Epic Store Offers 6 Games for Free This Week! (Store Review)

in #gaming5 years ago

Many people don't like Epic gaming platform. I see their point of view. Epic bought exclusivity rights for many popular games. Sometimes after the game was announced for other stores (like Steam,) making people understandably angry!

Though I find it hard to blame Epic because it's one of the only ways to compete with Steam which dominated the PC market for more than a decade now.

7si3wlxjve.jpg

The other way Epic Store tries to win people is by offering free games each week. They're not bad games. In fact, the majority of them are popular ones! And the best of all, you get to keep the games that you acquire this way in your Epic account forever!

I didn't like Epic at first... "Trying to win me with some free games?" I thought. But as the weeks have gone by, I find that they're giving their services the best quality they can.

Yeah, they don't give games that are released recently, that would be a stupid move. But for people like me who like many games and don't have money to buy them all, will find some they'll like with Epic completely free.

I got from them some games I had in my to-buy list like Hyper Light Drifter, and This War of Mine. Next week they'll have Everything, a game I'm eyeing for a while.

ptycfz24hi.jpg
My library consists only of games I got for free.

Six Free Games

This week, celebrating Batman's 80th anniversary (Wow, that's older than my father!) Epic, instead of offering two games. They offered two trilogies for free! Batman Arkham Trilogy & LEGO Batman Trilogy. Six games in total~

I won't go on about the LEGO Trilogy, they're awesome for Lego lovers. Arkham Trilogy consists of Batman: Arkham Asylum, Arkham City & Arkham Night... The only Batman game in the series that is missing is Arkham Origins which is a prequel (and the third one released before Knight.)

That also, in my opinion, is a good move by Epic. By offering three games for free in the series. They increase the chance of people buying the last game to complete the collection.

I'm not a fan of Batman games so I won't download them right now, (especially with my PC's HDD basically full.) I probably will in the future though.

Still has ways to go!

I still think Epic still has ways to go in their competition with Steam. The latter has better features like cloud saves, achievements and many more!

One thing I think Epic still beats Steam with is that some of the games are DRM free. Unlike with Steam where all the games require your account to run.

If I had to choose only one client to have on my PC it will still be Steam. But I'd like to see if Epic were to beat my expectations in the future!

What do you think?

Sort:  

Too bad the games are generally not what I play. That Mutant thing was interesting though.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

This is awesome! Thanks for sharing this. I have been looking into games right now so that I can test my new PC build. Anyway I am heading over to EPIC website now.

Well, many games given for free by Epic are not too demanding of PC power. Hopefully they'll be useful to you though.

My new rig is not that powerful since I am just using Ryzen with built in Vega 11 gpu. Thanks for the sharing!

Your post was upvoted by the @archdruid gaming curation team in partnership with @curie to support spreading the rewards to great content. Join the Archdruid Gaming Community at https://discord.gg/6yD2Emr. Good Game, Well Played!

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Have a witness !BEER

View or trade BEER at steem-engine.



Hey @ahmadmanga, here is a bit BEER for you. Enjoy it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63101.67
ETH 2588.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74