Features I Wish to See in Future Fallout Game

in #gaming7 years ago


"Accepting constructive critisism is the best way to improve ourselves both mentally and physically."

-Paladin Danse (Fallout 4)


Before you continue reading this post, I need to remind you that there is no official confirmation of next Fallout games (yet). Even if there are hints here and there, I suggest to take it with a grain of salt. The only possibility out there, which is very low maybe like 1% possibility of a next Fallout, is Obsidian Entertainment's statement that they are willing to make another Fallout game if they have the chance. 

So this post is just something that I been think of that you also probably agree, or totally disagree with. I think these features are cool and it's a shame that it wasn't made or removed in Fallout 4. If that 1% comes true, I hope to see these in the next Fallout game. 


Equipments Degradation


Actually I'd love to see this feature in every RPGs, but oh how selfish I am. This is pretty cool, the logic of this feature is just enough to exist in video game and not way too realistic that it'd make the game to be no fun. What's this "logic" I'm talking about? I mean it's as simple as "The more often you use your blade, the more blunt it will be. ". 

While not every equipments are swords, but degradation is still (could be) applied to them, no? For example, using your armour will lower its durability or break it little by little everytime you are in combat. Fallout: New Vegas has this feature so why not implement it again in the future game?


Vehicles


In the entire Fallout universe from the first game to the latest, why there were only one working player controlled car? Other than that car called Highwayman (that looks exactly like the car on the picture) in Fallout 2, there's only Vertibirds that the player can't truly control where to go. 

What? Because the vehicles are destroyed from the nuke detonation? So how come there are still so many working computers... Outside, in unsafe spots... And are not shut down for some reason. The only thing cars can do in Fallout universe is to be shot at so it will explode. 

Imagine if you can drive a car or a motorcycle. Give some upgrades and customization the way you customize the Power Armour or your robots companions. Maybe also attach some weapons on it. Have some fun with it throughout the wasteland and then go back for reparation, or find another vehicles if it's completely destroyed. 


Dodge! Take Cover! Vault Over It! Dodge!


Yes you could block a hit but that doesn't mean you couldn't roll to safety. Even the blocking is not so effective, you could still take the damage and sometimes too much damage that it leave you with so little HP or even die. 

Modders managed to create the take cover and dodging mod, although not so perfect, I'm sure they would if they are polished by the developer. So a big developer should be able to create that too and even better than modders' made. 

It feels jarring that the latest game (I mean Fallout 4, not Fallout Shelter) is created with modern graphics but with unimproved gameplay. For the take cover, it's only possible if the player in first person view. If you look at the videos of that mod, you'll see how better Fallout 4 could have been. 


More Than One Companions


Inthe previous games the player could explore the wasteland with less loneliness, like in Fallout 3 the Lone Wanderer could have Dogmeat and one other companions travel along with them.

I thought it was going to be improved in Fallout 4, maybe the Sole Survivor could have two humanoid companions at a time instead of Dogmeat and one humanoid companion. But.. They make it only one companion instead. I heard that was planned in Fallout 4 but Bethesda didn't make it happen for some reason.

Add that two (or maybe three!) companions capability, more unique dialogues and wacky jokes, and the survival adventure in the wasteland could be more fun.


Co-op Multiplayer?


If Elder Scrolls got the chance to be an online game on its latest game, why can't Fallout be the same? Co-op multiplayer plus that working vehicles I mentioned before... I think I know what's on your mind. Wouldn't it be awesome? 

The gameplay would be similar to Borderlands or GTA where one player drive a car or a bike and let the other shoot stuff while speeding through the wasteland. Break into Raider's base with car ensuing mayhem, or being chased by Deathclaw while also shooting at it. 


Cooler Factions


If you wanted to have a war just ask "Which is the best faction?" in forums and it'd work most of the time. Because I see the factions in (some) Fallout games are equally liked by the fans, though I see a lot of people said the Brotherhood of Steel is a bunch of tech-hoarding asshole that makes them sounds like the faction to despise, still many people liked BoS over the other. 

So that mean the developers make those factions to be so good that (almost) all of them became fan's favourite, or at least the ones before Fallout 4, but why not improve it more? If there will be new factions, I'd like to see a deeper story or lore of them, better and more badass than the ones already wandering the wasteland.


Dogmeat


This might sounds strange but I feel like Dogmeat has become some sort of mascot of Fallout franchise just like Vault Boy, Fat Man, Nuka Cola and Power Armour. So yeah I think Dogmeat must be exist in the next Fallout whatever the story or the gameplay is

There is an unconfirmed theory that Dogmeat from Fallout 3 is a direct descendant from the Dogmeat in the first Fallout. But for the Dogmeat from Fallout 4 it is not confirmed if he is one of those descendant from the first game. 

Beside, it's a dog so why not? Dog is love, yes?


Fun Fact:
In the very first quest of Fallout 3, Baby Steps, you could hear the Lone Wanderer's voice as a baby and that voice is the voice of Bethesda's director Todd Howards' son Jake, on his 1st birthday.



For more gaming stuff..
Follow me, would you kindly?


Previous Posts:
Awesome Fan Made Dragon Age And Mass Effect Crossover
One More Upcoming Charming Monster Raising Game: Re:Legend
4 Great Games From 1997


Images credit: 1,2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8

Sort:  

Yes, vehicles would be a great addition to the game.

Vehicles with weapons attached. If the raiders could have that too, Fallout might also turn into Vigilante 8 haha

I love this game :) my favorite characters are Nick Valentine and Dogmeat !

Ah yes, Nick is great. One of the few synths that really trusted by the people. My favourite is Curie, I love (her) French accent.

Haha I didn't know she had a French accent ^^ I'm French so I have French voices :)

You are? Now I read your comment with Curie's voice, with French accent haha.

Err.. I sound creepy, don't I?

Yes, I have to listen to Curie's voice in English, because it intrigues me. It must be pretty funny anyway :)
No, don't worry haha ^^ I know I speak English with a French accent. OMG... I'm Curie xD

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66598.01
ETH 3236.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.66