What I Want to See in the Next Dragon Age Game

in #gaming7 years ago (edited)


"For every bloody battlefield, we will gladly raise a cup. No matter what tomorrow holds."

-Iron Bull (Dragon Age: Inquisition)


So about two months ago I posted something about a new Dragon Age game is in development and BioWare's Dragon Age team was hiring a lot of people to work with them. But until now Dragon Age 4 still don't have any official announcement, but we can hold onto that confirmation from one of the writers, Alexis Kennedy, that the next Dragon Age game is in the making.  

I've been waiting for their updates, and while I'm at it, I wonder what sort of troubles we need to deal with and how the game will be? In the latest Dragon Age game we've played as the Inquisitor who led an army of the faithful to deal with a self-proclaimed god and whatever danger threaten Thedas, and.. Politics. Since we know nothing about what we can expect from the game, I have a few things in mind that I wish to see in the next Dragon Age..
(Note: I haven't played or finished the games completely, so there might be something I missed or I misunderstood. If there is, sorry for that.)


Your Inquisitor as a Potential Companion


So in Dragon Age: Inquisition you can meet many characters from the previous game like Varric, Alistair/Loghain/Stroud, Leliana, and Morrigan and also one of the best appearance is your Hawke from Dragon Age II, who accompany the Inquisition in their journey to take down Coryphe-shitheel. 

I heard in the next Dragon Age the Inquisition and the Templar Order are still around, so what I'm thinking is if there is a chance of meeting them then maybe we could have the Inquisitor tagalong as a companion, and a romance option too. As for the reason why the Inquisitor make an appearance, I'll leave it to BioWare. 


No Class Restriction For Equipments, But Keep the Level Restriction


Many gamers probably don't like these two type of equipments restrictions, but the other this system is okay. For me, I liked the level restriction in RPGs but not the class restriction. The reason I liked level restriction is because when I got better gears with decent shape and stats, I love that feeling of dying to put them on so I have to make the maximum efforts to level up in order to equip the said gears. The reason I don't like class restriction is because sometimes the armours of the other classes simply looks cooler. 


More Plot Twist


Plot twists, a very surprising plot twists would be great. The first example is the Dread Wolf from Dragon Age: Inquisition. The first time I saw Solas I totally didn't see anything suspicious about him. At the end of the battle against Coryphe-whatever, something about Solas begin to reveal itself until the end of the DLC Trespasser. But still not revealed as clear as his bald head, though. 

The second is Blackwall, when the Inquisition first met him he talked all Warden and stuff but turn out he 'stole' a dead Warden's identity and use it until the Inquisition find out the truth, that he was simply a murderer for gold. Those two twists are good, but if in this new game BioWare can make even more unexpected and complex plot twists, that'd be great. 


Better Animation in Cutscenes


So I played a female Inquisitor Trevelyan before and I love seeing her walk and run like a fabulous lady (even on uneven terrains, like.. Wow). However, one other thing I remember about this is everytime a cutscene playing she suddenly walked or stand like.. a gorilla (the pic above is not my Inquisitor by the way). All those feminine manner were gone. I don't know why that happened but I'm pretty sure the Trevelyans don't walk like that. Or at least not the ladies. 


More Party Banter


This is the reason why I prefer to travel on foot than riding horses. The party banter is brilliant, every companions have their own interesting dialogue on things we approach, or just to break the silence on the journey. Sometimes I picked certain companions only to hear the banter, not to win some fights easier. One of my favourite is this conversation between Varric and Vivienne:

Varric: "I have a serious question for you, Iron Lady."
Vivienne: "I can hardly wait."
Varric: "In the Imperial Court, if someone uses the wrong fork at dinner, is that worse than death or just social suicide?"
Vivienne: "It's impossible to say, my dear. Anyone who has ever so misstepped was stabbed to death with the proper fork."

I wish there will be more of this in the next game. 


Better Hairstyles


It's pretty hard to create a nice looking character in Dragon Age: Inquisition with those funny haircuts if you don't use mods. I don't know what to say about them. Sorry, but they are just so bad Dorian should stab whoever BioWare's designer that designed those hairstyles and replace him/her. The other side characters don't looked that bad, Morrigan and Cullen looked just fine, but not the Inquisitor. And also most of the hairstyles are shiny, I mean, why?


Tevinter Imperium(?)


At the end of Trespasser, the ending cutscene shown the Inquisitor stabbed a dagger to Tevinter Imperium on the map it looked like a hint for where the next Dragon Age will take place. If it's not going to set in Tevinter, at least make it (most of its areas) available to visit that so called "the rightful ruler of Thedas". Expect a lot of Blood Mages and slavery.


Revisit Haven


After Haven destroyed by Coryphefish, the Inquisition along with all the survivors of the attack traveled far away accross the snowy mountains to reach a majestic fortress Skyhold. Following that event and the Inquisition arrival at Skyhold, a war table operation to "construct a monument" at Haven as a memorial become available. But we never know how the monument and the destroyed Haven look like. Maybe in the next Dragon Age we can go to Haven with the companions and the Inquisitor (as a companion) that will trigger interesting conversations about it. 



For more gaming stuff..
Follow me, would you kindly?
 


Previous Posts
These BioShock Rap Songs Are Dope!
Video Game Music? How About Actual Music in Simlish
The AI in Horror Game 'Hello Neighbor' Will Learn Your Moves


Images credit: 1, 2, 3, 45, 6, 7, 8, 9

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68125.63
ETH 3308.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74