Become A Better Game Master and Storyteller #1steemCreated with Sketch.

in #gaming8 years ago (edited)

Tabletop Roleplaying games like Dungeons & Dragons, are an essential part of my life. They help me get in touch with the part of my mind that many people me seem to have given up on -- Imagination.

For those of you who aren’t familiar with Tabletop roleplaying games, the concept is simple: Everyone sits around a table. They take on the persona of a character that (in most games) they created, those characters exist in a world called a campaign setting, then they use dice a tool for creating the randomness of the world.

I found my first D&D adventure in a used book store. It was a purple box with the word, Menzoberranzan on it, and it smelled like cigarettes. I loved the art and was blown away by all the monsters and maps inside the box. Of course, I had no idea how the rules worked, but that doesn’t matter when you’re twelve. I spent most of my youth playing as a character, but eventually took on the challenge of Dungeon Mastering.

What is a Dungeon Master?

The Dungeon Master (or Game Master) is the person who runs the storyline for the adventures. As the DM (or GM) you create an interactive experience for everyone playing, developing problems to solve, giving the group monsters to fight, providing all of the other personalities in the game, from the shopkeep to the evil overlord, but most importantly — the Dungeon Master is the storyteller.

That said, I want to share with you a few tips on Dungeon Mastering that can help you make the most of your games. I have plans to keep this going as a series, maybe even produce some steemit only video content on the subject. So, let me know what you think — I’d love feedback.

Give every episode a Character focus.

All your players want to feel like they have a special purpose in the game. So, try to focus each session on one particular player. Try to do something special for them, reveal a piece of their story, give them an item unique to them, or a moment where they can save or ruin the day.

Then when the finale happens, give each character a special role they need to fill to defeat the big-bad.

I suggest implementing a hero point system. Essentially, when heroes do something extra heroic, they’re rewarded with a point that lets them auto-succeed at an action in the future. Many games have a system like this built into them — if the game you’re playing doesn’t — try implementing one. Pathfinder has a standard hero point system that can be attached to most tabletop games.

For something extra special, check out Star Wars: Edge of Empire’s force point system. the It’s exceptionally fun and can be incorporated into other game systems with a bit of tinkering.

The basic concept is simple: At the beginning of each session, each character rolls a die that has black dots and white dots it. All the white dots are a hero point pool for the players, black are villian points for the DM. Using one gives you free successes, opportunities to act out of turn, or pretty much any other rule-breaking storytelling moment. Once a point is used, it gets transferred to the other side. In other words, if a player uses a hero point, then that hero point becomes a villain point. If a DM uses a villain point, it becomes a hero point.

Make the heroes suffer.

When I was in school for screenwriting, one of my teachers said a major problem she sees with student’s screenplays is that they protect their protagonists. If you want the story to be interesting, “make your heroes suffer.”

Your players will act like they can’t die if they don’t believe it’s possible, you need to make them feel like they can and will die, if they are foolhardy and don’t work as a team.

Raise the stakes, by having death hot on their heels. To make this happen, I implement a variety of “pain and suffering” rules. You don’t have to use them all, but pick at least one to play around with — here are a few:

  • Magical healing seals wounds, but leaves scars.
  • After bloody wars, deaths in the party, and horrific scenes. Players roll for (Willpower saves or equivalent) for trauma. The Dungeon Master decides how failure affects the character.
  • Characters who take over 50% damage in one hit roll for severe damage. Severed limbs, missing eyes, massive scars, etc. Pathfinder has pretty fantastic massive damage rules.
  • Cure potions/healing spells are 50% less effective each time their used during a 24 hour period.
  • When you get chances to ruin character’s nice things, do it. There are always more nice things.

End before the group is ready.

Most Tabletop games last between four and six hours. They generally end with a bunch of fairly tired players. Believe it or not, your imagination uses up a ton of your metal juice.

Challenge yourself to end the game on a high point and end it early. If you, normally, play in four hour sessions. Try to end the game at three hours. Leave your players with energy left for discussion afterwards, and pumped for the next game.

As an added bonus, shorter games keep the players paying attention, and in character. Anyone who’s been through an eight-hour dungeon crawl has experienced quality of game play slipping and their characters are acting radically different than during that first hour.

If you keep the games short, you’ll keep the players sharp.

Sources: Menzoberranzan, Time

More on Game Mastering and Storytelling: Secrets and Motivations


Wizards of the Coast, Dungeons & Dragons, and their logos are trademarks of Wizards of the Coast LLC in the United States and other countries. © 2015 Wizards. All Rights Reserved. This @decimus steemit blog is not affiliated with, endorsed, sponsored, or specifically approved by Wizards of the Coast LLC. Decimus may use the trademarks and other intellectual property of Wizards of the Coast LLC, which is permitted under Wizards' Fan Site Policy.


I’m Decimus.


I write, I teach, I tell stories. Read my intro post.

Sort:  

"In other words, if a player uses a hero point, then that hero point becomes a villain point. If a DM uses a villain point, it becomes a hero point."

I like that mechanic better than the 'fate points' my DM stole from Warhammer. Have you played any of the narrativist games where the players have more control?
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/GNS_theory

I'm assuming games systems like Apocalypse World or Burning Wheel are GNS? Where it's all player based rather than GM heavy. Is that right? If not, can you give me some examples of game systems? I'd love to try one out.

There's a spectrum. Games like The Mountain Witch still have a GM, though the players can over-rule certain plot points with tokens. Games like Fiasco or Diaspora almost dispense with the GM and have the story emerge out of player interaction.

Oh, I own Fiasco and Microscope, both excellent games. I've played them a bunch of times. I'll have to check out Mountain Witch and Diaspora. Thanks!

I don't know Microscope. What's that like?

Very good post!

I know nothing about gaming but know lots of folks who do, so this is fascinating to me! Thanks for the post :)

No problem -- Thanks for reading!

Part of me misses the fun & mayhem that was D&D - tougher these days to find a group of players, much less organize get togethers.. I've played around with the idea of online games over Skype or other meeting software.

I've never played online -- for me it almost defeats the purpose, I need to have people there with me. That said, I know a lot of people who enjoy playing online.

Tabletop D&D is something I never had a chance to play, would like to. Closest was some Warhammer 40k when I was young.

Yeah! I played Warhammer Fantasy in High School.

I miss table top RPG

I always go Rogue. Live outlet for my fantasies and shadow nature! lol

Rogues are great. Super-fun class.

Board games should be publicized too. The present generation is too much into computer gaming. Thanks for sharing.

No problem, and I agree. I wrote a whole post on my recent escape from video games. There are plenty of amazing tabletop games.

Been playing and Dm-ing (Gm-ing) since high school. I'm a prefer White Wolf's World of Darkness (esp. Mage), but I'll take what I can get these days (getting a group together can be a bit of a challenge. Anyway, great post. Definitely upvoted.

I love Mage, haven't played in years. World of Darkness is great. Thanks for the upvote.

Dice cast in the dungeon of the Demi-Lich Asererack! AWESOME POST!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59987.83
ETH 2418.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41