Remembering My First Time in Online Competitive Game

in #gaming7 years ago (edited)

"How inelegant your words are. Surely a fool wrote your script." 

-Jhin (League of Legends)


Good evening/day, Steemian. I'd like to share with you a piece of my experience in gaming... that is kind of shitty yet laughable, the kind of gaming experience that probably all of us went through as a newbie in online competitive game. This post is centered on League of Legends the most and this is how I learned that toxicity is more popular than Snickers.

A friend of mine introduced me to League of Legends back in 2013 when I was having "bois sleep over" at my friend's house. There were 2 guys playing DotA 2, 1 was playing League of Legends, and me playing a rhythm game called osu! quite loudly. Decided to have some rest from seizure-inducing osu!, I watched the other dudes playing those MOBAs.

They explained the gameplay, how you play in MOBA game, role, lining, how every minion kill is important, counter-balancing characters, all WITHOUT having a clash about which one is more superior than the other between DotA 2 and League of Legends. Beautiful, isn't it? 

So I played League of Legends first while waiting for DotA 2 to finish download since it's bigger (FYI, the internet connection was lovely). After an hour deciding the perfect in-game name, I started in Beginner vs Bot mode with one of my friend accompanied me. And there I was, 20 minutes into Summoner's Rift and I met a person who can't chill.

As basic as a newbie go, I played as Garen on top lane with my friend holding my hand as Fiora. After I got the grip as a top laner, there came my first time in pulling a gank when the mid laner, Viktor, went to top lane in early game. While I did a clumsy job luring AI Darius and Trundle to near the bushes, the gank was a 50% success because Darius got away. It wasn't a big deal for me, but apparently it was for this "fun guy" Viktor who were suddenly blaming my mother for gave birth of me.

If you want more detail on the gank... Viktor managed to kill Trundle with Fiora's help, and when Darius got away with 20% HP me and Viktor chased him down through the woods and and he was slowed and stunned by Viktor's Gravity Field. The problem is, Darius stunned within Turret area. What a melee character with 15% HP, which was me, can do? So I retreated and let him got away. 


It's not like Hitler will come back to life or the moon will crash the Earth just because I didn't have the balls to jump into Turret area to kill Darius and die of my own stupidity afterwards. So was it necessary to announce how much of a failure I am as a potato? And through out the entire match to the end? 

And of course he mentioned human's and animal's genitalia too. I wasn't sure if I had to take a note or not because it was a quite useful 30 minutes biology lesson. Besides... What did a Gold player do in Beginner vs Bot mode anyway...

It was, of course, ruined my mood because my first time in it wasn't as I expected, which was a fun practicing session with some nice strangers online. But that didn't stop me from playing League of Legends almost everyday, the game dealt 100% Lifesteal on me (See what I did there?). I even tried another online competitive games too such as DotA 2 and Team Fortress 2, although not long enough to understand everything. 

My classmates who were not much of gamers were hooked up when I introduced them to League of Legends and it was such great times to play with the whole squad battling salty people together. Unfortunately some of them just can't take the toxicity and quit playing. Now that I've seen enough of it, I guess hoping toxicity will cease to exist in online games is pointless. All we can do is bear with it and believing "next match will be fun".  

Thanks for stopping by, Steemian! Have a thought about this as well? Let me know in the comment..

For more gaming stuff..
Follow me, would you kindly?


Previous Posts:

My Random Thought on Yuzu - The Upcoming Nintendo Switch Emulator
Gaming Posts of the Week - "Such Insight. Much Knowledge. Wow. 2.0"
Funny Steam Reviews to Brighten Your Day
How to Cope With Post-Game Emptiness 101


Images sources: 1, 2, 3, 4

Sort:  

Got to be one of the most insane communities out there! Certainly not one to be involved with if you're easily wound up! :P

I'm not easily wound up, well, not anymore. Because the more toxic people I meet the more I find this sort of thing kinda hilarious. But it's not so hilarious when my team ended up lose, tho XD

Yeah I think if you can look at it and separate the game from the comments it's totally fine!

i love gaming too

To be fair all this flaming is disgusting but actually quite rare. We just remember the matches with flamers more often than we do the matches without flamers. I never had a particularly bad impression about the LoL community or the Overwatch community the game I am currently playing. However a lot of people cry about those communities. You shouldn´t let some apes ruin your fun. Just ignore them and report after the match. Don´t even respond to their bullshit.

Yes that's exactly what I do, ignoring their babbling in or outside the game. For me, I do remember many fun and hilarious times with this game, but the shitty too, which is almost as many as the fun moments. But eventhough sometimes there's nothing to enjoy when some apes completely ruin the game that even a mute button is not enough, it's still fun to play online competitive.

i dunno anything about lol. but i remember 2 of my first competitive online games. starcraft and action quake 2.
usually multiplayer has so much more depth than single player games.
even tho back in the day you had slow modems and connections were unstable, i was hooked on multiplayers so much my school grades went to shit.

So we are willing to go through all that for "one more match" lol.

yes! just one more!
you keep saying that until you spend the entire night..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68236.23
ETH 2643.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70