Elegy for a Dead World: A Game That Turns You Into a Poet

in #gaming7 years ago (edited)


"Romance is not the sole province of dithering ladies in frilly dresses. It is passion. It is being swept away by the pursuit of an ideal. What is not to like about that?"

-Cassandra Pentaghast (Dragon Age: Inquisition)


Hey! Listen! Want to improve your writing skill? If you are like me, having (so much) difficulty to write things beautifully explained with proper grammar, perfected with good sense of humour here and there, I think this game that I found could help with that. 

The game is called Elegy for a Dead World, a game about writing your own narratives, stories, poems, or songs, based on what you encounter in the game. The goal of this game is so that everyone can write. 



Shelley's world


In this game, you are to explore three worlds inspired by the works of three English Romantic poets; John Keats, Lord Byron, and Percy Bysshe Shelley in colourful graphics that offer different atmospheres to boost the player's inspirations and ideas on what narrative the player should write about the scenery they are seeing at the moment. Well that's promising, with those poets and all. 



The gameplay is filling in the blank part to continue the already given sentence, as you can see above. It might looked like some children game on books or something. Well maybe it's because you're already good at writings. 

For me, take the gameplay picture above, eventhough I already know what's going on and who are "they" referred to, I don't think I could come up with something good from that sentence.
"I felt the frigid air and realized... It's cold."
Yep, 10/10. I should definitely ask a girl to go on a date with poetry.



There are 27 writing challenges in which the player will have to write narratives about the world from different perspective, such as take the role of a thief who write a song about searching for valuables, or an archeologist who uncovering clues about a ruined city and writing about its final days. 

On your journey sometimes the game will reveal new informations halfway through the game that sheds new light which will need you to think harder to justify your already written story with the sudden change of direction. Once you are good enough with your writing, you could turn off the prompts to create your own narrative entirely from scratch. 



After you complete your masterpiece, you can share it through Steam Workshop and see other players' original stories too or make it into digital or printed media.

The game was developed since 2013 as a collaboration between Dejobaan Games, a Boston based developer that are famous for their... Whatever it is they made called AaaaaAAaaaAAAaaAAAAaAAAAA!!!, and Popcannibal, a game developer company accidentally started by Ziba Scott who is sometimes thinking whether he should add "Games" on the company name or not. Sounds promising enough for you?

Elegy for a Dead World is available on Steam for Windows, Mac, and Linux. 


I'll be honest here I haven't play this game but from what I read it sounds like a pretty cool game and the "helping with writing" is mentioned a lot. So I think I'll give it a try to see if I could really improve my writings. Maybe I'll make a post about it here, if it's not too much of a disaster. 



For more gaming stuff..
Follow me, would you kindly?


Previous Posts:
Features I Wish to See in Future Fallout Game
Awesome Fan Made Dragon Age And Mass Effect Crossover
One More Upcoming Charming Monster Raising Game: Re:Legend


Images credit: Dejobaan Games

Sort:  

I love creativity and I would love to try this game, I'm sure it will provide a good experience to write about and share, nice one man, keep it up

Thank you. I'd love to try this too, though I'm not sure if I could make poetic sentences. But that's the point of the game, yes? To improve writing. A good game to play if you done slashing and hacking demons, monsters and such haha

I could definitely use a game like this, something to jog my creativity and move me to write something. Looking it up on Steam now and thanks for bringing this game to our attention!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66437.76
ETH 3321.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71