You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Questions to the gamers out there

in #gaming7 years ago

What a fun little quiz, @k3nb0b. I'll answer quite happily:

  1. First game: Pac-Man in the arcade is the first video game I have a memory of playing. If pinball machines count, then Gorgar pre-dates my Pac-Man encounter. But if it's got to be an arcade machine, Pac-Man was my first.

  2. Favorite game of all time: This is a hard-as-balls question to answer, because I have two I consider 'best of all time' for different reasons. First is Super Metroid, because it is the closest any game has ever come to perfection. There are no superfluous bits of anything in Super Metroid, and the controls, graphics, sound, characters, and everything all work beautifully together to tell the story without relying on hours of cutscenes or voice-acted dialogue. By sheer force of being as close to perfection as one can get, Super Metroid is my favorite game of all time. But it's not the game I've had the most fun playing. It's up there, probably top three, but it isn't Final Fantasy VI. FF6 has the best story, the best characters, the best villain, and best presentation of any RPG ever. I've beaten it countless times, and every time I play again, I learn something new. I don't need it remade, I don't need an HD update, it's perfect for me just the way it is (though the cut scenes added for the Final Fantasy Anthology on PS1 are awesome, I will grant that).

  3. Favorite console of all time: Super Nintendo all the way. There is nothing this bundle of awesome couldn't handle, and it has quality software coming out of its cartridge slot for days. No matter what genre you liked, SNES had you covered: action, adventure, platformer, RPG, shooter, fighting, beat 'em up, run-and-gun, sports, co-op, competitive, single- or multi-player, the Super NES it all, and with quality to boot. Totally the best console of all time.

  4. Favorite arcade machine of all time: Whew...another toughie. It's either Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, or it's Mortal Kombat II, and the answer will be different depending on which day you ask it of me. Right now, I'm more inclined to go with Turtles' 4-player simultaneous co-op over MKII's one-on-one competitive fighting, but tomorrow that could very well be reversed.

Thanks for the trip down memory lane, and I hope others enjoy your survey as much as I did!

Sort:  

Some great titles. Wow i tried visiting super metroid the other day, it was a lot harder than I remembered, still one of the greatest games ever.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60796.19
ETH 2601.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57