Steemian Gamers I Need Your Help, Should I Use Twitch or Mixer To Live Stream?

in #gaming7 years ago

IMG_20171230_184913.jpg

Hello Fellow Steemian Gamers,

I need your help today, I have decided to go back to streaming again maybe once or twice a week, I used to stream back in the day when Twitch first surfaced so already have everything that I need to get started.

I used to stream PC gameplay so always used Twitch to stream but since moving over to playing Xbox One a lot more I stopped. Looking back this was a huge mistake as my Twitch channel was a huge success at the time and would have continued to grow had I kept at it.

This is where I need your help, I play all my games on the Xbox One X and as most of you will be aware they now have their own streaming service known as Mixer (formally known as Beam). Mixer is a great service as it offers no stream delay unlike Twitch which is around 10 seconds, and also allows viewers to interact with the stream as you play.

My issue now is that I already have a fully loaded Twitch channel with a decent amount of views and followers but the Twitch support on Xbox isn't as good as Mixer. This is probably due to Microsoft owning Mixer and wanting gamers to choose this service over Twitch.

There is a huge advantage to me broadcasting on Mixer, it is still new and the community is growing fast. I've used it a lot already so already have a decent level on it (strange system but works well ) you basically level your account the more active you are.


My question is this, Do I stick with Twitch and continue to grow my account or do I move over to Mixer and join a growing community?


Let me know in the comments below what you think I should do, you can view both my channels on the links below...


My Twitch Channel
My Mixer Channel
Official Grown Folks Gaming Merch Store
My YouTubeChannel
My Instagram Page
My Facebook Page
My Twitter Page
Sort:  

I’m a gamer so I think I have great advice since I watch streams a lot.

I would stick to Twich for now. You have an opportunity to earn a larger audience there. If Mixer starts to get bigger then you can move there and the audience you built on Twitch will follow you for sure. People follow the streamer and not the platform!

@snrm this is really great advice I completely see your point here. My worry is that the Xbox doesn't function as well using twitch now that Mixer is around.

Yeah they really went full mixer with that update that brought it around. Its really a tough call but Twitch has never really faltered.

Why not try our very own DLive its still in beta but it is up and running.

I need something more stable to start off with.

@originalworks could you let others now that my post is worth reading?

Upvoted Brother! Keep Thriving!

Thank you soo much.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @grownfolksgaming to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

I have to stay i am in a very similar position, however I am just starting to stream.

I have both a mixer account and a twitch account, however as you know, I am on xbox, and play games which require the area of the UI the twitch broadcasting bar covers.

If you play games which dont require this area then maybe stick to twitch, if you need it mixer?

However as well as that’s I use these streaming services to record gameplay to upload to sites like Instagram and YouTube. So in that case I would prefer mixer. But if you want to build the live audience stick to twitch.

Let me know your plan and maybe we can collaborate in the future!

@kezzaat great advice dude I just can't decide what to do. You can move the broadcasting bar on twitch.

Can you?? How do you do that!

It's in the settings dude.

Have a look at restream. It definitely works for twitch and it may for mixer sot it might be a good solution because it will let you stream on both at once

@birchmark funnily enough this was brought to my attention yesterday. Am I right in thinking I have to stream from PC to get this to work?

I assume it probably would have to be from PC but I'm not 100% sure. I haven't streamed before but only made videos, so I haven't used it myself, but I have heard it mentioned a lot, especially on the letsplay subreddit.

I'm all setup and going to try it out at some point.

Cool. Hopefully it works for you

Good to see more streamers like me on Steemit :) Just one question: why did you move from PC to Xbox?

I moved to Xbox because the majority of my friends are on Xbox and can't really afford the investment of a gaming pc

Okay that makes sense. Well, I think you have to decide for yourself what's worth more: the benefits of Mixer, or your following on Twitch. Can't you stream to Twitch by using a capture card or something? Or is that not how it works...

I've managed to get it all sorted now so should be up and running for next week :)

Good to hear!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54357.85
ETH 2282.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31