Zombie Adventure game - Exclusive to Steemit

in #gaming7 years ago (edited)

Are you afraid to have your brains eaten? Or do you think you can outsmart a bunch of zombies?

Why not see just how good you are? This will be a trial run to see what kind of interest there is for this sort of game.

ZombiBanner.png

This is sort of a board game and in its current rendition can take up to 12 players at a time. It will require daily participation. If you are interested in playing, please sign up as a reply to this post.

Rules

Each player will have 3 actions per turn. An action is a move of 1 space, a trade with another player in the same square, an offensive action (fighting), a search or breaking down a door.
After all players have completed their 3 actions the zombies will take their turn. Zombies will spawn at locations marked "spawn zone" and any zombies already on the board will move.

Runners (R) will move 2 squares per move.
Walkers (W) and Hulks (H) will move one square per move.

ALL zombies get just 1 action per turn and will move towards noise made by the players. All zombies will inflict 1 damage to players if they make a successful hit and can only fight if they are in the same square as a player.

If a player is in the same square as a zombie, they MUST engage in combat and cannot run away.

Runners and walkers can be killed with a successful hit using a weapon that does 1 damage.
The hulk can only be killed with a weapon that does 2 damage.

Players can take 3 hits before they die. Players do not re-spawn and are out of the game if they die.

Ranged weapons cannot be used when a zombie is in your square and there are other players in the same square (hand to hand combat only). If you are the only player in the square with a zombie you may use a ranged weapon.

Weapons

Axe does 2 damage and can be used to open doors.
Bare hands, baseball bats, pistols, rifles and crossbows do 1 damage. Pistols and crossbows have a range of 1 square. Rifles can reach 2 squares.

A molitov cocktail kills everything in the square it is thrown into and cannot miss. It has a range of 1 square. Combining gasoline and a torch makes a molitov cocktail.

As dungeon master, I will roll dice to see if attacks are successful or not. A roll of 1 to 3 is a miss. A roll of 4 to 6 is a hit.

Searching

Searches can only be done in rooms and only 1 search per player per turn, except if a player has a torch, in which case that player gets 2 searches per turn.

Players can carry up to 5 items each.
Items will be drawn randomly from a deck of cards.
Searches might uncover a hiding zombie!

spawning

Each turn will spawn new zombies at the spawn zones based on dice rolls as described below.
When a door is opened, zombies will be spawned in each room of the building based on dice rolls.
6 spawns a Hulk, 5 spawns a runner, 4 or 3 spawns a walker and 2 or 1 spawns nothing.

Player actions

Each player will announce their intended actions in the replies to each daily post.
Tell me your player number and what you intend to do. If you are unsuccessful, you may suggest an alternate action rather than attempting a 2nd time.

For example: Player 3; move left 1; shoot at zombie in next square left; if miss, move back.
Alternatively: Player 3; move left 1; shoot at zombie in next square left; if miss, shoot again.
In both cases, player 3 made 3 actions and their turn is over.

Trading between a pair of players may include any number of items in 1 transaction but still only counts as 1 action.
Players are free to collaborate and plan their strategies; this is a cooperative game.


I will update the board with new player positions and zombie positions for the next day's play.

If I missed any instructions, please advise and I will update.
The first game will be fairly simple as a test case to see if this can work. The object of the game is to retrieve the objectives labelled with an X (it counts as an action to pick up an objective).

The first game ends when all the objectives have been picked up. Later games may require that surving players manage to exit the board from any of the exits (where the road is not blocked by a building).

GameBoard.png

Sort:  

This still on?

I can take the axe if no one wants it.

Yes, absolutely its still on.

Yes, I'm waiting for players to sign up. It is 8:20 PM here now and tomorrow morning (maybe closer to noon) so in about 10 hours, we can actually start the game. Since it is the first move, everyone can already go and tell me what they wish to do. Obviously, the 2 with axes will be wanting to open a door so that others can search for gear. If you want in, I can draw a card and see what you get to start with.

Definitely in.

Wow! Lucky you! You start with a molitov!

woohoo! kicking door to lure zombies through noise while waiting for it to be opened

I plan to maximize the effect of my molitov

We are waiting for you to use your 3 actions. Move into building and search? then stay with group or move one more square?

Using it kills everything in 1 square, so best to keep it until lots of stuff to kill. It can only be used ONCE.

Oh, I thought we would make our first moves in the next post.

In that case: break down door, move down, search room.

Player two has joined the game. (Assuming Umar isn't playing.)

But seriously, seems interesting and I'd like to play. Also resteemed for a bit more exposure.

Quick question about the rules: How does trading work? Is it like a failed action if the other player doesn't want to trade?

This is a co-operative game, so trading has to be done with the consent of both parties. I can see that as being a potential problem if the players do not respond to trade requests in time. I was thinking to perhaps speed things up by allowing players that are ALL on-line at the same time and have decided their moves to be able to do so without waiting a day. I'm not sure that I can keep the board updated that quickly though. This is an experiment and adjustments will likely be made when issues crop up.

I just checked Umar's replies page and he is copy-pasting the same message on lots of posts. I think its pretty obvious he hasn't even read mine before posting, so I think he deserves a warning or a flag.

Oh wow! I shuffled the cards and you drew an axe too!

I think I should be around. and I would like to give it a go! Sounds like an interesting concept.. I'm going to add it to my post about challenges and contests to enter too!

Wonderful! Thanks!
As the first to sign up, you may start with the axe (someone has to open a door).

Haha ok, how do I move. I need to take my turn do I just tell you my 3 spaces/actions?

Yes, that is correct.
It seems there is a bit of delay in seeing new comments/replies.
I also noticed people complaining that comments they posted to people's walls were not being recorded. In fact that happened to me yesterday. I posted a reply and couldn't find it in the list of replies, so I had to re-post it and then it showed up. So word of warning... make sure your replies actually show up after hitting the POST button.

I just posted a new game day (June 28). Please post your moves there.

i move one left one up and step right, inside the building?

I didn't see all your responses until now, so I moved for you. We were better off not going in or whoever went in would be attacked.

Hey i am Umar Usman
and i am new on Steemit i really like your posts
and i am also following you
can you please follow me back
and upvote my last post

here is the link
https://steemit.com/nature/@omrusman/last-night-s-sunset-over-lake-texoma

Thanks
waiting for your response

I doubt you even read my post, so this comment is considered SPAM. Please STOP or people will flag you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64039.14
ETH 2755.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70