You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is Early Access Worth It? (Review: My Time at Portia)

in #gaming7 years ago (edited)

While I'm one of those "It will get better" guys. I agree with all the things you said about Early Access games. "It's a gamble" and the companies are starting to see how cost saving is to run away with %40 finished project.

About Portia, it looks pretty. I like how you tried to not be biased while reviewing it. and most of the negatives are because of the game was sold half finished with a complete game price.

I included this post in my Gaming Daily I talk about another problem in the game industry if you want to check that out.
Sort:  

I definitely agree. There are some games that work in Early Access, because the dev is upfront about what isn't available, and often offer at a reduced price. I think it works best with multi-player and co-op games, because you can release a map at a time, with features added and balanced as you get more data from the playtime of the players. With stuff like Portia, it's apparently a redux of a Chinese game, as their ads looking for quest-writers remark that fluency in translating Chinese is a plus. This doesn't mean it'll be bad, but with a crafting/farming RPG you want to have enough in there to have a sandbox mode that can sell the game, like with The Long Dark. Portia doesn't have that, so I don't think it's ready to sell at full price.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 65337.35
ETH 2583.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67