A trip back to 1999 in gaming history (Part 1)

in #gaming6 years ago (edited)

Taking a trip down memory lane to when life was not as complicated as it became years later and when you had to decide between a Mickey D's happy meal and a new game - is often quite rewarding as you may stumble on a long lost gem that only perfected with time and is just sitting there waiting for you to discover it all over again.
Although you might find yourself in a pit of disappointment at times as something that seemed so fascinating then, looks nothing like you remember it.
Before going any further I would like to note that it'd be really cool if you reading this would share your thoughts and opinions on the games I highlighted below as I (and probably most other people) am not well familiar with all of them and might have totally missed the awesomeness of some
Putting all that aside and not judging any of the below by today's standards (at least not in this post) I want to dive into what the year 1999 managed to show the world.
A trip back to 1999 in gaming history (Part 2)
A trip back to 1998 in gaming history (Part 1)
A trip back to 1998 in gaming history (Part 2)
A trip back to 1997 in gaming history (Part 1)
A trip back to 1997 in gaming history (Part 2)

Something for more classic-oriented readers: A trip back to 1991 in gaming history

  • Silent Hill

vhJHjpUpvrg.jpg

If you remember this, most likely you remember it from a PS1 and this game is the corner stone of the whole series not to mention it having a massive influence on the whole genre.

  • Mario Party

jhMnRbcFNeU.jpg

  • Heroes of Might and Magic III

HG-j6qHHcRs.jpg

A game that aged extremely well, everything that the first two parts of the game were designed as was brought to life with the third installment and was polished to be as close to perfection as a heroes game could ever be. A game that to this day is played by a huge worldwide community.

  • Star Wars: X-Wing Alliance

ucTs0yDc1e0.jpg

The last installment of the X-Wing series.

  • Everquest

HCRtHxQ6xc4.jpg

I could copy in some google facts about the game as I, myself did not have a go with it. Although I would much rather enjoy some details from people who played and and enjoyed (or not) the game in the comment section.

  • Rollercoaster Tycoon

ThuCTk586AM.jpg

  • Super Smash Bros.

9qfR4JYn8qY.jpg

Ever though of Pikachu beating the s**t out of Mario? Well guess what, this is exactly what this game is about! A seemingly bizarre idea that turned out to be an awesome game series.

  • Aliens versus Predator

KsnsvTdk0xk.jpg

Studio "Rebellion" decided to collide aliens, predators and humans which they did and created a cool and well balanced game system.

  • Pokemon Stadium

YQHfJO30WKw.jpg

  • Star Wars: Episode I Racer

xwkq3AUJNQc.jpg

  • Mechwarrior 3

JE2pH2c18Gs.jpg

  • Homeworld

IYjDqRhKkkM.jpg

A delightful sci-fi RTS from the future creators of "Company of Heroes"

-Might and Magic VII: For Blood and Honor

yNZX8YldhVs.jpg.

  • Descent 3

9nSSGVJYqb4.jpg

  • Grandia

WecY1Fad3WU.jpg

  • System Shock 2

PaKZ2xnj3rw.jpg

A fantastic cyber-punk stylized shooter, that had Ken Levine, himself working on it. System Shock showed how you can combine a first person shooter with RPG elements and inspired the even more fascinating Bioshock.

  • Outcast

OiouaG_PzWU.jpg

A quest game who's open world was too good to be true for 1999 (in my opinion ofc.)

  • Command & Conquer: Tiberian Sun

RisnLhCqqeo.jpg

Not saying anything here would say the most.

  • Final Fantasy VIII

VWqr8SyPia8.jpg

  • Tony Hawk's Pro Skater

lppH9lGHG7k.jpg

A game that was initially meant to be something totally different (it was supposed to be a downhill jam kind of thing only) put a start to a fantastic series with a lot of fans to this day, yet unfortunately the series itself did not end that well.

  • Soulcalibur

IDIMQUFyNNU.jpg

Again, a game that put a start to one of the best fighting series in gaming history with an innovative mechanic of wielding (and being able to lose) weapons.

  • Age of Empires II: The Age of King

fEejayC4ZYA.jpg

This is the end of my part one, please let me and everyone else know if there are any other awesome games that I might have missed here and share your thoughts on the above ones.
If you enjoyed the above - be absolutely sure to check out "A trip back to 1999 in gaming history (Part 2)"

Thanks.

Sort:  

You've been featured on today's curation post, Gaming Curation: Health potions on the house! + Giveaway: Lost Castle!

Played a number of these- Star Wars Racer was more fun than I expected, the whole X-Wing series was great, Descent was maddening because of the exact ability that made it great- moving in EVERY direction. Too much! And now they have a VR version that my PC unfortunately couldn't handle last time I tried it. haha. And of course Soul Calibur was (and still is) a great fighting game (side note: you can't lose weapons.) Oh, and Homeworld was epic. Never made it through the second one. And there are a ton of mods for it that I want to try- star trek, star gate, babylon 5. Those would be fun to check out.

You're absolutely correct about X-Wing I was actually really reluctant to try it as I just thought that I will not be into such things, but having tried that has proven the game to be really gamer friendly for even those who are not into flight simulator-like things. Good catch about the SoulCalibur bit, too bad, I can't edit these no more.

Great post! I really enjoyed it, you bring a lot of games together, I loved the first Mario party but my thumbs and in many cases all of my hand did not like the game so much since it got me blisters all around because of the excessive amount of mini-games based around making a circle with the joystick as fast as you can, which tended to ruin your N64 controls too.

I've always found N64 controllers to be too fragile for the type of games they released :)

I'm all in whenever we're talking Nintendo since I joined this whole universe of gaming when the 64 arrived. I have fond memories with Mario party and Smash bros. One of them evolved into one of the most recognizable fighting games to this day and the other one just seems kindof stale now, that's the only thing I have to say for 'em. Good post!

Thanks for the feedback! Any suggestion what year you would like to see here?(next one coming up is 1991)

I'd like 1997 since that's the year I was born!

You will see a 1997 post soon, good sir!

damn good writeup I like it! will hopefully inspire people to go back and play some of these gems we grew up with!
If I could make one suggestion it would be to go into a bit more detail about what made you like each game. Keep doing what you are doing.

Thanks for the feedback! This is actually something I was planning to do, once I'm done with my "A trip back..." post series I wanted to make a series of posts focusing in detail on the story behind individual titles.
And later wanted to get some gaming bloggers (mostly the ones that are into older games to an extend) to do a collaborative series of posts.

First game, Silent Hill. That's my favorite game series. I may stream them soon if you want to watch. My @ for my gaming channel is @NicePasta

Yeah, I'd love to watch that. Remember how the first silent hill game scared the crap out of me as a kid

Still terrifies me today. And hey, I'm actually about to do some gamedev of a spiritual successor on Dlive in a few minutes. :)

Awesome! Yet I'll have to watch it as a recording in the evening though (European evening)

haha, I rage quit because I didn't realize I had a version of UE4 from like 3 years ago. :P I'll do another one soon xD

OOOOO RCT1 and Grandia!! So many great games on this list! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59708.78
ETH 3185.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45