Throwback #1 / STREAMING ON TWITCH

in #gaming6 years ago

I have always been thinking that it would be so nice to live by and get paid to do what you love. I have played video games since I was a little kid and I've done it almost every day. So in the start of 2015 I thought I would like to try out streaming. Play games, interact with people and get some money for it.

"Do what you love, and you'll never work another day in your life."

Since there aren't many active girl streamers here in Estonia, I think it went well. My viewers supported me enough to get myself a proper gaming chair, because they felt sorry that I sat on a wooden kitchen chair all the time. I felt good about what I did. Only one month into streaming I was featured in Estonian women's newsletter as a "mother who earns money with video games." Even the local radio mentioned stuff about me so the future seemed bright.

WHY DID I QUIT?


I streamed for only 2-3 months maybe when I had to go on a little break. It was the time when I was living in Finland, but often had to visit Estonia without my PC. This was also a good time to think about how much commitment and time constant streaming needs. For example: to get a partnership from Twitch you had to stream at least 3 times a week and each stream had to be a few hours long. The longer or the often you stream, the more there is a possibility to earn or gain followers, of course. I had to face the truth that family-time was more important than streaming.

I still didn't want to give up though. When I moved back to Estonia and my daughter went to kindergarten in 2016, I tried one more time to get started with streaming. Eventually, I had to go to work and face the lack of time again.

AM I SAD ABOUT IT?


A little bit, sure. The thought of trying streaming again still pops into my head every now and then. Like "Maybe I can manage to find some time to do it?" I mean since I find some time to play games anyway, I could as well as turn on the webcam and stream, right?

But no. I have made my peace with the fact that it would burn me out again eventually. I could pull off a few streams, but playing games while interacting with chat can be considered as a job. If I would have to quit my full-time job, then maybe, but after long days and after putting the kid to sleep I just want to relax and enjoy games by myself or with friends.

THROWBACK VIDEO


Luckily for me, there is only one cringy video of me pulling a butterfly knife from a case, still up on my Twitch profile. Click here or on the picture to go and see the video.

10931578_408090809344354_2189882962187695966_o.jpg

THROWBACK PICTURES


11059870_428200394000062_2591600453837150440_n.png

1507737_417028311783937_4579664539132699584_n.jpg

stream1.png

stream0.png

ON A BRIGHTER NOTE


Blogging is also one of my hobbies and it takes a little bit less time than streaming, so nothing is broken. I still have a chance to do what I love and maybe in the future get paid for it.

My dream can still come true and I hope Steemit will give me the opportunity. :)


kassixoss2.png

Sort:  

That’s great! My son asked me yesterday if he could be a gamer For a living when he is older..😊 anyway.. i hope you will be gaming and blogging in the future! Nothing is impossible if you believe you can...💪🏼

I'll never quit gaming, that's for sure. Just stopped doing it in front of the camera for now. :D
And I hope you support your son's dream. It may not turn out, but on the other hand it may exactly turn out real good. If he plays a lot and practices he can even get signed on a team and so on. Gamers really earn a lot of money. A lot more than the average salary is. :)

He is only 5 so he can think about it for a while..😉 but off course i will support him if he still wants do do it... the best thing is doing something you love for a living!

Yeah, 5 is too young I guess. Most boys get into gaming more seriously around age 12 I've noticed. But any practice before that is good. Just not too much. :D A kid still has to go outside a lot as well and learn socializing in the real life as well. :D

Good luck with your dreams @kassixo!

Thanks! :)

Hey glad you are here - I actually hope you consider at least making some gaming videos if not actually getting back into live streaming. Check out @d-tube and consider posting some exclusive videos there - to be honest I think you would be a breath of fresh air compared to a lot of the gaming content I see there. The @d-tube account also often gives out healthy upvotes to good quality d-tube exclusive videos.

Good luck here!

Much love - Carl

That's a nice idea and I guess there aren't many gaming girls on dTube yet? I haven't been on dTube much so I don't know. Unfortunately I think my Enligsh isn't good enough to make that kind of videos and I'm not a good commentator in English. Writing is one thing, because I can think about the sentence I'm typing, but speaking is a little harder. :D
But I can promise you that there is at least one gaming video coming out from me. Some day. :D

Thanks!

Actually, there's DLive also to try. IDK :)

Yeah, I know, but that's the same as streaming which I don't unfortunately have time for. T_T
Just keep supporting my blog here haha. :D

Well, you got further than I did. I streamed for maybe 10 minutes and had the loftiest ambitions for the project. It was named GraceGospelGaming. Yes, I'm a religious dude and I think I would have been able to deal with the trolls but maybe now we'll never know like how many licks it takes to get to the center of Tootsie Pop.

By the way, thanks for sharing Dragon Ball Steem in post promotion. It didn't quite catch on but for the follows I had given the expectation. It will be finished (eventually). I have like maybe 100 or so or DBZ/DBGT characters to add to the Python Dictionary Values approximately.

I thought over 9000 was a good stopping point though. That or I'm just plain lazy. Probably not though considering I did all that for a whopping 0.372 SBD, and 0.135 STEEM POWER.

I take satisfaction in what I do because maybe there's a handful that enjoy it. Likewise, maybe a handful more that loved your stream but we both know that life happens. Still, in my eyes, some of that most value things we do are not the ones that get paid the most or adorned the most popularity. Popularity, in and of itself, is overrated not unlike the majority of posts you'll find in Trending on here. Just one guys opinion who can't sleep at the moment. Hope you found this comment both and valuable.

Thanks for such a thoughtful comments. Of course it's valuable! :)

I don't know much about Dragon Balls, but I think your post was a great idea. Maybe you can do that again from time to time to give out shoutouts to different persons. Also you can make the posts a little shorter. Maybe feature about 10 persons a time. This could be like a series of posts. :) Eventually, I hope you'll get enough profit of it. ;)

And hey, you needed help with posting that post again (to get the image, right?). I hope you have managed to get your post images to show on discord from that on and not experienced that mistake again. :)

Yeah, I got banned from there yesterday guess it won't be much of a problem anymore.

¯_(ツ)_/¯

It's a long story and I'll be sharing about it today. I'll still be promoting on PAL.

Thanks for the advice. You're right about that. I was putting way too much for one post. Maybe, it should have been "Dragon Ball Steem Abridged". < Esoteric reference

Actually, because of your recommendation, that's what it's gonna be. :)

Thats what I recommend everyone. If post is getting a bit too long (the scroll bar on the right is getting smaller and smaller), consider making the post as a series. You can do 2 episodes, 3 or more. You can divide each topic in the post into new post.
And you can always link to the other episodes below or in that post like "To check out first episode, click here" etc. :)

This will give you more content from one idea. :)

This is sooo cool! I have read in your intro that you played video games but didn't know you are famous! :D It's okay if you don't stream anymore coz we got steem! It seems that Steemit is more flexible than Twitch and you can work on your post any time you want. I wish you the best! :)

Estonia is a pretty small country. I mean, I'm not famous, but in some things, I am known, I guess. :D
Steemit is the next thing to conquer. ;D

That's a pretty big achievement to be known in a country, even if it's small.
Yeah, Steem on! :)

Thank you @kassixo for making a transfer to me for an upvote of 1.03% on this post! Half of your bid goes to @budgets which funds growth projects for Steem like our top 25 posts on Steem! The other half helps holders of Steem power earn about 60% APR on a delegation to me! For help, will you please visit https://jerrybanfield.com/contact/ because I check my discord server daily? To learn more about Steem, will you please use http://steem.guide/ because this URL forwards to my most recently updated complete Steem tutorial?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87