10 of the best weapons in video game history

in #gaming7 years ago

So, I wanted to do something a bit more whimsical than my normal game reviews and decided to write up a post with my thoughts on what are the 10 best weapons in video games. Of course, these are just my opinions and I'm sure they will differ from some of yours. But, I thought this would be an interesting piece of content that would spice things up a bit and hopefully some of you will get a kick out of it. I will be counting down in order of my least to best in terms of favorites, though everything I mention in this list is rad in my opinion. So, with that out of the way, let's get on with the list!

10. The Crowbar (Half Life)

Probably one of the most iconic, yet simple weapons in gaming history: The Crowbar from Half Life. To most people, a crowbar would just be a simple tool, quite primitive compared to basically any other weapon in video games. However, in Half Life this was a lifeline that your character had to hold onto for dear life at the start of the game. The crowbar was a handy dandy melee weapon which I used a lot to beat off head crabs from taking over my mind. It also was always there as a last resort should I be running low on ammo, and was useful for smashing away at an enemies health. Although this might seem kinda lame to some of you, I just had to include it on the list.

9. The Lancer (Gears Of War)

I figured to start off this list I'd pick a weapon from gaming that I was quite familiar with, and one that is pretty hard to beat overall. This led me to the Lancer from the Gears of War series. This firearm from a distance works as a generally accurate and powerful assault rifle, capable of bringing down almost all of your foes. The really fun part of this weapon though is when you get up close and personal with an enemy, as it has an awesome chainsaw built into the bottom portion that allows you to saw your enemies in bloody halves. I just never got tired of doing this as I played through the series, and it always had some feeling of satisfaction to it.

8. The Keyblade (Kingdom Hearts)

I had to include this one in the list, since I have so much childhood nostalgia when I see it. There's no doubt in my mind that Sora's Keyblade is probably one of the most iconic melee weapons around, especially within an RPG series. Kingdom Hearts had some of the most entertaining combat using these neat little weapons, and the amount of forms that these things could take was almost never ending it seemed. The name for it is very fitting, as it's more or less a magical blade that can be altered with the power of light or darkness. It's other awesome ability, however, is that it's able to open or seal barriers to other worlds. There's plenty of reason to admire such an interesting weapon, especially when used in conjuction to perform ultimate moves.

7. The Magnum (Resident Evil 2)

Finding the magnum pistol from Resident Evil 2 was one of the more difficult things to accomplish, as it's parts were scattered throughout the game in sometimes obscure places. However, once you found it all, you realize it was well worth all of the effort. This handgun put out so much damage that it was a waste to use it on anything but bosses. And, I'm not saying that just because the ammo was somewhat scarce for it. This pistol would shred through just about any boss in the game, and was one of the most dominating weapons in any survival game that I have played. It was always nice to have as well if you found yourself short on ammo for your other firearms, as it would make a bloody mess out of any zombie that dares cross your path. It left a memorable place in my heart, which is how it figures into this list.

6. The BFG (DOOM)

The BFG, aptly named considering how big the thing is was the most devastating and powerful weapon you could find in the DOOM series. There is no better weapon capable of destroying a room full of demon scum than using this thing. Although it needs to be charged to use, it's still hands down the most impressionable weapon within the DOOM series. Part of the attraction to this gun is the name, but I definitely have to say it's one of the strongest weapons we've seen in a game ever. And, I feel that I must not be the only one who feels that way considering how many times it's been reintroduced over the years in gaming.

5. The Plasma Cutter (Dead Space)

I'm sure that anyone who read my username before opening this was probably expecting to see this on the list, which you should have regardless. When it comes down to absolutely needing to annihilate mutated undead alien monsters, the Plasma Cutter is your answer. Originally this weapon was used for mineral mining to cut through rock, however, it suits Isaac Clarke's needs much better. This plasma laser weapon does an amazing job at slicing and dicing your enemies in a gory way with it's triple beams which can fire either horizontally or vertically depending on your needs. All you have to really do is time your shots right and have steady aim, and your enemies will be burnt through like alien zombie butter. You never really have to worry about ammo being too far either, as you'll collect it from enemy corpses and through breaking items in the environment. I have very fond memories of this weapon, as I can't tell you how many times it served me while I was screaming and yelling at the top of my lungs.

4. The Buster Sword (Final Fantasy VII)

I had a tough time choosing between Cloud's colossal Buster Sword and Sephiroth's Masamune, but ultimately chose the Buster Sword. I truly think this is probably the most iconic weapon from any Final Fantasy game made, and is one of the most iconic weapons for an RPG in general. It's huge, wide, and looks like it would be awkward to wield for someone of Cloud's stature. Yet, he wields it quite easily and uses it's immense power to battle against a multitude of enemies and one of the greatest villains from any series period. I'd definitely consider this to me a memorable weapon.

3. The Master Sword (The Legend of Zelda Series)

The Master Sword has been used throughout the Zelda series, and with good reason. Each time it's been introduced, it's like a re-imagining of the classic sword in the stone story. The sword become more than just an epic weapon, it become a symbol of where Link's destiny lies as The Hero of Time. When Link received it originally, it was too large for him to carry along. However, it's the perfect size for adult link, showing again to be a symbol of his growth over time. Along with it's magical abilities it had an attractive and colorful appearance which was quite catching to the eye. I would definitely say this is the most iconic melee weapon out of any video game, period.

2. The Plasma Grenade (Halo 3)

This might come as kind of an odd choice, especially for this far into the list. But, this grenade was and always will be one of my all time favorite weapons in video games. These blue sticky balls of death led to some of the most brilliant and funny moments in my entire gaming career on Halo 3. I know, I know, what about the magnum? What about the BR, or the energy sword? But, these plasma grenades will always be my favorite. I basically treated these things like the martyrdom perk from COD, where if I knew I'd probably die I'd just let it happen but make sure to lob one onto my opponents head without them even realizing it. If I recall correctly, I had about 2k kills with these little glowing balls by the time I stopped playing online. Even in the campaign mode on Halo, these things could make all the difference on surviving while trying to get achievements since the enemies tend to give up fighting and proceed to freak out once these things stuck. Maybe it's a bit of nosaglia, but these grenades intertwined a lot with my teenage gaming years.

1. Fatman (Fallout 3/New Vegas)

Finally, we're at my number 1 choice of weaponry. And, of course it had to come from my two of my favorite RPG titles ever made. The Fatman from Fallout 3 and New Vegas was the incarnation of destruction and technology in video games for me. The Fallout series is set in the time of a nuclear wasteland, but not everything is so grim and bleak. Some things are just almost magical in a way, such as the Fatman tactical nuke launcher. These wonderful gadgets allowed one to shoot a small range nuclear device upon their enemy. Not only did this thing basically wipe out any monster, mutant, or poor raider that got in my way, it even gave me that oh so satisfying feeling once I saw the miniature mushroom cloud bloom and the carnage leftover. This thing would leave chunks of the world irritated from the damage it left behind, it was absolutely glorious. I can hardly think of many weapons in games that beat out firing your own personal nuke.

Anyways, thanks for checking out my article. Let me know in the comments on what weapons you think I may have overlooked! Hopefully you guys have enjoyed this more lighthearted type of content, as I wouldn't mind mixing these kinds of posts in with my reviews.

Sort:  

sticky nades!

cat.jpg

Ah, the kitty cat silencer from POSTAL 2. How could I have forgotten that amazing part of gaming history.

...when i read the title..my first thought was: a crowbar. Lol....i played lots of escape games in my time and that was always a must to find when trying to get out. The thing is...if I was actually stuck someplace in real life I doubt id find it. Not like I see em laying around just waiting for them to be picked up.

You don't keep a crowbar in your toolbox? And in your car? For emergencies? And when you need to rip up carpet?

A claw hammer works almost as well, and most people have one of those lying around somewhere.

Great list, would have liked to see any for the weapons from God of War make the list.

The crowbar. Excellent. Anything from dead space. YES! And the buster sword. Of course!
Nice list. Glad the crowbar continued to be a staple through the HL series. None of the sequels lived up to how friggin great the first Dead Space was. There's a lot of interesting weapons in the FF series (gun blades haha), but the buster sword has to be the most iconic.

Thanks! And, I thought that the second game was pretty close to being as good as the first game, in my opinion.The third game was the bigger letdown for me since it wasn't even remotely a horror game, and was more of an action/survival title with some minor horror elements in it. I love all things Dead Space, though, lol.

Yeah, Final Fantasy has a ton of interesting weapons and there was a lot to choose from. FF7 though had the most iconic characters for me, and I felt like the Buster sword was probably the most recognizable while also still being pretty strong.

Agree about FF7. That game is legendary in my childhood memories.

I suppose with Dead Space 2 I just felt a lot of the gore and scariness was forced. Everything in the first game flowed so well, fit with the atmosphere, progressed naturally. My expectations could have been overly high too, since I enjoyed the first one so much. I enjoyed some gameplay elements they added with the second one though. And yeah, I played the third one once, laughed, and forgot about it.

I mean, it definitely wasn't as good as the first game. But, there were some intense, brutal moments in the game and some very interesting and fucked up enemy concepts. The introduction of the necromorph babies was pretty messed up to me at the time, and I also remember the introduction to the game being pretty unexpected, since you have a guy with a melting face turning into a monster on your ass in about 45 seconds, haha.

There were a decent amount of memorable moments in DS2 as well besides the intro, like reexporting the Ishimura, encountering the stalkers for the first time, going through the maternity ward area, the eyeball section, and then trying to cut your way through the army of never ending necromorphs at the end. I think it was still a successful horror game with some good atmosphere, fun combat, interesting enemy designs, and I liked the introduction of an actual personality for the protagonist. The space dementia was pretty cool, too :P

Yeah, I played about 6 hours into DS3 and then just said fuck this, I'll finish it later on and never got around to it. I thought it was still a competent game and everything, but it just was not the same as the other 2 games at all.

I think it would have been okay to transition it into more of an action game, but they had to keep the core horror elements as well which they didn't do. If they were going to do what they did no matter what, they should have aimed to do something like what Resident Evil 4 did. Instead, they just went with more of a Resident evil 5/6 approach and fucked it all up.

I doubt it's categorized as weapon

You know, I would say that you should have added in something like the sword of 1,000 truths, since it was featured on south park as well! Awesome list though.

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Steem is behaving weird in low voting percentages, so actual votes can diverge by up to 1 voting percent point.
Nice, you got a 2.0% @minnowbooster upgoat, thanks to @deadspace
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @deadspace to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here! || Click here to participate in the @OriginalWorks sponsored writing contest(125 SBD in prizes)!!!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

As expected HL crowbar is on the list.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63098.94
ETH 2621.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74