ahmadmanga's Gaming's Daily #9: So Here's The Two SEGA's Free Games

in #gaming6 years ago

Today's collection of posts, and a quick review for SEGA's "Classics" I got from their current online event.

20180215181058_1.jpg

Salam (Peace)

When I registered at SEGA's MWNL promotion I got two free games Streets of Rage 2 & The Revenge of Shinobi which are basically DLCs for the official paid Emulator SEGA Mega Drive & Genesis Classics. I don't usually download the games the day I get them but I decided to give this "Emulator" a try.

Playing "Streets of Rage 2"

I played this one to see how the system works, at first it was slow... Too slow!!... For some reason the SEGA MD&G decided to use the max resolution my PC can do, I needed to change the setting for it to become playable.

Secondly, I had to change button configurations, as I used XBOX360 controller, the default confirmation button for Streets of Rage was LB... What?! I don't know why they mapped the keys that way (maybe it worked with most games). But to play it in a way I can enjoy, I had to change the buttons.

But after that it's good... Yup!! I finished the first stage... Maybe because of its age but it's really a simple game, I think even I can make a clone of it. But it's actually good compared to some indie games and its polished and enjoyable.

20180216001155_1.jpg

Well, I played it only as a test drive... I don't know if I would return to play it again.

Why would you choose to play these over emulators?

Well, No Reason... From the hour or two I played SEGA Mega Drive & Genesis Classics. I think if you only want to play the games, Normal (third-party)Emulators offer more Options!!

There's the room section of the application and it gives you the feeling that you're in read 1980s house. There's also the Steam Workshop mods (you have to buy the game to be able to mod it) some are interesting. But other than that it's not really better than using emulators.

I think due to lack of many features, using Steam SEGA classics gives you more closer experience to the original games than normal Emulators. It's tempting to speed-up games when you have that feature but it's not here.

While I don't care a lot about SoR2 or Shinobi, there are games I wish to get for this Emulator, Shining Force (I played it on Emulator, loved it and wish to get it legally) & Sonic games (the collector in me wants all of them.)

Do you have this on steam? What do you think about it?

What do you think about publishers who re-release their retro games this way?

That's what I have for today.

Below is the Usual "Interesting Posts" Collection.


Around The #Gaming Tag

These are #gaming posts that I've read lately and I think they deserve a mention:

https://steemit.com/gaming/@freddbrito/retro-review-dragon-ball-gt-final-bout

MCNotch.jpg

  • 3 Amazing games that were made by just ONE person: @ahzumer talks about three games that are made fully/mostly by one person each, they are amazing and well known: Minceraft, Undertale and Paper Please... I know other games like Stardew Valley. Today's indie developers are amazing, no wonder why most gamers mostly play indie games these days.

SwarCM.jpg

Honorable mentions to:
@gaming-stuff's "Gaming Posts of the Week - Creative Minds."
@beatemups's "5 GOOD Nintendo Switch Games UNDER $5 & 5 To AVOID!"
@freddbrito's "(Review) Dragon Ball GT Final Bout."



~ Hope you liked the post ~
I'll probably make more of the daily posts so tell me if you liked the style or if you think it needs changing.

Other Gaming Posts From @ahmadmanga

Infamous RPG Prison BreaksYesterday's Post: SEGA PromotionPS2 Games: My Teenage Years
Looking Forward To Your Comments

Images are screeshots from SEGA Mega Drive & Genesis. All other images are from their respective posts.
Sort:  

Right on! I really dig Sega.

Wow what's with that 80s room, eh? Looks cool. You play a video game in your room in a video game in your room... Gameception.

And thanks for the mention!

wow very nice

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62267.87
ETH 3427.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48