Tales of a Filthy Casual PT2 - FPS and me

in #gaming7 years ago (edited)

PT1: https://steemit.com/gaming/@cheersbro/tales-of-a-filthy-casual-pt1

Where does a Filthy Casual fit in the world of FPS (first person shooters)? This is a competitive genre, the stuff of esports and bragging rights. I have dabbled in several FPS games in search for a drop in and drop out, a game on my time, a game where one can 'git gud' by playing only when I can play, where I can play against those of my skill lvl. And I found several.

Team Fortress 2 is a team based F2P shooter done by Valve, sure you can spend money on cosmetic items but nothing that actually gives any advantage to game play. A true free game. As a casual player the nice thing about TF2 is the ability to drop in and out of games. There is no penalty if you just leave a game. I was able to turn off voice completely which was nice and there are many kids, mic spammers and generally rude people on voice. However you cannot turn off chat, which can become tiresome to see. TF2 has added more features such as competitive mode and an ELO style of match making. However as the community is fairly toxic and the good private servers seem to have all disappeared (these where servers where people played the objective of the map) I stopped playing about a year ago, it just wasn't as fun anymore.

Unreal Tournament 4 is a team based FPS that also has FFA (free for all) modes. It is the definition of a twitch shooter. It is also ELO based. There is a penalty for dropping games, but the games are usually a decent length of time, good for a casual who enjoys a fast paced shooter. The community for the game is still small and so far has remained fairly decent, there are some toxic people, but overall as it is a community based game it remains friendly.

CSGO is a toxic shooter full of angry people that I will not go anywhere near. I have heard it has a casual mode, but I have not encountered anything positive about the people who play this game and quickly uninstalled it.

Overwatch is a team based game by Blizzard. One of the things Blizzard does really, really well for filthy casuals like me is give me the option to not have team chat (the community is pretty toxic) or voice chat but I could still have team chat to play with my friends. Blizzard also has pretty good customization with options such as the ability to turn off character voices. I don't really play it much, Im more in to ARPGS and MOBAS at the moment as you can read in P3.

Im sure there are more shooters out there, some great for casuals and noobs, some not, these are the ones I have gone to to scratch my shooter itch.

https://steemit.com/gaming/@cheersbro/tales-of-a-filthy-casual-pt3-hack-n-slash

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 60756.34
ETH 3373.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51