Questions to the gamers out there

in #gaming7 years ago

If you haven't noticed, I absolutely love gaming and I'm hoping to find some new gems, and also get to know you guys a little better. My questions are:
1: what is the first game you ever played? My first was:
IMG_20171021_151813.jpg
Super Mario 3 for the nes. I cannot count the hours I've spent on this, and I still play through it from time to time.
2: What is your favourite game of all time? Mine is a bit of a cliché, but it's without a doubt the best game ever.
IMG_20171021_151955.jpg
Zelda ocarina of time. The action, the brain teasers, perhaps the nostalgia, but this is my favourite game ever. I've been completing it atleast once a year since it came out, and I plan to keep on playing it. It's truly a milestone in the history of gaming.
3: What is your favourite console of all time?
Mne is without a doubt the nintendo 64. It's the console that officially made me a gamer. all those awesome games:
zelda (offcourse), James Bond, Perfect dark, Mario party, Mario cart, Conker's bad fur day, Banjo Kazooie. I could go on for ages and probably will later. I'm planning on making a list of my favourite games later, maybe also try some streaming and making some reviews (will probably be mostly retrogaming).
4: What is your favourite arcade machine? I will have to go for the tekken 3 machine, although i vaguely remember a Asterix and Obelix arcade machine from when I was a kid, sadly I cant remember the name.

Like I said, I love gaming especially the old school types, so I hope to get some response, and hopefully some new ideas to games I can try out. I will try to return the favour, with posting info on more of my favourite games.

Sort:  

Nice post, can definitely get a feel for the old school just by reading your responses 1-4. Mine would be

  1. First Game - Tetris - NES
  2. Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater - Subsistence edition - Taking one of the best storylines in gaming and adding even more bonus content + online PvP. For me, this is still unparalleled in how much it grabbed me and didn't let go.
  3. Gamecube - What didn't this console have? Satisfied my RPG needs with Tales of Symphonia, Skies of Arcadia, and Fire Emblem, but really shined with the multiplayer and best controller of that era (Wavebird). Really portable so you could back it up in a jiffy and take it to a party or friends house with no hesitation.
  4. This one's a bit harder. Can I say a tie between Rampage and Time Crisis 2?

All solid titles, metal gear might take up my next weekend. Have you tried tetris on n64? Really want to buy a time crisis machine, but I believe the gamecube is more in the budget. Actually switched over to Playstation before gamecube released. Any recommendations on gamecube games?

I haven't tried N64 Tetris unfortunately. My console movement as a kid was a bit erratic. I grew up on an NES my grandparents bought strictly to play Tetris by themselves. So I played that most of my childhood along with GBC and GBA then jumped to PS1 - PS2 - GC - Xbox360 - Now am mostly elusively PC with emulators if I want retro.

And yeah, Gamecube is definitely more in any budget than an arcade haha. I think you can pick up one with a single controller for ~$35 on ebay any more.

Recommendations? Depends on the genre you want to get into really.
RPG - Tales of Symponia > Skies of Arcadia Legends (this is a dreamcast port) > Paper Mario > Fire Emblem Path of Radiance
In a part setting could never go wrong with Super Smash Bros Melle, Mario Kart Double Dash. In college we would make betting/drinking games to each.
Less party/more 1 v 1 multiplayer - Time Splitters 2, Soul Calibur 2, Pikmin 2, F Zero GX, Star Fox Assault
If you really wanted to sink time in with a friend, go back to multiplayer in Tales of Symphonia, Final Fantasy Crystal Chronicles, Phantasy Star Online, or Legend of Zelda four swords adventure

Also, Zelda wise you have The Wind Waker which got near perfect scores in its day, AND there was a bonus disk at one point that redid Ocarina of Time. This is one of the pricier games though and I'd expect to be around the $50 range just cause of limited release and popularity. Can't possible leave out Resident Evil 4 as one of the best in the franchise imo.

Great post
My favourite game of all time would also be one of the first i ever played that being;

  1. & 2. LoZ Ocarina of time
  2. Favourite console would have to be the N64 as well as it has all my childhood games and was my console of choice until the PS2 came around which just doesn't live up to the memories my N64 hold
    cant answer #4 though as i was never an arcade cabinet kinda gamer, very rarely got to play any at all

What a fun little quiz, @k3nb0b. I'll answer quite happily:

  1. First game: Pac-Man in the arcade is the first video game I have a memory of playing. If pinball machines count, then Gorgar pre-dates my Pac-Man encounter. But if it's got to be an arcade machine, Pac-Man was my first.

  2. Favorite game of all time: This is a hard-as-balls question to answer, because I have two I consider 'best of all time' for different reasons. First is Super Metroid, because it is the closest any game has ever come to perfection. There are no superfluous bits of anything in Super Metroid, and the controls, graphics, sound, characters, and everything all work beautifully together to tell the story without relying on hours of cutscenes or voice-acted dialogue. By sheer force of being as close to perfection as one can get, Super Metroid is my favorite game of all time. But it's not the game I've had the most fun playing. It's up there, probably top three, but it isn't Final Fantasy VI. FF6 has the best story, the best characters, the best villain, and best presentation of any RPG ever. I've beaten it countless times, and every time I play again, I learn something new. I don't need it remade, I don't need an HD update, it's perfect for me just the way it is (though the cut scenes added for the Final Fantasy Anthology on PS1 are awesome, I will grant that).

  3. Favorite console of all time: Super Nintendo all the way. There is nothing this bundle of awesome couldn't handle, and it has quality software coming out of its cartridge slot for days. No matter what genre you liked, SNES had you covered: action, adventure, platformer, RPG, shooter, fighting, beat 'em up, run-and-gun, sports, co-op, competitive, single- or multi-player, the Super NES it all, and with quality to boot. Totally the best console of all time.

  4. Favorite arcade machine of all time: Whew...another toughie. It's either Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, or it's Mortal Kombat II, and the answer will be different depending on which day you ask it of me. Right now, I'm more inclined to go with Turtles' 4-player simultaneous co-op over MKII's one-on-one competitive fighting, but tomorrow that could very well be reversed.

Thanks for the trip down memory lane, and I hope others enjoy your survey as much as I did!

Some great titles. Wow i tried visiting super metroid the other day, it was a lot harder than I remembered, still one of the greatest games ever.

  1. The first games I played were on Commodore 64 but I don't remember the titles. My first experience that I remember was at my uncles house playing Ikari warrior for NES. I was hooked. Every time I went over there I wanted to play. I got an NES for Christmas that year. The beginning of my video game journey.

  2. My favorite game has always been Super Mario Brothers 3. I love that game. I remember seeing it on "The Wizard" and knowing it was going to be awesome! Other notable games I've loved are super Mario world, mega man 2 and 3 and street fighter 2.

  3. SNES is my favorite game system. Just got a snes classic. I'm reliving my childhood!

  4. Street Fighter 2. Always a classic awesome game!

Never heard of ikari warrior, exactly what I was hoping for, the rest is some of my favourites too. The snes is a close 2. Place to the 64

Great idea for an article and one that gets people interacting (so hard any more as everyone is worried about voting and making money rather than talking).

Here are my answers to the questions:

  1. Maze Craze on Atari 2600. I used to play this with my father when he got home from work. I was born in 1976 so I was a young gamer when this one came out. My father had arthritis so the Atari 2600 controller with one action button was an early favorite in our house (and it was still in use almost 20 years later).

  2. I have to go with Robowarrior for the Nintendo Entertainment System as my favorite game of all time. It has action, it has drama, it has multiple sprite based bosses that Treasure's (huge developer on Sega Genesis) founder did an interview with Gamefan back in the day (around the time Gunstar Heroes released) and he stated the NES could not do multi sprite characters (even though Robowarrior did it years prior). Roboowarrior also has survival horror elements (you are a cyborg that constantly has to find supplies or die), shooter elements (how you get more bombs to progress in levels), and strategy (get down to 10 bombs or less and stare down three paths across the screen for proof) and more.

  3. I have to go with a hand held here and that being the GBA. No, I am not taking the cheap route and picking this device because of the backwards compatibility with the previous two generations of Gameboys. I am picking it because this hand held has, arguably, the best game lineup available. Even many of the licensed games are good.

  4. This is easy. Beast Busters, 4-player model. Drop a roll of quarters in this one and just enjoy an afternoon with three friends, blasting the undead back to hell. Just be ready for "arcade gun game jerking" because the rifles have recoil that can play rough on your hands and forearms after prolonged play (especially if the arcade owner turned up said feedback). Great game, never got a home port, and best of luck trying to emulate this one. It is pretty much real world machine or watch YouTube videos to get an idea of the intensity contained within.

That's a couple of new games for the bucket list, never tried either, so this will be exciting. I actually agree with the gba, tried buying the 3ds, it was just not the same. The best games was 64 titles I've already played enough.

Exactly. At least with the GBA there were new games in the 16-bit style along with a few re-releases (not as common as people think). Just about any Marvel licensed game on the GBA is good (particular surprise to me was the Iron Man game which felt a lot like Contra). Same for Lilo and Stitch which felt like a Metal Slug game. Just some awesome games on that platform.


This post was resteemed by @steemitrobot!
Good Luck!

Resteem your post just send 0.100 SBD or Steem with your post url on memo. We have over 2700+ followers. Take our service to reach more People.

Pro Plan: just send 1 SBD or Steem with your post url on memo we will resteem your post and send 10 upvotes from our Associate Accounts.

The @steemitrobot users are a small but growing community.
Check out the other resteemed posts in steemitrobot's feed.
Some of them are truly great. Please upvote this comment for helping me grow.

Hi Steem I am the best upvoter So you will add me iam always upvote your all posts

Congratulations @k3nb0b! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58169.95
ETH 3145.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38