Tales of a Filthy Casual PT3 - Hack n Slash

in #gaming7 years ago

PT1:https://steemit.com/gaming/@cheersbro/tales-of-a-filthy-casual-pt1
PT2: https://steemit.com/gaming/@cheersbro/tales-of-a-filthy-casual-pt2-fps-and-me

With FPSs being a good for when I feel the need to get some quick paced action. ARPGS are great for a casuals like me, there story, classes, skill trees, hacking and slashing and in some cases leagues and leader boards. There are some great ARPGs such as Divinity Original Sin, Grim Dawn and many others. But there is also a few online that add a bit of competitiveness, trading and even PVP to the mix.

Probably the most well know ARPG (action-role playing game) is Blizzards Diablo. Diablo 3 has leagues, PUGSs (pick up groups) and leader boards. You can go at your own pace getting to end game or team up with friends but the ARPG that keeps this filthy casuals attention is Path of Exile.

Path of Exile is a F2P ARPG, its F2P done right, only cosmetic, but its so much more. This ever expanding game (which has recently updated yet again) offers everything a filthy casual like me could want. It has a typical standard league, which updates as updates come but doesnt end. It has hardcore and softcore modes and the best part of hardcore for the casual is if your hardcore character dies it just goes to softcore with all the gear its wearing/carrying. There are leagues that generally last about 3 month, they offer a little something different from standard and have leaderboards and a chance to earn cosmetics. As a filthy casual I rarely get to jump in the moment a league opens, I will never be the first character to enter an area or kill a boss, no one will be following my twitch, but with 3 months I can still play at my pace, with my friends or a PUG on my time. To top it off they started a "self found" mode, where you do not need to trade or deal with other players offering a harder but personally more enjoyable experience as I don't always have the time or energy to find people online with the item I need for the currency I have. The community is not too toxic, but they can be pretty bitter, lucklly outside finding a build or looking up a skill this could-be mmoarpg works well as a single player and co-op game for a casual like me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67544.78
ETH 3225.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65