol

close enough, if one plays the game for 10 hours straight..

We can crowdfund it with steem.

i love games, will check it but hard to compare to dark souls haha.

this fuckin game i never finished.. too hard

funnily, this is the only type of game i play recently.. dark souls type. yeah, never finished any of them lol..

This game is fucking fantastic. Wonderful art, tight controls, non-linear progression, and an element of randomness that makes it all the more enjoyable. Even with the limited content in its current state, there is enough to keep you seated for hours. There are certainly some tweak to be made and the devs appear quite responsive to the community. Great project. New content coming at the end of the month. I don't play games much nowadays as most of my time is spent programming but I'm glad I gave this one a chance.

Haha yeah it's a great casual game with the option of going hardcore. I wish they've more settings for added difficulty (damage).

I hope so. We can expecting difficulty changes soon as they've mentioned the fact that, after so many runs, gold becomes irrelevant and an easy run becomes a matter of the right items appearing in shops rather than costs.

I had not heard of this game until I discovered it when I went to PAX East this year. I am a HUGE fan of Rogue Legacy so when I laid eyes upon this game I was hooked and excited to play the demo. I had a wonderful experience in the few moments I got to play and would not have stepped away from the controls if I did not have friends waiting on me. I will definitely be buying this game.

Rogue legacy isn't as smooth in its control though. Oh well maybe i just like the ninja aspect of dead cells! Enjoy it :D

Looks solid for $7.99, not a lot for a game these days...

Since I joined Steemit I just can't find time to play some games @kevinwong!
What's the yunk! Check me out if you feel kinda hungry! Some caviar waiting for you!
Cheers
@progressivechef

Steemit is one of the best games out there :P

Ah well you are absolutely YUNK here! Btw Yunk you very much for checking my posts earlier! I really yunk it!
Cheers

@kevinwong ..Nice review about this game , with the price , animation and characters , i feel this is good value for money , thanks for your insights on this.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57912.75
ETH 3070.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33