The freedom of the universe in Divinity: Original Sin

in #gaming6 years ago (edited)

divinity-original-sin-listing-thumb-01-ps4-eu-06oct15.png

2017 is the year in which Divinity: Original Sin 2 was released, I started the original at the beginning of last year. At first I had never heard of the game, until my friend came on with the game for PlayStation 4. He then claimed that it is a Diablo-like game that can be played co-op with split screen.

When we started playing, however, this turned out not to be true. I did not mind at all, because I'm actually not a Diablo fan. It is true that Divinity: Original Sin uses an isometric perspective, but that is what it is said to be. We ended up in a colorful RPG with a freedom and style that I could only dream about. In combination with a D & D-like character sheet and the possibility to communicate with animals, this is by far the best game I played in 2017.

DOS_0047.jpg

Bring it on

In the beginning we played together in Tactician Mode and we made Cyseal unsafe with our clumsily composed party of moderate magicians and passive paladins. Because we did not know exactly where to go and because some fights were really tough (especially because we were fighting in the wrong place for our level), my friend quickly lost his passion for the game. We stopped playing and did not touch the game until I started my master's thesis a few weeks later. That means that outside of writing I was looking for a good distraction and quickly found Divinity: Original Sin.

When I start a tactical rpg, I go on an adventure to prove my intelligence. After all, it is not about good reflexes or the precision and speed with which you can shoot. No, it's about tactics, a strategic thinking game; I feel challenged. So when I saw 'Honor Mode' on the home screen, Tactician Mode was not enough for me. I chose this mode because it would delete my save if my two heroes would both die. Nice, I thought, that adds at least some tension.

345954681.jpg

And that did it, time after time I died, until I finally realized that the magic can be very overpowered and that the grateful, undead Nick and my loyal spider serve as a meat shield and for extra actions. How could I have missed this? Now I knew that I had the tools to overcome my obstacles. Easy, I thought then. That was not it, but I succeeded.

Humor and freedom

The fact that I love tactical games has been clear to me for a long time. Yet the style, atmosphere and tone of the game determine how much effort I want to put into it. With Divinity: Original Sin it was immediately striking. The world is colorful and big, the characters fun and what is perhaps most important to me: the game does not seem to take itself too seriously. I often laughed at the toll troll his son tries to learn some decency, which seems to go completely against his nature. I also enjoyed the many songs and one-liners of the inhabitants of Cyseal and the fantastic exaggerated response of the heroes to certain situations. When it rains, one says for example: "My kingdom for a dry shirt!" Admittedly, it must be your thing, but I can appreciate it.

DOS_0048.jpg

Yet the depth of the mechanics and dynamics of Divinity: Original Sin does not go wrong for the aforementioned humoristic elements. If you lose a fight, you always owe this to yourself. When you position your characters well, your party is balanced and your strategy is right, you always win. You also have to take your environment into account; sometimes you can for example enemies just teleport the lava! In this way an enemy is in one turn instead of multiple reports. Thinking out of the box often saves you a lot of turns.

You also have to think carefully about who you want to kill and not. Almost everyone can die, including traders and people you need for quests. If you choose to end their lives, you can not ask them anything or buy anything from them. Indeed, freedom comes with responsibility.

Divinity-Original-Sin-2-Review-Shot-(7).jpg

Hardcore co-op

When my friend noticed how deep I was in the game, he wanted to play again. Then we started together in Honor Mode and we also finished it together. The fact that you can work with split screen and therefore do not have to stay together, but have the possibility to recombine the screen, is extremely nice. If I wanted to buy new spell books and he went looking for new equipment, we did not get in each other's way. Later on we would always come together again to come to a tactic together to defeat the new enemy.

DOS_0046.jpg

Co-op also helps to eliminate the big downside of the innumerable, invisible traps that lie everywhere and can kill you in one go. You simply agree that the person with the highest perception is a bit ahead. In this way not everyone dies at the same time and the precious save file can still be saved. Playing together does not prevent anything and adds an extra dimension to the game. I have rarely played a nicer co-op.

So I am looking forward to picking up Divinity: Original Sin 2 and to be immersed in a colorful, big world full of possibilities and new characters. Hopefully the game will soon be on PlayStation 4.

Thanks for reading, I hope you liked it!

Steem's Popularity Is Incredible!

Share the joy by inviting others!

alexa.png
Image Source

Get More Exposure On The Chats!

It is a best way to get more exposure through private messages and in the chat rooms. These are some of the best places to get more exposure & makes Steem friends.

For new & best authors to move forward!

http://curiesteem.com @curie
https://steemvoter.com @steemvoter @thecryptodrive @cryptomancer

My Latest Posts:

Sort:  

Such a brilliant game! They've really brought the genre back. One of the best RPGs ever IMO! Great post mate.

Thank you very much for sharing a nice game with us

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by braini from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61409.80
ETH 3358.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49