Tales of a Filthy Casual PT4 - Enter the MOBA

in #gaming7 years ago

PT1:https://steemit.com/gaming/@cheersbro/tales-of-a-filthy-casual-pt1
PT2: https://steemit.com/gaming/@cheersbro/tales-of-a-filthy-casual-pt2-fps-and-me
PT3: https://steemit.com/gaming/@cheersbro/tales-of-a-filthy-casual-pt3-hack-n-slash

MOBA, a multi-player battle arena. A team game where you run lane to take an enemy base. A genre known for it high levels of toxic players. This competitive game is highly PVP based and for some reason brings out the absolute worst in people. Everyone seems to know everything about how and who you should be playing and everyone who is not them apparently sucks. For the most part this a dark area of gaming no casual should enter. Players take it seriously, very very seriously, even when playing against bots in an unranked "casual" match.

League of Ledgends, the height of toxic, known more for being toxic rather than game play. I tried, I cried, I left it to the unsupervised angry 14yr olds

DOTA2, based off a Warcraft 3 mod. I saw, I got sworn at, I learned I don't speak Russian. I left.

Then Blizzard made Heroes of the Storm. A MOBA where the characters are based off other Blizzard games. Had some familiarity from my WoW and Diablo days. I dropped in and played a bit with my friends off and on during beta. Then in one game while I was playing with friends in beta, I was playing a character I never played before. We played against bots in a nice casual game. We where all still learning. While running my lane some one stated chirping in chat. I needed to come kill bots in the middle of the map and not run a lane and how dare I not have been there already. So to the middle I go. Where as a noob, playing with noobs against noob bots I don't get a kill, mostly as yelly chat guy is spamming not nice things to me and my friend dies. This is somehow my fault and he tells me to go F myself. This was the last straw of dealing with people. I dont play games to be yelled at and insulted by angry people who can't relax, who seem to even get mad at you when you do well. So I quit. Uninstalled. Went back to offline single player games; Tomb Raider, Wolfenstien, a dabble of others on my steam library and even some Ratchet and Clank on PlayStation.

Then one day Blizzard offers me a bunch of characters to add to my collection in Heroes of the Storm if I just log in. This means I don't have to earn them or get them in loot crates, I don't have to wait until they are on free rotation. I figure that I might not pick up the game again, but its free and why not. Thats when I notice that Blizzard has learned how toxic and rude MOBA players are. They changed the game for me, they made one of the most toxic anti-causal genres playable for a filthy casual. They gave the option to mute allied chat, you can still chat with your party if you are in one, but not with the randoms. They also brought in the option to mute pings, you know for that one guy who needs to ping the map 30 times, in case you didn't see it the first 5 times. With games that last 15mins-30mins its a great game when you want some pvp action but only have a limited time, its also an ELO style rating system so you don't get matched with people way out of your league.
Now I know in team games there should be communication and team work. But usually there is just salt and swearing, so in a casual game against bots or people I can safely enjoy the MOBA PVP action as a filthy casual.

So there are games out there for the filthy casual, even though we live in a world of online multiplayer aimed at people who can and will dedicate time to being top of the charts. There are a still a few games in that competitive world for us casuals.

Sort:  

What's up Steemians ?? If you post a new post , comment @originalworks or !originalworks to receive a 1.5% upvote by n bot if your content is original .

tenor (3).gif

Keep Calm And Steem On :)

Please Follow , Resteem , Upvote or Comment - @jacoknoetze

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @cheersbro to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Congratulations @cheersbro! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @cheersbro! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 56422.84
ETH 2981.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.19