So you wanna start collecting?

in #gaming6 years ago

We've all seen the people with the walls of video games in their houses. Boxes upon boxes, controllers, consoles, posters, the whole nine yards. People like MetalJesusRocks have made names for themselves on Youtube, talking about their collections. And with good reason! It's a passion, it's a motivator. It drives them to find that next item!

collectables.jpg
(Image Source: Go Motivational Posters! Facebook group. Downloaded circa 2007, image author unknown)

All snarky jokes aside, collecting anything can be a lot of fun. It's a rewarding hobby, but it's very easy to turn into a hoarder without trying. It's also very easy to drop a lot of money into a collection. So today, I'm going to break down a couple things that can help you in the long run.

1. Figure out what you want to collect

This is by far the most important part. It's very easy to want to collect EVERYTHING, but this is simply impossible. Instead, focus on one or two things that you really like, and build out from there. Case in point, one of my obsessions is Dance Dance Revolution. Back in 2015, I picked up 5 DDR mixes while visiting Tokyo:

20150528_150818.jpg

When I got home and looked at all the games I owned, I realized that it wouldn't be terribly difficult to take this and start going for a complete set of PS1 DDR mixes. After looking into how many mixes were in existence, I started researching prices, and watching eBay. Eventually, I found the last piece, at a decent price, and I pounced on it. With that, I had a complete set!

20160902_200312[1].jpg

Once you finish one collecting goal, THEN you move on to the next one. But don't try and bite off more than you can chew. It's very easy to find yourself holding bits and pieces of incomplete sets. But, that does lead me to my next tip:

2. Know what you want to collect, and be happy with your stopping point

Having a complete set of EVERY game released on a platform is a huge undertaking. Consoles have hundreds of games released, and grabbing all of them is very, very difficult! That makes collections like Kacy da Game Nerd's Wii collection so impressive:

But you don't NEED to be like that. You can make a decent collection of the games that matter to YOU. And when you show your collection, it's personal, it's yours, and you should be happy with what you have. Now, this isn't meant to shame you if you want to go for a complete plaftorm lineup. If you want to go for it, go nuts! The important point is to be happy. Especially if budgets are a concern. Speaking of...

3. Be aware of your budget

This is the important one. We're not all made of money, we can't afford everything we want in the world. So it's important to buy when you feel the time is right. And a lot of times, if you're looking to start collecting, the best time to start is at the end of a console's life cycle. Stores like Gamestop are liquidating their inventory, regularly offering Buy 2, Get 1 Free specials. The prices are lower, too! Case in point, my N64 collection:

20160729_114448.jpg

The majority of these games were purchased around 2004-2007. My copy of Goldeneye 007 was $7. Mario Kart 64 was $20. Nowadays, they're worth a lot more. But the local EB Games was trying to get rid of their N64 inventory when I was buying. I'm kicking myself for not picking up Starcraft 64 when they had it for $30. That was a mistake!

Obviously, you'll want to plan your budget according to what you're looking for. I'm in the process of tracking down the last two PS2 DDR mixes for a complete PS2 set. They're going to set me back $80 and $130, respectively. Whatever you're looking to grab, timing can be just as important as finding it.

4. Never understimate the power of secondhand charity shops

This one is huge. Goodwill stores are a great place for chance encounters with rare video games. Case in point, my Sega Saturn. Managed to pick it up with a 6 button controller, a 3D controller, and an arcade stick, for $20 back in 2006. It's now worth about $150. The only downside to Goodwill stores is that they now watch for what they think will be valuable, and a lot of it goes into their silent auctions now. But if you're lucky, you can snag a great game at a killer price. When that does happen, be happy, but realize it's not a common occurrence. Still, it's worth poking your head in the door on a regular basis.

5. HAVE FUN!!!

This is the most important one. collect because you love what you're collecting. If you're not enjoying it, you're not going to be successful. Make sure you love what you do, and have fun doing it. That's the most imporant part!

While this isn't very deep on specifics, I feel like this covers a lot of the important concepts that are really relevant to game collecting. But, you can apply a lot of this to collecting pretty much anything under the sun! If you like content like this, mash that like button. It helps me know what content I should be making here on Steemit.

Sort:  

So I collected Hero Clicks way back when they first started selling them when they were on in the Marvel Universe way in the early 2000's. I had an extensive collection. My nerd new no bounds. Now they just sit on my work station, my wife is less that impressed with their awesomeness.

But you had fun collecting them, right? Half the fun is the hunt! There's that satisfaction when you finally find that one item you were looking for.

I actually had a lot of fun with them. My buddies were into D&D, which I didn't have the endurance nor the comprehension for, but these I loved. Well still love. I would like to fire my collection back up. Maybe in time.

I had always thought that D&D was the coolest thing you could have in a house. I would definitely love to have a collection of that, and be able to play it, because I haven't had the chance to do it. Hero Clicks? I don't know them, I'll google them.

I'm not so much in agreement with the fun of looking for it, it seems to me that you feel more satisfaction when you have them, and a feeling of challenge when you think about the next one, than the hunt itself.

Greetings!

I got into Dreamblade back in 2006. That was a failure of a game, but damn if it wasn't fun...

ah, 'DDR freak' in l337 speak, I get it now :-)

There you go!

Woa! That's a lot of cool stuff you've got there @ddrfr33k. Now i know what "ddr" means haha. I wish i also had a collection of console cards like yours. As a gamer, that stuffs are like gems. So precious!

And a lot of it was collected at end of life. If you really want to collect right now, it's a great time to build out an Xbox 360 or PS3 collection. Game stores are looking to liquidate their inventory, and prices are the best they'll be for a long time.

Congratulations! GamersUnited has chosen this post as our post of the day - so we've resteemed it!

Keep up the excellent content, and be sure to use the hashtag #GamersUnited in your future posts for a chance to be featured in our upcoming daily gaming digest posts!


Gamers United


Discord: https://discord.gg/tyQQ9a2

Solid work mate. Keep up the good work!

Thank you! I'm pretty proud of my collection so far. It's taken me a long time to get here, but I'm glad I'm here.

so cool!!..so want a super nes collection..this is my collect atm.

Hows this for a score...reversing out my drive way and noticed some boxes on the other side of the road put out for the garbage truck..I had a quick look as I drove by and was like hang on a sec..got out had all these with a broken master system 2..got manuals and all haha :P.

IMG_20180318_002348.jpg

Dude, that's exactly how you score! Nicely done!

SNES is a great system to collect, but prices are pretty ridiculous for a lot of games. Be prepared to be patient, and wait for the right deal to come along. You may also want to look into a retron 5 for playing your games. I'll do up a review post on that one later.

man just seeing all the old games just brings in memories

Nostalgia can be a great motivator for collecting! Have you thought about going for that?

Man, this was great to me.You've motivated me to start making collections of things. Even though I live in a country like Venezuela, I will do my best to collect things about what I like. I'll start with something I can do for free, collect types of materials at Minecraft. All that it would take me for it is my time :)

Thanks for your content, keep it up, I'll follow you and give you upvote.

Omg N64 games, the memories!! I have to go find mine.

With cryptos being a newish thing to me I have taken interest in collecting the physical coins you can buy on Ebay. its building slowly.

I raised them because I bought at the right time for collecting. It's infinitely easier to collect for a system when everyone is offloading their supply. Cheap prices, plentiful sellers.

ABASINKANGA RESTEEM SERVICE

  • This post just got resteemed to 5350 followers.
  • For anyone to use my resteem service, send 0.1 SBD to @abasinkanga + post link as memo.
  • Upvote this comment if you like this service.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59452.12
ETH 2603.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39